Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Dead Men Whistling - cover

Dead Men Whistling

Graham Masterton

Publisher: Head of Zeus

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

ONLY SILENCE CAN KEEP YOU SAFE. 
 
Sergeant Kieran O'Regan was responsible for hunting down killers. Now he's become one of the dead: his decapitated body has been found in a graveyard, a tin whistle stuffed into his throat. 
 
O'Regan was due to give evidence at a trial for police corruption. His gruesome murder sends a clear message to whistleblowers: only silence is safe. DCI Katie Maguire is determined to uncover the truth. But corruption in the Garda stretches back decades. As more officers are horrifically silenced, Katie must decide who she can trust...

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Fault Lines - cover

    Fault Lines

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As a security expert, Charlie Hazard is all about taking control of the situation. But when the stunning Dr. Gabriella Speciale draws him into a secret psychological project, risk parameters are shattered. Every move brings him to the edge of one fault line after another, and Charlie struggles to stay clear of a maelstrom of entangled dangers.The research team abandons the lab on the Florida coast and flees to a mountain refuge in Italy. The battles in Charlie's mind are overtaken by real life attacks. He must grapple with the daunting realization that a conspiracy is taking hold on both internal and external levels. Can Gabriella be trusted, or is she just part of the scheme?Leave behind your assumptions about the way the world works, and race along the unknown corridors of human consciousness in Fault Lines.
    Show book
  • Shadows - cover

    Shadows

    Thorne Moore

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A compelling blend of mystery and family drama with a gothic twist, by the Top Ten bestselling author of A Time for Silence 
     
    Kate Lawrence can sense the shadow of violent death, past and present.  
     
    In her struggle to cope with her unwelcome gift, she has frozen people out of her life.  
     
    Her marriage is on the rocks, her career is in chaos and she urgently needs to get a grip.  
     
    So she decides to start again, by joining her effervescent cousin Sylvia and partner Michael in their mission to restore and revitalise Llys y Garn, an old mansion in the wilds of North Pembrokeshire. 
     
    It is certainly a new start, as she takes on Sylvia's grandiose schemes, but it brings Kate to a place that is thick with the shadows of past deaths.  
     
    The house and grounds are full of mysteries that only she can sense, but she is determined to face them down – so determined that she fails to notice that ancient energies are not the only shadows threatening the seemingly idyllic world of Llys y Garn.  
     
    The happy equilibrium is disrupted by the arrival of Sylvia's sadistic and manipulative son, Christian - but just how dangerous is he?  
     
    Then, once more, Kate senses that a violent death has occurred…  
     
    Set in the majestic and magical Welsh countryside, Shadows is a haunting exploration of the dark side of people and landscape. 
      
    Praise for Thorne Moore​ 
     
    'Thorne Moore is a huge talent. Her writing is intensely unsettling and memorable.' - Sally Spedding 
     
    Thorne Moore was born in Luton and graduated from Aberystwyth University and the Open University. She set up a restaurant with her sister but now spends her time writing and making miniature furniture for collectors. She lives in Pembrokeshire, which forms a background for much of her writing, as does Luton. She writes psychological mysteries, or "domestic noir," including A Time For Silence, Motherlove and The Unravelling.
    Show book
  • Valentine's Day is Murder - McKinley Mysteries #8 - cover

    Valentine's Day is Murder -...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “It was full of adventure and mystery along with some romance. It pulls you in and won't give up until everyone is safe and sound! Definitely a great cozy series!” 
    –Community Bookstop 
     
    Cupid's arrow may have missed its mark… 
     
    Jimmy finally takes a vacation--and a chance on love--only to be abducted. His female companion originally thinks he had cold feet about their relationship, but Sean and Sara know there’s more to it. Jimmy isn’t the type to just up and disappear, let alone leave a lady stranded. 
     
    Setting out on their private jet, Sean and Sara reach the tropical paradise of Ocho Rios, Jamaica with sightseeing as the last thing on their minds. 
     
    With a gold coin being their initial tie to Jimmy’s kidnapper, Sean and Sara even speculate about the involvement of pirates. Yet as the hours pass, and there’s no word from Jimmy’s captors, Sean and Sara will need to figure out the real motive before it’s too late. 
     
    With help from their friend, Adam, back in Albany, the pieces come together and not a moment too soon.
    Show book
  • No Questions Asked - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    No Questions Asked - A...

    David Menon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    No Questions Asked picks up where 'Storms' left off in the back garden of Jeff Barton's house where he's hosting a barbecue for neighbours, family and friends. But the party is abruptly ended when the body of an eleven year-old child, the son of one of Jeff's neighbours, is found in the woods nearby. As the covers are lifted on the secrets held by those living around him he wonders if a child killer could be actually living on his street. Whilst he tries to take his relationship with his deputy, DI Rebecca Stockton, to a deeper level the investigation brings him back into confrontation with his old nemesis Bernie Connelly who is one of Manchester's most notorious gangsters and has a personal interest in finding the child killer, leading him to pick off a list of paedophiles who are the prime suspects. Added to everything else is a case of political corruption that may or may not be linked to the murders and this proves to be one of Jeff Barton's most complicated and yet most urgent of cases to solve.
    Show book
  • Assassination of a Dignitary - cover

    Assassination of a Dignitary

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "An exciting thriller …action the entire way." 
    –The Reading Cafe 
     
    Everything is on the line… 
     
    Raymond Hunter's dark past has returned and demands one final favor. Now fifteen years later, settled as an accountant and family man, he assumed life would be calm. He thought wrong. The Italian mafia wants him back. 
     
    The directions were simple: Kill Governor Behler and be out for good. 
     
    Despite the odd request since the mafia typically respects dignitaries, in order to protect his family, he has no choice but to accept the job. He picks the date and location Niagara Falls, New York two hundred and forty miles away. But by the time he returns home, he finds out the assassination attempt failed, his family has been kidnapped, and he has twenty-four hours to set things right if he wants to see them again. 
     
    With time running out, Raymond discovers the real reason they wanted Behler dead and finds out he's placed himself and his family right in the middle of a mafia power struggle. What he doesn't realize is that law enforcement is also closing in.
    Show book