Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Doom List - cover

The Doom List

Gerard O'Donovan

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The Doom List – you'd rather be dead than be on it: the intriguing new 1920s mystery featuring Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins.

July, 1922. Newly-appointed 'movie czar' William H. Hays is about to arrive in town on a single-minded mission to clean up Hollywood. He is said to be compiling a list of 'undesirables' whom he plans to bar from screen work. They call it the Doom List.

With the industry in the grip of fear and paranoia, Hollywood's hottest young director Rex Ingram is determined that no hint of scandal should mar the premiere of his new movie, The Prisoner of Zenda, and hires private investigator Tom Collins, a fellow Irishman, with instructions to protect his leading lady's reputation at all costs. But, as Collins discovers, Barbara La Marr isn't the only member of the cast hiding a dangerous secret.

Meanwhile, a body is discovered in the Baldwin Hills to the south of the city. Could there be a connection? Against his better judgement, Collins is drawn into a case of scandal, forbidden love, blackmail . . . and cold-blooded murder.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • About Face - cover

    About Face

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Work turns toxic for a Venice, Italy police detective in this novel in the award-winning, New York Times–bestselling series.   Incinerators across the south of Italy are at full capacity, burning who-knows-what and releasing unacceptable levels of dangerous air pollutants, while in Naples, enormous trash piles grow in the streets. In Venice, with the polluted waters of the canals and a major chemical complex across the lagoon, the issue is never far from the fore.   Then, after an investigator from the Carabiniere, looking into the illegal hauling of garbage, asks for a favor, Guido Brunetti finds himself in the middle of an investigation into murder and corruption even dirtier than the air and water . . .   “[A] stellar entry in the Commissario Guido Brunetti series . . . For readers of literary mysteries, such as those by Deborah Crombie and Elizabeth George.” —School Library Journal   “Brunetti is one of the most attractive policemen in crime fiction today.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer
    Show book
  • Murder Takes a Turn - A British country house mystery - cover

    Murder Takes a Turn - A British...

    Eric Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A country house weekend in rural Cornwall ends in murder and mayhem for crime-writer sleuth Donald Langham and his wife Maria.“It’s time to let bygones be bygones. Water under the bridge, right? What happened … happened a long time ago.”When Langham’s literary agent receives a cryptic letter inviting him to spend the weekend at the grand Cornish home of successful novelist Denbigh Connaught, Charles Elder seems reluctant to attend. What really happened between Elder and Connaught during the summer of 1917, nearly forty years before – and why has it had such a devastating effect on Charles?Accompanying his agent to Connaught House, Langham and his wife Maria discover that Charles is not the only one to have received a letter. But why has Denbigh Connaught gathered together a group of people who each bear him a grudge?When a body is discovered in Connaught’s study, the ensuing investigation uncovers dark secrets that haunt the past of each and every guest – including Charles Elder himself …
    Show book
  • Jack Taggart Mysteries 9-Book Bundle - Art and Murder The Benefactor Corporate Asset and 6 more - cover

    Jack Taggart Mysteries 9-Book...

    Don Easton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All nine books of the Jack Taggart Mystery series are gathered together in this bundle, including the latest mystery, Art and Murder. 
     
    
    
    “Ripped from the headlines … Easton, an ex-Mountie, knows his police work.” 
    
    — Globe and Mail 
     
     
    
    “One of the best hard-nosed series in Canada.” 
    
    — Hamilton Spectator 
     
     
    
    “Swift action, sudden violence and compassion told in a style that keeps you turning the pages. Easton is a writer at the top of his game.”  
    
    — Hamilton Spectator 
     
     
    
    “Filled with moments of sheer terror that will keep the readers turning pages faster and faster as it builds.” 
    
    — Bookgasm.com 
     
     
    
    Includes: 
     
    
    
    Art and Murder — Jack Taggart Mystery #9 (NEW!) 
    
    Undercover operative Jack Taggart of the RCMP is on a mission to find the murderer of a fellow officer. Posing as a pimp, he infiltrates an international crime syndicate led by a mysterious figure known only as the Ringmaster. His plan to find the killer is going well … until the killer IDs him first. 
     
    
    
    The Benefactor — Jack Taggart Mystery #8 
    
    Jack Taggart finds himself involved with an Asian organized crime syndicate when he begins investigating a fatal hit-and-run accident. Unbeknownst to Taggart, the murder was arranged at the request of a rogue Chinese spy, who has drawn up a deadly plan to hide his trail. 
     
    
    
    Corporate Asset — Jack Taggart Mystery #7 
    
    Undercover operative Taggart descends into a world of white-collar crime and murder. Setting himself up as bait to be murdered, Taggart races against time to stop a rapist and catch a serial killer. 
     
    
    
    And 6 more Jack Taggart titles: 
    
    Birds of a Feather — Jack Taggart Mystery #6 
    
    Dead Ends — Jack Taggart Mystery #5 
    
    Samurai Code — Jack Taggart Mystery #4 
    
    Angel in the Full Moon — Jack Taggart Mystery #3 
    
    Above Ground — Jack Taggart Mystery #2 
    
    Loose Ends — Jack Taggart Mystery #1
    Show book
  • Quietly in Their Sleep - cover

    Quietly in Their Sleep

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A nun has left her convent after a series of suspicious deaths: “Leon’s novels are always a pleasure.” —The Washington Post   In Venice, Italy, Commissario Guido Brunetti comes to the aid of a young Catholic sister, who has left her convent after five of her nursing home patients died unexpectedly. In the course of his inquiries, Brunetti encounters an unusual cast of characters, but discovers nothing that seems criminal. The police detective must determine whether the nun is simply creating a smoke screen to justify abandoning her vocation—or if she has stumbled onto something very real and very sinister that places her own life in imminent danger.   “Leon’s books shimmer in the grace of their setting and are warmed by the charm of their characters.” —The New York Times Book Review  Also published under the title The Death of Faith
    Show book
  • The Golden Egg - cover

    The Golden Egg

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller: “Brunetti amply displays the keen intelligence and wry humor that has endeared this series to so many.” —Publishers Weekly   Commissario Brunetti’s latest assignment is to look into a minor shop-keeping violation committed by the mayor’s future daughter-in-law. Brunetti has no interest in helping his boss amass political favors, but has little choice but to comply. Then Brunetti’s wife comes to him with a request of her own. The sweet, simple-minded man who worked at their dry cleaner has just died of a sleeping pill overdose, and Paola loathes the idea that he lived and died without anyone noticing him, or helping him.   Brunetti begins to investigate and is surprised when he finds nothing on the man: no birth certificate, no passport, no driver’s license, no credit cards. As far as the Italian government is concerned, he never existed. Stranger still, the dead man’s mother refuses to speak to the police. And as secrets unravel, Brunetti begins to suspect that an aristocratic family might be somehow connected to the mystery . . .   “Leon’s success . . . is testament to the heartening fact that character counts in crime fiction.” —Booklist, starred review
    Show book