The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Blue in the Face - cover

Blue in the Face

Gerry Swallow

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Elspeth Pule, an eleven-year-old brat, wakes up one day in a strange forest, she finds some familiar faces around her--those of the nursery rhyme characters she grew up reading about. But as she soon learns from Humpty Dumpy, a suave, tuxedo-wearing egg, what she knows is a twisted version of the truth concocted by the evil Old King Krool--and none of the characters are who she thinks. 
 
Elspeth couldn't care less, but she soon gets pulled into the fight against Krool's tyranny. And if she wants to get home, she'll need to learn some compassion--and teach the characters that sometimes a good old-fashioned tantrum is exactly what's necessary. 
 
Told in a hilarious voice and with black and white illustrations throughout, this "revolutionary" tale is perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Lemony Snicket.

Other books that might interest you

  • Billboard Express - cover

    Billboard Express

    Sigmund Brouwer, Cindy Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Elle has come to Nashville to become a star. She has what it takes, but her agent and all the label executives want to change everything about her—her hair, her body, her clothes and, most important, her music. So Elle becomes a blond, sings about cookin' for her man and wears tiny shorts and revealing tank tops. Then a chance meeting with an established female songwriter makes Elle realize that she's paying too high a price for success.
    Billboard Express continues the story that began in Rock the Boat by Sigmund Brouwer.
    Show book
  • Odd Gods - cover

    Odd Gods

    David Slavin, Daniel Weitzman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets Percy Jackson in Odd Gods, the first book in a hilarious illustrated series about the most unlikely, unusual Gods ever to grace the halls of Mount Olympus Middle School. 
    A Summer 2019 Kids' Indie Next Pick! 
    Oddonis may be the son of Zeus, but he’s a little bit…odd for a God. He’s so odd, in fact, he’s not sure if he has any powers at all. And if that isn’t enough, his twin brother Adonis is the most popular, most athletic, and most otherworldly handsome God of them all. 
    Oddonis’s future at Mount Olympus Middle isn’t looking bright, especially when he makes the last-minute decision to run against Adonis to be class president. 
    With the help of his friends Mathena (Goddess of math and poultry), Germes (God of all things sniffling and snotty), Puneous (the smallest God of them all), and Gaseous (enough said?), Oddonis is determined to win the race, prove that his friends are as good as any Greek God, and maybe, just maybe, find out what his true powers really are. 
    Read the hilarious new adventures of Oddonis and his friends from debut children’s authors David Slavin and Daniel Weitzman, filled with dozens of black-and-white illustrations by award-winning artist Adam Lane. 
    Show book
  • The Summer of Everything - Picture Perfect and Wish You Were Here - cover

    The Summer of Everything -...

    Catherine Clark

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    This bind-up features two repackaged fan-favorite novels that are sure to delight readers of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer Echols, and, of course, Catherine Clark. 
    Summer vacation isn’t just about working on your tan line and flirting with the lifeguard. . . . For two teenage girls in two irresistibly romantic novels it’s also a chance to learn that sometimes leaving home is the best way to find yourself. 
    In Picture Perfect, Emily can’t wait to spend her summer on the beautiful beaches of the Outer Banks, North Carolina. It has been two years since she went on a trip with her three closest childhood friends—two years that she’s hoping will erase the memory of the last time she saw Spencer, the boy who broke her heart. And what better way to forget about Spencer than to have the perfect summer fling with Blake, the boy living in the beach house next door? But embarking on a new romance is more difficult than she expected when her feelings for her first love aren’t exactly a thing of the past. 
    In Wish You Were Here, Ariel is embarking on the summer vacation of a lifetime—at least, she hopes this is the only trip like this she’ll ever take. Stuck on an “America’s Heartland” bus tour with her family, leaving her amazing boyfriend back home, and maintaining her track-team endurance by sprinting through rest stop parking lots? Who could survive four weeks of that? But as she spends more time with the intriguing, also-miserable Andre, Ariel begins to learn that sometimes you just have to go where the road takes you—even if the tour bus won’t.
    Show book
  • Inside Divergent: The Initiate's World - cover

    Inside Divergent: The Initiate's...

    Cecilia Bernard

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling novel Divergent is now a major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet! 
    This eye-catching volume takes you inside the film version of Divergent. With more than 100 photographs—many never before seen—Inside Divergent will immerse you in the thrilling dystopian world of futuristic Chicago, where you'll meet the initiates and discover the factions.
    Show book
  • Darkness Rising - Daughters of Light - cover

    Darkness Rising - Daughters of...

    Mary Jennifer Payne

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The Final Battle is coming. Are the Seers ready? 
     
    
    
    Sixteen-year-old twins Jasmine and Jade and the rest of the Seers are not only divided between Toronto and London, they’re  internationally wanted fugitives. While away in the Place-In-Between trying to return Solomon’s Ring, the girls become the prime suspects in a deadly terrorist attack in Toronto.  
     
    
    
    The Seers, their Protectors, and a handful of others know the truth: they are innocent, the world is dying, demons are around every corner, and the Darkness is taking over. As the only hope in the coming apocalyptic battle, the Seers will have to work together to save the world from the brink of destruction.
    Show book
  • More Than We Can Tell - cover

    More Than We Can Tell

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    * "Give to teens who enjoyed . . . The Perks of Being a Wallflower." - School Library Journal, starred review 
     
    New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer pens a new must-read story of two teens struggling under  the burden of secrets, and the love that sets them free. 
     
    With loving adoptive parents by his side, Rev Fletcher has managed to keep the demons of his past at bay. . . until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back. 
      
    Emma Blue's parents are constantly fighting, and her only escape is the computer game she built from scratch. But when a cruel online troll's harassment escalates, she not only loses confidence but starts to fear for her safety. 
     
     When Rev and Emma meet, they're both longing to lift the burden of their secrets. They connect instantly and deeply, promising to help each other no matter what. But soon Rev and Emma's secrets threaten to crush them, and they'll need more than a promise to find their way out.
    Show book