Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Sharon Tate and the Manson Murders - cover

Sharon Tate and the Manson Murders

Greg King

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The first comprehensive biography of Sharon Tate: Hollywood star, wife of Roman Polanski, victim of Charles Manson, and symbol of the death of the 1960s. It began as a home invasion by the “Manson family” in the early hours of August 9, 1969. It ended in a killing spree that left seven people dead: actress Sharon Tate, writer Voyteck Frykowski, coffee heiress Abigail Folger, hair stylist Jay Sebring, student Steven Parent, and supermarket owner Leno LaBianca and his wife, Rosemary.   The shock waves of these crimes still reverberate today. They have also, over time, eclipsed the life of their most famous victim—a Dallas, Texas, beauty queen with Hollywood aspirations. After more than a dozen small film and television roles, Tate gained international fame with the screen adaptation of Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, but The Fearless Vampire Killers marked a personal turning point, as she would marry its star and director, Roman Polanski. Tate now had a new dream: to raise a family—and she was only weeks away from giving birth the night Charles Manson’s followers murdered her.   Drawn from a wealth of rare material including detective reports, parole transcripts, Manson’s correspondence, and revealing new interviews with Tate’s friends and costars as well as surviving relatives of the murder victims, Sharon Tate and the Manson Murders gives readers a vital new perspective on one of the most notorious massacres of the twentieth century. The dark legacy of the cult phenomenon is still being explored in novels (Emma Cline’s The Girls) and TV shows (NBC’s Aquarius).   In addition to providing the first full-fledged biography of Sharon Tate, author Greg King finally gives a voice to the families of the slain, notably Tate’s mother, Doris. Her advocacy for victims’ rights was recognized during President George H. W. Bush’s 1992 “A Thousand Points of Light” ceremony. This is the true story of a star who is being rediscovered by a new generation of fans, a woman who achieved in death the fame she yearned for in life.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Benazir Bhutto - Bilawal Bhutto: Glimpses from a Secret Sex Kingdom - cover

    Benazir Bhutto - Bilawal Bhutto:...

    Amit Rai

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    It's another "SPOTLIGHT" from the history... a spotlight on the secret sex kingdom of Benazir Bhutto who lived a libertine sex life…
    
    The first book on Benazir’s sex life, “Indecent Correspondence..." was more like a document composed of  written confessions by some close friends of Benazir who participated in sexual escapades with her.                                                                              
    
    This new book about Benazir & Bilawal Bhutto describes some of the wildest sexual acts Benazir was known for in her intimate circles.  
    
    Based on the notes by a class-fellow of Bilawal Bhutto who was witness to everything in Dubai and London - this book unfolds explicit descriptions of Benazir-in-action, and how she tricked Bilawal’s class-fellow into her games of incest - in which she would have sex even with her own son, Bilawal. Benazir was enthralled by ancient erotic traditions. She was a modern-day example of Queen Agrippina (mother of Nero) and Empress Theodora from the Roman Empire.
    Show book
  • The Devil and the Detective - cover

    The Devil and the Detective

    John Goldbach

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Robert James, a private detective more interested in chronicling his cases than solving them, gets a midnight call from a young woman whose older husband has  been found with a knife in his chest. Murder, corruption, and betrayal ensue, but hapless Robert and his sidekick can't stop drinking and philosophizing long enough to keep up.
    Show book
  • Woolgathering - cover

    Woolgathering

    Patti Smith

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this small, luminous memoir, the National Book Award-winner Patti Smith revisits the most sacred experiences of her early years, with truths so vivid they border on the surreal. The author entwines her childhood self - and its 'clear, unspeakable joy' - with memories both real and envisioned from her twenties on New York's MacDougal Street, the street of cafés.  
     
    Woolgathering was completed in Michigan, on Patti Smith's 45th birthday and originally published in a slim volume from Raymond Foye's Hanuman Books. Twenty years later, Bloomsbury is proud to present it in a much augmented edition, featuring writing that was omitted from the book's first printing, along with new photographs and illustrations.
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • Kissing Cousins - A Memory - cover

    Kissing Cousins - A Memory

    Hortense Calisher

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hortense Calisher’s evocative memoir bristles with intelligence and youthful inquiryKissing Cousins recalls the author as a teenager: peppy, earnest, and a bit self-important. Hortense Calisher documents her family’s surprising history as Southern Jews adrift in New York. Finding her new city and school boorish, the young Calisher takes solace in the enduring friendship she develops with Katie Pyle, a gregarious nurse turned “kissing cousin” fifteen years Calisher’s senior. Katie, an unmarried woman, possesses her own secret, depicted here with a novelist’s touch for the dramatic. Kissing Cousins tackles matters of aging, life, and death with the sensitivity and eloquence readers have come to expect from Hortense Calisher.  
    Show book