Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Picnic and Suchlike Pandemonium - cover

The Picnic and Suchlike Pandemonium

Gerald Durrell

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Uproarious antics and surreal situations take center stage in six tales from the celebrated British naturalist and author of the Corfu Trilogy.   The eccentric Durrell family sets off on an ill-fated excursion in “The Picnic” and embarks on a Greek cruise in “The Maiden Voyage.”   Next, things take a turn for the diabolical when a solo Durrell runs into a former flame in “The Public School Education”—and then finds trouble of a different sort in “The Havoc of Havelock.”   Finally, the typically jocular Durrell unexpectedly shifts to the macabre with the surprise cuisine of “The Michelin Man” and the spine-tingling horror of “The Entrance.”   With his knack for describing his often outlandish, always entertaining adventures, Gerald Durrell serves up an engrossing blend of genres in this intriguing collection of stories. Including both fiction and nonfiction, The Picnic and Suchlike Pandemonium reveals the wide-ranging talents of the famed naturalist and memoirist.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Gerald Durrell including rare photos from the author’s estate.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Still in Love - A Novel - cover

    Still in Love - A Novel

    Michael Downing

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Professor Mark Sternum returns in Downing's follow-up to his critically acclaimed Perfect Agreement. The protagonist, a gay man, is in love with his work and in love with the classroom, wholly devoted to his students. But while estranged from his lifelong partner, a university departmental "crisis" occurs as the department chair challenges Mark's grade for a student. This is a gentle comic novel of domestic life and manners, written with extraordinary grace and subtlety. 
    Perfect Agreement was a Boston Globe bestseller
    Long time readers of Downing will be enchanted and readers new to his work will be delighted
     Novel eligible for Lambda Literary Awards, and author will be pitched to Lambda annual festival
    The author, himself a professor of creative writing, believes deeply in the importance of the classroom experience and the magic (and drama) that can occur there. So he wrote a novel to celebrate and explore this premise
    Show book
  • A Stolen Life - Searching for Richard Pierpoint - cover

    A Stolen Life - Searching for...

    David Meyler, Peter Meyler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Richard Pierpoint or Captain Dick, as he was commonly known, emerges from the shadows of history in A Stolen Life: Searching for Richard Pierpoint. An African warrior who was captured at about age 16, Pierpoint lived his remaining years in exile. From his birth in Bundu (now part of Senegal) around 1744 until his death in rural Ontario in 1837, Pierpoint's life allows us to glimpse the activity of an African involved in some of the world's great events. 
    "We are indebted to the authors for breathing life into this man, who though taken from his home early in his life still was able to make a significant contribution to the early history of Upper Canada. He fought, farmed and became a griot to the Black community. We thank you for a wonderful story of this often forgotten segment of Canadian history." 
    — Wilma Morrison, Norval Johnson Heritage Library, Niagara Falls 
    "Everybody knows about the Underground Railroad and the great many Black souls who emigrated to Canada via this route, but very few people know the brave Black men and women who put their lives on the line in defence of this country." 
    - Ivor Christopher, Re-enactor, Runchey's Company of Coloured Men  
    "A well-researched and highly readable chronicle of Richard Pierpoint's life in Africa and North America -- as a slave, a soldier, and as a pioneer in Upper Canada's wilderness. ... a vitally important contribution to Canadian Black history." 
    - Linda Brown-Kubisch, Author, Missouri
    Show book
  • Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith Bacon Sally Rand and the Golden Age of the Showgirl - cover

    Feuding Fan Dancers - Faith...

    Leslie Zemeckis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zemeckis is one of only a few burlesque historians world-wide, and she herself has spent more than a decade performing in burlesque. Zemeckis's last two books on burlesque have been favorably reviewed by The New York Times, Time, NPR, New York Magazine, and in 2014, Zemeckis, also an actress and producer, was profiled in The Huffington Post.
     
    In November 2018, Zemeckis will costar with Steve Carell and Diane Kruger in the new film The Women of Marwen. She also has over 60k followers on Instagram.
     
    Behind the Burly Q, the 2010 documentary based on Zemeckis' book of the same name on the history of burlesque was championed by USA Today and The New Yorker. She wrote, produced, and directed it. Her latest documentary, Bound by Flesh (about vaudeville Siamese twin superstars, Daisy and Violet Hilton) has won multiple awards.
     
    Deeply researched and stylishly written, Feud of the Fan Dancers is the result of several years' worth of research and interviews with the family members of Faith Bacon and Sally Rand.
     
    Zemeckis has a track record of uncovering the forgotten feminist histories from the decades before women's rights, and this book is another on that indomitable trajectory––the story of two notorious women of grit and perseverance in the Golden Age of entertainment
    Show book
  • God's Generals: The Revivalists - cover

    God's Generals: The Revivalists

    Roberts Liardon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Roberts Liardon recaptures God's glory with these compelling spiritual biographies of some of the most powerful preachers ever to ignite the fires of revival.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • Don't Tell My Mother - How to Fight War on Your Own Terms - cover

    Don't Tell My Mother - How to...

    Peter Duggan-Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Peter Duggan-Smith was born in 1916 to an actress mother. As she was always on the move he was brought up by two maiden aunts until he was accepted to train for a sea-going career on the cadet ship H.M.S. Conway. It was on the last of several voyages to New Zealand as a Merchant Navy apprentice that his life of adventure began — though it did not always turn out as he had planned! The one constant in Peter’s life was his love of flying; by the end of his final flight in Cambodia in 1974, he had racked up more than 17,000 flying hours–in no less than 70 types of piston-engine aircraft. Peter was small in stature, but a giant among adventurers, with a rare ability to take the reader along with him through his many escapades.  
     
     Raymond Eagle, FSA Scot., is a historian with a particular interest in Scottish and military history. His early years were spent in Eastleigh, Hampshire where, at the age of ten, he had a grandstand view of the Battle of Britain. This gave him a life-long interest in aviation and a great respect for his boyhood heroes, the aircrews of the RAF and Dominion air forces. In 1949 he joined the British army as a national serviceman and was commissioned in the Royal Artillery, spending two years in Hong Kong before continuing in the Territorial Army (Militia). Arriving in Canada in March 1967 with his wife and two young sons, he worked for twenty years in executive positions with various medical charities, writing purely as a hobby. Articles published included such areas as history, environment, health and travel. In November 1991, Eagle’s first book was published in Scotland by Lochar Publishing of Moffat, Seton Gordon — The Life and Times of a Highland Gentleman, a biography of the well-known Scottish naturalist, historian and photographer, who wrote 27 books on the Highlands and Hebrides.
    Show book