Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
wake - cover

wake

Gillian Allnutt

Publisher: Bloodaxe Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Gillian Allnutt was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, Carol Ann Duffy wrote that her work ‘has always been in conversation with the natural world and the spiritual life’. Her latest collection, wake, shows the two beginning to meld into one: to speak for, even as, one another. As her title signals, these are poems about looking back, keeping watch over the dying and death of an old world and the ways of being human in that world; but also forward, waiting for the new world and being ready to awaken to it when it comes. There are, as always in her work, many displaced people. No one here is fully at home in the world. These are turbulent times – individually and collectively – and the poems here reflect that. And yet the poems are more ‘among’ than ‘about’ people: speaking out of the horde, and the hoard, of humanity as a whole.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mind Platter - cover

    Mind Platter

    Najwa Zebian

    • 4
    • 76
    • 0
    Mind Platter is a compilation of reflections on life as seen through the eyes of an educator, student, and human who experienced her early days in silence. It is written in the words of a woman who came from Lebanon to Canada at the age of sixteen and experienced what it was like to have fate push her to a place where she didn't belong. It is written in the voice of every person who has felt unheard, mistreated, misjudged, or unseen. The book contains over 200 one-page reflections on topics we encounter in our everyday lives: love, friendship, hurt, inspiration, respect, motivation, integrity, honesty, and more. Mind Platter is not about the words it contains, but what the reader makes of them. May this book give a voice to those who need one, be a crying shoulder for those who yearn for someone to listen, and inspire those who need a reminder of the power they have over their lives.
    Show book
  • Milk and Honey - cover

    Milk and Honey

    Rupi Kaur

    • 23
    • 205
    • 0
    The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.
    Show book
  • A Double Life - cover

    A Double Life

    Karolina Pavlova

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An unsung classic of nineteenth-century Russian literature, Karolina Pavlova’s A Double Life alternates prose and poetry to offer a wry picture of Russian aristocratic society and vivid dreams of escaping its strictures. Pavlova combines rich narrative prose that details balls, tea parties, and horseback rides with poetic interludes that depict her protagonist’s inner world—and biting irony that pervades a seemingly romantic description of a young woman who has everything. 
    A Double Life tells the story of Cecily, who is being trapped into marriage by her well-meaning mother; her best friend, Olga; and Olga’s mother, who means to clear the way for a wealthier suitor for her own daughter by marrying off Cecily first. Cecily’s privileged upbringing makes her oblivious to the havoc that is being wreaked around her. Only in the seclusion of her bedroom is her imagination freed: each day of deception is followed by a night of dreams described in soaring verse. Pavlova subtly speaks against the limitations placed on women and especially women writers, which translator Barbara Heldt highlights in a critical introduction. Among the greatest works of literature by a Russian woman writer, A Double Life is worthy of a central place in the Russian canon.
    Show book
  • Sparks of Phoenix - cover

    Sparks of Phoenix

    Najwa Zebian

    • 4
    • 100
    • 1
    As the phoenix emerges from its ashes, Zebian emerges ablaze in these pages, not only as a survivor of abuse, but as a teacher and healer for all those who have struggled to understand, reclaim, and rise above a history of pain. The book is divided into six chapters, and six stages of healing: Falling, Burning to Ashes, Sparks of Phoenix, Rising, Soaring, and finally, A New Chapter, which demonstrates a healthy response to new love as the result of authentic healing. With her characteristic vulnerability, courage, and softness, Zebian seeks to empower those who have been made to feel ashamed, silenced, or afraid; she urges them, through gentle advice and personal revelation, to raise their voices, rise up, and soar. 
    Show book
  • The Magic That is Life - cover

    The Magic That is Life

    Jessica Higgins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A seamless mixture of poetic writings and constructive self-help, this beautiful compilation of poems, prose, and inspiration is strung together to be a guide and a helpful reminder of the magic that life offers. The author uses imagery and lessons learned through travels, expansion, heartache, her spiritual walk, and all of the joys in-between, to reach out a hand to the reader — with the constant message, “Look back dreamer, you are more than a conqueror. Victories abound.” 
     
    Taken from a deep desire for a more full life and the authors unique personal perspective, this collection is constructed to be a tool to help reframe the eyes — to see the magic in the every day moments, to inspire the want for growth, to connect with those around us, and to celebrate the journey along the way.
     
    Perfect for fans of Jen Sincero, Cleo Wade, and Cheryl Strayed!
    Show book
  • Children’s Poems to Enjoy - cover

    Children’s Poems to Enjoy

    John Nandy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A collection of whimsical, light hearted and humorous children's verse ranging in style from the wacky and modern to the quaintly traditional. This book is filled with amazing animals; fabulous fairies and terrific tales of magic, fantasy and fun that will bring a smile to readers of all ages.
    Show book