Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Florida Happens - Tales of Mystery Mayhem and Suspense from the Sunshine State - cover

Florida Happens - Tales of Mystery Mayhem and Suspense from the Sunshine State

Greg Herren

Publisher: Three Rooms Press

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When it comes to Florida, no crime is too unusual and no criminal too peculiar to be impossible. Florida is the one state where fiction has to catch up to the headlines, and the contributors to FLORIDA HAPPENS: Tales of Murder, Mayhem, and Suspense from The Sunshine State do not hold back!

Edited by award-winning author/editor Greg Herren, with an introduction by New York Times bestselling author Tim Dorsey, FLORIDA HAPPENS is a riveting anthology featuring some of the brightest stars of mystery writing. Published in conjunction with Bouchercon, the world's biggest mystery convention, this new anthology offers stories of pristine white sands and palm trees, snowbirds and theme parks, mangroves and manatees, pirates and policemen—from the redneck Riviera to the southernmost point of the United States. 

Jam-packed with stories from top authors, FLORIDA HAPPENS promises to surprise and thrill lovers of mystery and suspense. Included are classic tales from the legendary John D. MacDonald and Lawrence Block, plus fresh new fiction from bestselling mystery authors Susanna Calkins, Alex Segura, Brendan DuBois, Hilary Davidson, Reed Farrel Coleman, and Craig Pittman. The collection also includes thrilling new stories by top mystery writers Holly West, 
Paul D. Marks , Greg Herren, Debra Lattanzi Shutika, 
Jack Bates, Barb Goffman, Angel Luis Colon, 
J. D. Allan, Eleanor Cawood Jones, 
Neil Plakcy, Michael Wiley, 
John M. Floyd, and Patricia Abbott.  

A portion of the proceeds from the anthology will go to support Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library, a program that provides free books to children from birth to school age regardless of family income. A personal mission of Dolly Parton’s, the Imagination Library fosters literacy, a love of reading, and is meant to inspire children to succeed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sabotage in the Secret City - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. 
    
    
    
    May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.
    
    
    
    A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book
  • Every City Is Every Other City - A Gordon Stewart Mystery - cover

    Every City Is Every Other City -...

    John McFetridge

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Behind the scenes, nothing is what it seems.
    		 
    Gord Stewart, 40 years old, single, moved back into his sub­urban childhood home to care for his widowed father. But his father no longer needs care and Gord is stuck in limbo. He’s been working in the movie business as a location scout for years, and when there isn’t much filming, as a private eye for a security company run by ex-cops, OBC. When a fellow crew member asks him to find her missing uncle, Gord reluctantly takes the job. The police say the uncle walked into some dense woods in Northern Ontario and shot himself, but the man’s wife thinks he’s still alive.
    		 
    With the help of his movie business and OBC connections, Gord finds a little evidence that the uncle may be alive. Now Gord has two problems: what to do when he finds a man who doesn’t want to be found, and admitting that he’s getting invested in this job. For the first time in his life, Gord Stewart is going to have to leave the sidelines and get into the game. Even if it might get him killed.
    Show book
  • Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    DEATH AND A DOG (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 2) is book two in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Spring is in the air. With last month’s murder mystery behind her, a new best friend in her English shepherd, and a budding relationship with the chef across the street, it seems like everything’s finally settling into place. Lacey is so excited for her first major auction, especially when a valuable, mystery artifact enters her catalogue.
    
    All seems to go without a hitch, until two mysterious bidders arrive from out of town—and one of them winds up dead.
    
    With the small village plunged into chaos, and with the reputation of her business at stake, can Lacey and her trusty dog partner solve the crime and restore her name?
    
    Book #3 in the series—CRIME IN THE CAFE—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 4
    • 21
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book
  • The Wolves of Savernake - A gripping medieval mystery from the bestselling author - cover

    The Wolves of Savernake - A...

    Edward Marston

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ralph Delchard, a soldier who fought at the Battle of Hastings, and Gervase Bret, a talented lawyer, have been commissioned by William the Conqueror to look into irregularities brought to light during the compilation of the Domesday Book, the great survey of  England. Their investigations take them throughout the kingdom, but the pair often find themselves embroiled in more sinister mysteries in the towns they visit. The King’s work is a dangerous business. 
    A man’s body is found mutilated in Savernake Forest and the residents of Bedwyn sleep uneasy at night, fearing a monster stalking the town. When Ralph Delchard and Gervase Bret arrive, they soon discover that the locals are harbouring dark secrets and that the real killer may be a little closer to home…
    Show book
  • For Better For Worse - Domestic noir meets police procedural in this gripping page-turner - cover

    For Better For Worse - Domestic...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt. 
     
    Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor... 
     
    The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband. 
     
    The second time, they accused him of child abuse. 
     
    But he died a guilty man. 
     
    This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial. 
     
    Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead. 
     
    And his wife is the suspect. 
     
    It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead. 
     
    Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons on Hush Little Baby. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book