Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Social Media Upheaval - cover

The Social Media Upheaval

Glenn Harlan Reynolds

Publisher: Encounter Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Social media giants are poisoning our journalism, our politics, our relationships and ultimately our minds. Glenn Reynolds looks at the up and downsides of social media and at proposals for regulation, and offers his own fix that respects free speech while reducing social media's toll.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony Works and Days and The Shield of Herakles - cover

    The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony...

    Hesiod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this new translation of Hesiod, Barry B. Powell gives an accessible, modern verse rendering of these vibrant texts, essential to an understanding of early Greek myth and society. With stunning color images that help bring to life the contents of the poems and notes that explicate complex passages, Powell’s fresh renditions provide an exciting introduction to the culture of the ancient Greeks. This is the definitive translation and guide for students and readers looking to experience the poetry of Hesiod, who ranks alongside Homer as an influential poet of Greek antiquity.
    Show book
  • Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy Your Mind and Enjoy Your Life - cover

    Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy...

    Dr. Robert Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Living Your Magic lays out how life, when people really look at it, is like a magic trick. 
     A magic trick works because of illusion and misdirection. And with all sorts of tricks of the mind, human thinking and perception works just like a magic trick. When people don’t understand how the trick is done, they get fooled every time! In Living Your Magic, Dr. Robert Anthony teaches readers how to look at their life before the trick or the illusions happens—and how to never be fooled again. 
     Rather than following the same flawed premise behind almost every self-help, therapeutic, or personal development methodology that projects people having a separate ‘self’ that needs fixing, Living Your Magic sees that ‘self’ as an illusion. The problem is that most people don’t recognize it as an illusion and believe they must change or improve their ‘self’ before they can be happy and live a magical life. Dr. Anthony reveals that everyone has an Inner Creative Genius that allows them to live a magical life—if people would only learn to trust it and get out of their own way. In that way, life becomes easier by giving people less to think about, less to remember, and less to do, so they can truly enjoy their mind and enjoy their life!
    Show book
  • Looking for Gold - A Year in Jungian Analysis - cover

    Looking for Gold - A Year in...

    Susan Tiberghien

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Looking for Gold is a laboratory for artists, dreamers, and all who seek for ways to realize their true gold.” - Robert Bosnak, author of The Little Course in Dreams 
     
    “Tiberghien is a writer … Looking for Gold tells a gripping tale that will inspire anyone who hears soul’s subtle invitation and sets out.” - Kathleen Packard, Contemporary Contributions to Jungian Psychology 
     
    “Looking for Gold is a clear, important message for men and women of all ages and all cultures – look into and to thyself for a sense of wholeness.” - Annette Lyons, Director, Counseling Center, American Cathedral, Paris 
     
    “In her insightful Looking for Gold, Tiberghien writes several books in one: an autobiography, an exploration of the writing process and an account of being a lay student of C.G. Jung’s work.” -Elliott Bay Book Company, Seattle
    Show book
  • Overcoming Bias - Building Authentic Relationships across Differences - cover

    Overcoming Bias - Building...

    Tiffany Jana, Matthew Freeman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Control, Conquer, and Prevail! Everybody's biased. The truth is, we all harbor unconscious assumptions that can get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from building authentic relationships with people different from ourselves. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman use vivid stories and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities to help us reflect on our personal experiences and uncover how our hidden biases are formed. By becoming more self-aware, we can control knee-jerk reactions, conquer fears of the unknown, and prevail over closed-mindedness. In the end, Jana and Freeman's central message is that you are not the problem—but you can be the solution.
    Show book
  • Global Mixed Race - cover

    Global Mixed Race

    Rebecca C. King-O'Riain, Stephen...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Patterns of migration and the forces of globalization have brought the issues of mixed race to the public in far more visible, far more dramatic ways than ever before. Global Mixed Race examines the contemporary experiences of people of mixed descent in nations around the world, moving beyond US borders to explore the dynamics of racial mixing and multiple descent in Zambia, Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico, Brazil, Kazakhstan, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, Okinawa, Australia, and New Zealand.  In particular, the volume’s editors ask: how have new global flows of ideas, goods, and people affected the lives and social placements of people of mixed descent?  Thirteen original chapters address the ways mixed-race individuals defy, bolster, speak, and live racial categorization, paying attention to the ways that these experiences help us think through how we see and engage with social differences. The contributors also highlight how mixed-race people can sometimes be used as emblems of multiculturalism, and how these identities are commodified within global capitalism while still considered by some as not pure or inauthentic. A strikingly original study, Global Mixed Race carefully and comprehensively considers the many different meanings of racial mixedness.
    Show book