As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
George Harrison: Behind The Locked Door - cover

George Harrison: Behind The Locked Door

Graeme Thomson

Publisher: Omnibus Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Behind The Locked Door is Graeme Thomson’s rich, insightful account of George Harrison’s extraordinary life and career. 
 
This Omnibus Enhanced digital edition includes Spotify sections, detailing Harrison’s early influences, his contributions within The Beatles and the best of his solo career. Additionally, an interactive Digital Timeline leads you through a collage of music, videos and images, displaying live performances, interviews, memorabilia and more. 
 
As a Beatle, Harrison underwent a bewilderingly compressed early adulthood, buffeted by unprecedented levels of fame and success, from schoolboy to global superstar. "Beatlemania" offered remarkable experiences and opportunities, and yet dissatisfaction still gnawed within. His life became a quest for meaning and truth which travelled far beyond the parameters of his former band and his former self. This elegant, in-depth biography tracks these changes and conflicts, marking the struggle of walking a spiritual path lined with temptation. 
 
Drawing on scores of interviews with close friends and collaborators, rigorous research and critical insight, Behind The Locked Door is a fascinating account of an often misunderstood man. As well as an intimate character study, it offers a full analysis of Harrison’s music, from his earliest songs for the Beatles to his landmark solo album All Things Must Pass, his work with The Traveling Wilburys and the posthumous Brainwashed. Behind The Locked Door provides the definitive account of a compelling, contradictory and enlightening life.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England - 1066 to the Present Day - cover

    Dark History of the Kings &...

    Brenda Ralph Lewis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite its reputation as the longest established in Europe, the history of the English monarchy is punctuated by scandal, murders, betrayals, plots, and treason. Since William the Conqueror seized the crown in 1066, England has seen three civil wars; six monarchs have been murdered or executed; the throne of England has been usurped four times, and won in battle three times; and personal scandals and royal family quarrels abound. Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England provides an exciting and dramatic account of English royal history from 1066 to the present day. This engrossing book explores the scandal and intrigue behind each royal dynasty, from the ‘accidental’ murder of William II in 1100, through the excesses of Richard III, Henry VIII and ‘Bloody’ Mary, to the conspiracies surrounding the death of Diana, Princess of Wales, in 1997, William and Kate Middleton’s on-off courtship before they married, and Prince Harry’s years of partying, girlfriends and Las Vegas strip poker, before his 2018 marriage to American divorcée Meghan Markle. Carefully researched, superbly entertaining and illustrated throughout with more than 200 colour and black-and-white photographs and artworks, this accessible and immensely enjoyable book highlights the true personalities and real lives of the individuals honoured with the crown of England—and those unfortunate enough to cross their paths.
    Show book
  • The Queen's House - A Social History of Buckingham Palace - cover

    The Queen's House - A Social...

    Edna Healey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “lively” tour of the royal residence: Readers “will delight in this well-written chronicle of the House of Windsor.” —Publishers Weekly  In this social history of Buckingham Palace, Edna Healey mines the royal archives to take the reader into its moonlit gardens, up the grand staircase, and inside its tapestried walls. Dr. Johnson again holds forth in the library, Queen Victoria encores Mendelssohn in the music room, and Fanny Burney wrestles once more with protocol in the royal chambers.  Written with the assistance of the royal family, this lively and colorful biography of a house reveals not only the changing facade of the palace but also the changing face of a nation’s culture, morals, fashions, and tastes.
    Show book
  • Bomb - The Author Interviews - cover

    Bomb - The Author Interviews

    Magazine Bomb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thirty years of interviews that offer “a window into the minds and the writing processes of some of the world’s best practitioners of poetry and prose” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).    Since 1981, the quarterly magazine Bomb has been the gold standard for artist-on-artist interviews, showcasing writers, performers, actors, musicians, painters, and architects. The founders, a group of New York City–based artists, wanted a public space for art-makers to talk to each other about their work without the interference of critics or journalists.   Thirty years later comes this anthology: an addictively insightful collection of thirty-five interviews with some of the world’s most thought-provoking, funny, profound, compelling authors. It includes literary luminaries such as Mary Gaitskill, Junot Díaz, Sharon Olds, Amy Hempel, Martin Amis, Jeffrey Eugenides, Sapphire, Edwidge Danticat, and Jennifer Egan, among many others, as well as an introduction by Francine Prose.   These authors speak frankly about the joys and the pain that inform their work, the influence of family, ambition, criticism, and the sinking, thrilling knowledge of their own mortality. This is Bomb Magazine’s gift to readers: a glimpse into the minds that created the books which informed you, challenged you, yanked on your heartstrings and touched your soul.   “Bomb: The Author Interviews brings together a selection of conversations in a handsome anthology. The book, which offers 35 of the magazine’s interviews, is both a primer on authorial strategies and a record of the evolution of an iconic literary institution.” —The Washington Post   “BOMB’s author interview series, which has been going for years, is one of the most inspiring dialogues between writers available.” —Bustle   “These are not your run of the mill author interviews featuring a journalist throwing canned questions at a writer, these are conversations between writers and delve into the essence of creativity . . . Essential reading for any admirer of contemporary literature.” —Seattle Post-Intelligencer 
    Show book
  • Joni and Ken - An Untold Love Story - cover

    Joni and Ken - An Untold Love Story

    Ken Tada, Joni Eareckson Tada

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the true love story of Joni and her husband of 30 years, Ken Tada. A love story showing what it truly means for a man and a woman to live in love … in sickness and in health.  
      
    Even the honeymoon wasn’t easy. Did Ken realize what he was getting into when he proposed to Joni, a quadriplegic woman? As their marriage years moved on, Ken became increasingly overwhelmed by the never-ceasing demands of caring for Joni, who begins to experience chronic, extreme, nightmarish pain. Ken sinks into depression, and the couple finds themselves on parallel tracks in life, married and living under the same roof but drifting apart emotionally. 
      
    But as they fight for their marriage and find their way through the mazes of depression and pain, they wrap their two lives around their rock—Jesus. 
      
    During Ken’s denial of Joni’s diagnosis, and Joni’s thoughts of how wonderful a quick exit to heaven would be, they experience a personal visitation with the savior you will never forget.
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Elderhood - Redefining Aging Transforming Medicine Reimagining Life - cover

    Elderhood - Redefining Aging...

    Louise Aronson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction 
    A New York Times Bestseller 
    Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction 
    Winner of the WSU AOS Bonner Book Award 
     
    As revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but often disparaged stage of life. 
      
     For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That means most people alive today will spend more years in elderhood than in childhood, and many will be elders for 40 years or more. Yet at the very moment that humans are living longer than ever before, we've made old age into a disease, a condition to be dreaded, denigrated, neglected, and denied.  
      
     Reminiscent of Oliver Sacks, noted Harvard-trained geriatrician Louise Aronson uses stories from her quarter century of caring for patients, and draws from history, science, literature, popular culture, and her own life to weave a vision of old age that's neither nightmare nor utopian fantasy--a vision full of joy, wonder, frustration, outrage, and hope about aging, medicine, and humanity itself.  
      
     Elderhood is for anyone who is, in the author's own words, "an aging, i.e., still-breathing human being."
    Show book