Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Diary of 1636 - The Second Manchu Invasion of Korea - cover

The Diary of 1636 - The Second Manchu Invasion of Korea

George Kallander

Translator George Kallander

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Early in the seventeenth century, Northeast Asian politics hung in a delicate balance among the Chosŏn dynasty in Korea, the Ming in China, and the Manchu. When a Chosŏn faction realigned Korea with the Ming, the Manchu attacked in 1627 and again a decade later, shattering the Chosŏn-Ming alliance and forcing Korea to support the newly founded Qing dynasty.The Korean scholar-official Na Man’gap (1592–1642) recorded the second Manchu invasion in his Diary of 1636, the only first-person account chronicling the dramatic Korean resistance to the attack. Partly composed as a narrative of quotidian events during the siege of Namhan Mountain Fortress, where Na sought refuge with the king and other officials, the diary recounts Korean opposition to Manchu and Mongol forces and the eventual surrender. Na describes military campaigns along the northern and western regions of the country, the capture of the royal family, and the Manchu treatment of prisoners, offering insights into debates about Confucian loyalty and the conduct of women that took place in the war’s aftermath. His work sheds light on such issues as Confucian statecraft, military decision making, and ethnic interpretations of identity in the seventeenth century. Translated from literary Chinese into English for the first time, the diary illuminates a traumatic moment for early modern Korean politics and society. George Kallander’s critical introduction and extensive annotations place The Diary of 1636 in its historical, political, and military context, highlighting the importance of this text for students and scholars of Chinese and East Asian as well as Korean history.

Other books that might interest you

  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Hearts Bound Together as One: A Pride and Prejudice Variations Collection - cover

    Hearts Bound Together as One: A...

    P. O. Dixon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ❝There could have never been two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison, no countenances so beloved.❞ –Jane Austen 
    A Limited Edition Collection! 
    Here's a chance to add to your growing collection of Pride and Prejudice 'what-if' stories with two P. O. Dixon stories for under the price of one, plus a special bonus story just because. 
     
     
    Book One - Only a Heartbeat Away 
     
    Long before they meet, Miss Elizabeth Bennet entertains notions of Mr. Darcy as being good-natured, compassionate, and exceedingly handsome. Indeed, everything a gentleman ought to be. In light of the ardent disdain that he incites in her family and friends at the Meryton assembly, reconciling her favorable impression of him proves deeply unsettling. Hence she goes about making out his true nature. Boasting to the gentleman of an acquaintance with his worst enemy, however, hardly recommends her to him. 
     
    Tempestuous sparks promise to ignite into passionate flames as Darcy and Elizabeth endeavor to sketch each other’s character. 
     
    Praise for Only a Heartbeat Away: 
     
    ❝This is one story that captured my heart and soul! Thanks to Ms. Dixon for another riveting adaptation of a most beloved book!!❞ –Liz C., Amazon Reader 
     
    ❝I love Lizzy and Darcy, and I love what Dixon continually does to my beloved characters in her books.❞ –Books Hug Back 
     
     
    Book Two - Miss Elizabeth Bennet: Where the Heart Lives 
     
    Mr. Darcy emerges as a hero in Miss Elizabeth Bennet’s eyes almost from the start. With such a beginning, one might think the journey to happily ever after for Jane Austen’s beloved couple would be absent any bumps in the road. On the contrary. There are quite a few fires to be put out along the way. 
     
    Praise for Miss Elizabeth Bennet: 
     
    ❝What a setup! It makes for compelling reading through to the last page. Georgiana plays a significant role here, and there's plenty of good interplay between Darcy and Elizabeth. It's well written, as usual for this author. Good stuff!❞ –Debbie B., Goodreads Reader 
     
    ❝This is a very interesting and entirely new version of Pride and Prejudice from P.O. Dixon. All of her stories are unique and entertaining, ...❞ –Colleen C., Goodreads Reader 
     
      
    BONUS BOOK! 
    Lady Harriette: Fitzwilliam's Heart and Soul 
     
    Their hasty courtship and subsequent marriage notwithstanding, Colonel Fitzwilliam finds himself deeply in love with his beautiful wife. However, having seduced his innocent young bride, a single question haunts him—does he truly deserve his happiness? 
     
    Her husband’s lack of fortune never concerned Lady Harriette. She loves him. Young, spirited, and confident, she has always enjoyed a charmed life. When Richard’s past lands on their doorstep, suspicion rears its head, and Harriette’s questions go unanswered. Seeking explanations on her own is her only recourse. Will she uncover more than she bargained for? 
     
    Praise for Lady Harriette: 
     
    ❝While keeping the beloved Pride and Pride story in motion and being respectful of the Austen characters we adore, Dixon creates a continuing tale with romance and intrigue.❞ –Books Hug Back 
     
    ❝This is truly a romance novel with some steamy love scenes, so please take heed. You are forewarned and forearmed for a great read. I highly recommend it.❞ –Austenprose
    Show book
  • Exposing Jack the Stripper: A Biography of the Worst Serial Killer You've Probably Never Heard of - Stranger Than Fiction #3 - cover

    Exposing Jack the Stripper: A...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jack the Ripper may get all the fame, but his 1960s counterpart, Jack the Stripper, will really send shivers down your spine. At least six women, all prostitutes, were murdered at his hand--possibly more. Most intriguing of all...he was never caught. 
     
    The crimes, though often forgotten today, inspired the crime novel "Goodbye Piccadilly, Farewell Leicester Square," which Alfred Hitchcock turned into the 1972 movie, "Frenzy." 
     
    Go inside the hunt for this brutal killer in this gripping short biography.
    Show book