Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Dead Men Whistling - cover

Dead Men Whistling

Graham Masterton

Publisher: Head of Zeus

  • 0
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

ONLY SILENCE CAN KEEP YOU SAFE. 
 
Sergeant Kieran O'Regan was responsible for hunting down killers. Now he's become one of the dead: his decapitated body has been found in a graveyard, a tin whistle stuffed into his throat. 
 
O'Regan was due to give evidence at a trial for police corruption. His gruesome murder sends a clear message to whistleblowers: only silence is safe. DCI Katie Maguire is determined to uncover the truth. But corruption in the Garda stretches back decades. As more officers are horrifically silenced, Katie must decide who she can trust...

Other books that might interest you

  • The Poellenberg Inheritance - cover

    The Poellenberg Inheritance

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A woman inherits a legacy of greed, guilt, and deadly danger when her father—a former SS Commander—bequeaths a priceless treasure   Twenty-five years after fleeing Germany, Paul Weiss lives a quiet life in Spain. Throughout his years of exile, he’s kept a single photograph of a three-year-old girl. Now, he will set in motion a series of events that will reunite him with his long-lost daughter.   All Paula Stanley knows about her father is that he was killed in Russia in 1944, his body buried in a frozen wasteland near Stalingrad. Then she gets a call from a stranger. Not only is General Paul Bronsart alive, he wants to bequeath her a priceless treasure he claims was given to him during the war.   It’s called the Poellenberg Salt. For four hundred years, the thirty-six-inch-high gem- and gold-encrusted relic was the most priceless treasure in Germany—and someone else is after it. The matriarch of an aristocratic family whose home was looted by the Nazis also lays claim to the Poellenberg Salt. Culminating in a shocking denouement in Paris, Evelyn Anthony’s The Poellenberg Inheritance is a masterpiece of wartime intrigue and a daughter’s search for her father.  
    Show book
  • Blood Stones - cover

    Blood Stones

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The diamond industry explodes in anarchy when a cache of rare gems is discovered in Russia in this intellectual thriller At London’s Diamond Enterprises, a major crisis is brewing: In the tundra of northern Russia, a newly discovered mine is producing a cache of flawless, five-carat red diamonds. These dazzling “blood stones” are beyond price, and powerful jeweler Ivan Karakov is about to sign an exclusive contract with Moscow to sell the gems. He must be stopped before he destabilizes the market and sends the industry plunging into free fall.   With the future of Diamond Enterprises at risk, its employees start scrambling for power. Young, ambitious James Hastings—whose beautiful wife, Elizabeth, is his most powerful asset as well as his most dangerous weakness—is sent to Russia to negotiate with Karakov. Chairman Julius Heyderman, haunted by his tragic past and troubled daughter, returns from South Africa to deal with longtime adversary Arthur Harris. Reece, trapped in a relationship he can’t control, is universally hated by all at DE, while Ray Andrews seeks redemption for a terrible mistake and Ruth Fraser sleeps her way to the top in hopes of becoming DE’s first female leader.   A riveting tale of greed, betrayal, and industrial espionage, Blood Stones reveals how much people are willing to sacrifice for money.  
    Show book
  • The Persian Price - cover

    The Persian Price

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A wife and mother becomes the target of terrorists in this mesmerizing thriller that sweeps from Iran to England to the South of France    Eileen Field, the unhappy, neglected wife of the chairman of the world’s most powerful oil conglomerate, arrives in Tehran with her husband, Logan Field, for a reception honoring the Shah’s minister of the economy. Logan needs the Shah on his side in order to win the bid to build a refinery in Iran. At the hotel, violent tensions bubble just beneath the surface, for the minister has his own agenda—and now a man has been savagely murdered. But for Eileen, the ordeal is just beginning.   In her frantic efforts to protect her only child, Eileen is abducted by terrorists and taken to a villa on the French Riviera. There, locked in a room with steel bars on the window, she’s about to be ransomed—and killed if her captors’ demands aren’t met. But they don’t want money. With her life hanging in the balance, Eileen’s future is in the hands of three men: Logan, determined to make a deal between America and Iran at any cost; James Kelly, who has been secretly in love with Eileen for years; and a stranger who ignites a passion within her that could lead to unexpected romance.
    Show book
  • Cause to Run (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Cause to Run (An Avery Black...

    Blake Pierce

    • 1
    • 56
    • 0
    “A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.” 
    --Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone) 
    
    From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense. 
    
    In CAUSE TO RUN (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2), a new serial killer is stalking Boston, killing his victims in bizarre ways, taunting the police with mysterious puzzles that reference the stars. As the stakes are upped and the pressure is on, the Boston Police Department is forced to call in its most brilliant—and most controversial—homicide detective: Avery Black.
    
    Avery, still reeling from her last case, finds herself up against a rival precinct and a brilliant, cunning killer who is always one step ahead of her. She is forced to enter his dark, twisted mind as he lays clues for his next killing, and forced to look into places in her own mind she would rather not go. She finds herself compelled to seek the counsel of Howard Randall, the twisted serial killer she’d put behind bars years ago, all while her new burgeoning life with Rose and Ramirez is falling apart.
    
    And just as things cannot get any worse, she finds out something else: she herself may be the target.
    
    In a game of psychological cat and mouse, a frantic race against time leads Avery through a series of shocking and unexpected twists—culminating in climax that even Avery could not imagine. 
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, CAUSE TO RUN is book #2 of a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #3 in the Avery Black series will be available soon. 
    
    “A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side, so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.” 
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)
    Show book
  • The Malaspiga Exit - cover

    The Malaspiga Exit

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Katherine Dexter’s brother is dead. It was heroin that killed him, but Katherine can’t help but blame his death on the organized crime so rife in Italy. The drug trade may not make much money for the small-time pushers, the petty crooks, and the addicts. But for the men at the top—men like the Malaspigas, who run their yachts and their big houses on the profits of other people’s misery—drugs are big money.   The Bureau of Narcotics are determined to nail these men once and for all. It’ll be a dangerous enterprise, full of deceit. And they want Katherine Malaspiga Dexter to help them. . . .
    Show book
  • Murder at Morland Manor - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder at Morland Manor - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay’s Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book One in Marilyn Clay's new Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series features clever, young Miss Juliette Abbott as sleuth. A former companion to a titled London lady, Miss Abbott has now agreed to serve as lady’s maid to one of the young ladies invited to country estate Morland Manor, each hoping to win the heart of the wealthy Morland heir. But nothing at the house party goes as planned and suddenly Juliette finds herself the number one suspect in a shocking murder! The only way to escape the muddle is to solve the mystery herself, otherwise she'll lose this position with a new geegaw tied around her neck, this one made of rope! 
    “A fine Regency mystery brimming with surprising twists and turns, and seasoned with just a hint of romance. Witty and outspoken Juliette Abbott is a first-rate, fast-thinking young sleuth! Very well-done, indeed!” – Regency Mystery Reviews. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay’s traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER IN MAYFAIR, MURDER AT MARGATE and MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 18th and 19th ENGLISH WOMEN AT SEA, HISTORY OF THE WATER CLOSET and three books on REGENCY PERIOD FURNITURE. 
    For additional information about author Marilyn Clay, visit her website at Marilyn Clay Author.
    Show book