Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Doom List - cover

Doom List

Gerard O'Donovan

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The Doom List – you'd rather be dead than be on it: the intriguing new 1920s mystery featuring Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins.

July, 1922. Newly-appointed 'movie czar' William H. Hays is about to arrive in town on a single-minded mission to clean up Hollywood. He is said to be compiling a list of 'undesirables' whom he plans to bar from screen work. They call it the Doom List.

With the industry in the grip of fear and paranoia, Hollywood's hottest young director Rex Ingram is determined that no hint of scandal should mar the premiere of his new movie, The Prisoner of Zenda, and hires private investigator Tom Collins, a fellow Irishman, with instructions to protect his leading lady's reputation at all costs. But, as Collins discovers, Barbara La Marr isn't the only member of the cast hiding a dangerous secret.

Meanwhile, a body is discovered in the Baldwin Hills to the south of the city. Could there be a connection? Against his better judgement, Collins is drawn into a case of scandal, forbidden love, blackmail . . . and cold-blooded murder.

Other books that might interest you

  • Executive Treason - cover

    Executive Treason

    Gary Grossman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Secret Service agent confronts Russian spycraft, murder in the White House, and a dangerous talk-radio host in a “completely mesmerizing” thriller (Dale Brown, New York Times-bestselling author of Eagle Station). The terrorists who came within a heartbeat of undermining the presidency of the United States in Executive Actions are back in Executive Treason with a new—and deadlier—plot to destabilize the U.S. government. It begins with the mugging and murder of a female White House staffer. Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke discovers the larger truth: the murder was committed by his secret nemesis, the mysterious assassin who had stayed one step ahead of him during the presidential campaign.   This time, Roarke has found clues about the assassin’s past that give him the tools he needs to hunt the hunter—and also silence a popular hate talk radio host dividing the country. But the clues can only go so far. Roarke needs all his skills—and a lot of luck—if he’s going to catch his quarry…   “Fast-paced, with vivid characters and a plot right off the front pages. Surprises you on every page. A winner.”—Larry Bond, New York Times-bestselling author of Arctic Gambit
    Show book
  • A Death in Live Oak - A Jack Swyteck Novel - cover

    A Death in Live Oak - A Jack...

    James Grippando

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the 2017 winner of the Harper Lee Prize for legal fiction comes a powerful and timely story of race, politics, injustice, and murder as shocking and incendiary as today’s headlines. 
      
    When the body of Jamal Cousin, president of the pre-eminent black fraternity at the Florida's flagship university, is discovered hogtied in the Stygian water swamps of the Suwanee River Valley, the death sets off a firestorm that threatens to rage out of control when a fellow student, Mark Towson, the president of a prominent white fraternity, is accused of the crime.  
      
    Contending with rising political tensions, racial unrest, and a sensational media, Towson’s defense attorney, Jack Swyteck, knows that the stakes could not be higher—inside or outside the old Suwanee County Couthouse.  The evidence against his client, which includes a threatening text message referencing "strange fruit" on the river, seems overwhelming. Then Jack gets a break that could turn the case. Jamal's gruesome murder bears disturbing similarities to another lynching that occurred back in the Jim Crow days of 1944. Are the chilling parallels purely coincidental? With a community in chaos and a young man’s life in jeopardy, Jack will use every resource to find out.  
      
    As he navigates each twist and turn of the search, Jack becomes increasingly convinced that his client may himself be the victim of a criminal plan more sinister than the case presented by the state attorney. Risking his own reputation, this principled man who has devoted his life to the law plunges headfirst into the darkest recesses of the South’s past, and its murky present, to uncover answers.  
      
    For Jack, it's about the truth. Traversing time, from the days of strict segregation to the present, he’ll find it—no matter what the cost—and bring much-needed justice to Suwanee County. 
     
    Show book
  • The Nanny - A Novel - cover

    The Nanny - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “The Nanny kept me in white-knuckled suspense until the very last page. Gilly Macmillan’s breakout thriller is a dark and twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong.” — Tess Gerritsen,  New York Times bestselling author 
    The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew conjures a dark and unpredictable tale of family secrets that explores the lengths people will go to hurt one another. 
    When her beloved nanny, Hannah, left without a trace in the summer of 1988, seven-year-old Jocelyn Holt was devastated. Haunted by the loss, Jo grew up bitter and distant, and eventually left her parents and Lake Hall, their faded aristocratic home, behind. 
    Thirty years later, Jo returns to the house and is forced to confront her troubled relationship with her mother. But when human remains are accidentally uncovered in a lake on the estate, Jo begins to question everything she thought she knew. 
    Then an unexpected visitor knocks on the door and Jo’s world is destroyed again. Desperate to piece together the gaping holes in her memory, Jo must uncover who her nanny really was, why she left, and if she can trust her own mother… 
    In this compulsively readable tale of secrets, lies, and deception, Gilly Macmillan explores the darkest impulses and desires of the human heart. Diabolically clever, The Nanny reminds us that sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 9
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • Executive Actions - cover

    Executive Actions

    Gary Grossman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One bullet puts the plan in motion…“The best political thriller I have read in a long, long time―right up there with the very best of David Baldacci.”—Michael Palmer, New York Times-bestselling author of Oath of Office An assassin’s bullet changes the course of the presidential election—not by killing Democratic candidate Teddy Lodge but by killing his wife. Riding a wave of popular sympathy, Lodge surges forward as the man to beat for incumbent President Morgan Taylor.    Meanwhile, Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke is ordered by President Taylor to investigate the assassination, which unravels a deadly Soviet plot that has incubated for decades. But it’s not just the Russians that Agent Roarke must contend with. Another nation has a sleeper agent—poised to forever alter American policy in the Middle East…   “Grossman had done lots of research on everything from political infighting to clandestine military operations…holds reader interest right up to the inevitable conclusion.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Angel in the Glass The - A new forensic mystery series set in Stuart England - cover

    Angel in the Glass The - A new...

    Alys Clare

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    'A thought-provoking plot, and an affecting and powerful conclusion make this one of Clare's best' - Booklist Starred Review
    
    Physician-sleuth Dr Gabriel Taverner uncovers dark secrets in his small Devon village in the second of this intriguing historical mystery series. 
    
    June, 1604.  When the emaciated body of a vagrant is found on the edge of the moor, it’s the verdict of physician Gabriel Taverner that the man died of natural causes – but is all as it seems? Who was the dead man, and why had he come to the small West Country village of Tavy St Luke’s to die cold, sick and alone?  With no one claiming to have known him, his identity remains a mystery.
    
    Then a discovery found buried in a nearby field throws a strange new light on the case … and in attempting to find the answers, Gabriel Taverner and Coroner Theophilus Davey unearth a series of shocking secrets stretching back more than fourteen years.
    Show book