Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
These Unlucky Stars - cover

These Unlucky Stars

Gillian McDunn

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From the highly acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer comes a sweet and heartfelt story of a girl's unexpected friendship that changes her forever, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt. 
 
Ever since her mother left a few years ago, Annie has felt like the odd one out in her family. Her dad and brother are practical and organized--they just don't understand the way she thinks, in lines and color. Everywhere she turns, she feels like an outsider, even at school, so she's been reluctant to get close to anyone. 
 
When a "Ding-Dong-Ditch" attempt goes wrong, Annie finds herself stuck making amends with Gloria, the eccentric elderly lady she disturbed. As she begins to connect with Gloria and her weird little dog, it becomes clear that Gloria won't be able to live on her own for much longer. But it's this brief and important friendship that gives Annie the confidence to let people in, and see how rich life can be when you decide to make your own luck and chart your own path to happiness.  
 
In this heartwarming novel, acclaimed author Gillian McDunn shows us that even the most unexpected friendship has the power to change us forever. 
 
Acclaim for Caterpillar Summer 
An Indies Introduce Pick 
A Texas Bluebonnet Selection 
A Parents Best Book of the Year 
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year 
An Amazon Best Book of the Year

Other books that might interest you

  • Line and Scribble - cover

    Line and Scribble

    Debora Vogrig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Line and Scribble is a picture book that celebrates imagination and friendship through simple shapes.Line and Scribble do things differently. Line goes straight while Scribble wanders. Line walks a tightrope as Scribble bursts into fireworks. Line likes to draw with a ruler, and Scribble, well . . . doesn't.But no matter how different they may seem, Line and Scribble always have enough in common to be best friends.• A friendship story that embraces differences instead of competing• Emphasizes how imagination, creativity, and art can change how we see the world—and each other• Promotes visual literacy, recognition, and learning to make connectionsFrom constellations to roller coasters and breadsticks to bubbles, Line and Scribble shows how the two can come together to create beautiful, moving, and delightfully unexpected results.This sweet book brims with opportunities for young readers to engage with the building blocks of familiar shapes (lines, circles, squiggles), as well as spotting opposites and differences.• Harold and the Purple Crayon meets Press Here in this highly visual, effortlessly imaginative friendship story.• Resonates year-round as a go-to new gift for birthdays and holidays• Perfect for children ages 3 to 5 years old• Makes a great pick for parents and grandparents, as well as librarians and teachers.• You'll love this book if you love books like Mouse Paint by Ellen Stoll Walsh, I'm NOT just a Scribble . . . by Diane Alber, and Eraser by Anna Kang.
    Show book
  • Queen of Shadows - cover

    Queen of Shadows

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 30
    • 1
    Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume. 
     
    Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past... 
     
    She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.  
     
    She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return. 
     
    Celaena's epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena's story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
    Show book
  • In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart - cover

    In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart

    Melody Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Third book in the Hannah Smart trilogy about a precocious, impulsive pre-teen girl with a knack for finding the spotlight — and getting into trouble
    Hannah is 14 now and has a part-time job working at the local TV station
    Carries on theme of self-reliance and responsibility
    Comedic and light-hearted in tone, but with messages including the importance of being yourself and not feeling you have to exaggerate or lie to impress others
    Material has tested well with grade 5 and 6 students of both sexes
    Show book
  • Throne of Glass - cover

    Throne of Glass

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 8
    • 45
    • 1
    After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. 
     
    Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.  
     
    Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 
     
    Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.
    Show book
  • Across the Floor - cover

    Across the Floor

    Natasha Deen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Luc Waldon always figured he knew what his passion was: football. He lives it, he breathes it—and he thinks he has what it takes to go all the way to the NFL. So when his football coach orders him to sign up for contemporary-dance classes to improve his game, Luc's less than thrilled. When he realizes that dance might actually be his true passion, he faces a tough decision. Is he willing to leave behind the field and a real shot at professional sports, and disappoint his parents, his coach and his teammates, in order to pursue a new dream?
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 5
    • 32
    • 0
    The seductive and stunning #1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas's spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre has undergone more trials than one human woman can carry in her heart. Though she's now been granted the powers and lifespan of the High Fae, she is haunted by her time Under the Mountain and the terrible deeds she performed to save the lives of Tamlin and his people.  
     
    As her marriage to Tamlin approaches, Feyre's hollowness and nightmares consume her. She finds herself split into two different people: one who upholds her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court, and one who lives out her life in the Spring Court with Tamlin. While Feyre navigates a dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms. She might just be the key to stopping it, but only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future-and the future of a world in turmoil. 
     
    Bestselling author Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her dazzling, sexy, action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book