Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The House of Cobwebs and Other Stories - cover

The House of Cobwebs and Other Stories

George Gissing

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The House of Cobwebs and Other Stories" by George Gissing. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Other books that might interest you

  • Widow's Welcome - cover

    Widow's Welcome

    D.K. Fields

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    There's power in stories. This is a story of power. 
     
    Dead bodies aren't unusual in the alleyways of Fenest, capital of the Union of Realms. Especially not in an election year, when the streets swell with crowds from near and far. Muggings, brawls gone bad, debts collected – Detective Cora Gorderheim has seen it all. Until she finds a Wayward man with his mouth sewn shut. 
     
    His body has been arranged precisely by the killer and left conspicuously, waiting to be found. Cora fears this is not only a murder, but a message. 
     
    As she digs into the dead man's past, she finds herself drawn into the most dangerous event in the Union: the election. In a world where stories win votes, someone has gone to a lot of trouble to silence this man. Who has stopped his story being told? 
     
    _______________________________________________________
     
    'An utterly absorbing tale set in a fascinating world' MICK FINLAY. 
     
    'If you love storytelling, you'll love this' S.J. MORDEN. 
     
    'It's rare to find such a richly imagined world about the art of myth and storytelling' CHRISTOPHER FOWLER. 
     
    'Irresistibly thrilling, weaving together gaslit crime, fantasy and mystery ... I can't wait for more' TIM MAJOR. 
     
    'There is more than meets the eye in this gripping and inventive debut ... Rife with intrigue, deceit and cultural tension' JAMES AITCHESON.
    Show book
  • Let's Kill All The Lawyers - If You prick Me Do I Not Bleed - cover

    Let's Kill All The Lawyers - If...

    Tim Howard

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A doctor and a lawyer. Both stressed by their work, and by personal demons. Thrown together by
    chance, but each needing the skills and guidance of the other. Each is challenged and threatened by the law, and the impersonal way it arbitrates on fault, responsibility, and guilt. This story explores what it is like to be a good doctor whose professional competence is challenged, and how his lawyer does her best for him. It explores the way life and death decisions are made in hospitals, and how these have a consequence not only for patients, but also for those who have to make those decisions. And how, in making them, the main players can be torn apart or drawn together...
    Show book
  • Hetty's Secret War - A heartbreaking story of love loss and courage in World War 2 - cover

    Hetty's Secret War - A...

    Rosie Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1939, with the world on the brink of war, one women faces a future more uncertain than she had ever imagined... Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp. 
     
    Georgie - when the man she has always loved is sent to France on a secret war office mission every knock of the door fills her with dread of it being the feared telegram boy... 
     
    Beth - orphaned as a child, Beth is coming of age and determined to do her bit for the war effort. Caught up in a whirlwind romance, she marries only to become a war widow... and one expecting a baby who will never know his brave father. Can she find happiness again? 
     
    Hetty - desperately trying to make her way back from Paris to her beloved family in England, a fateful and tragic encounter brings Hetty to Chateau de Faubourg where she joins the resistance and risks both her heart and her life fighting for charismatic resistance leader Stefan Lefarge... 
     
    However dark the times, courage, determination and the power of friendship can overcome the hardships of war.
    Show book
  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book
  • The Skeleton Paints a Picture - cover

    The Skeleton Paints a Picture

    Leigh Perry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    No bones about it, this death is suspicious…“Amateur sleuth Georgia, and her sidekick, Sid, are just plain fun!”—Sofie Kelly, New York Times-bestselling author of the Magical Cats Mysteries   Georgia Thackery, adjunct English professor, has a new job teaching at Falstone College of Art and Design, known as FAD to its students and faculty. Living in a borrowed bungalow during winter in the snowiest part of Massachusetts, Georgia feels her isolation weighing as heavily as the weather. Then she receives a package containing her best friend, Sid, a walking, talking skeleton who has lived with the Thackery family since Georgia was six. With Georgia working out of town, Sid was lonely too.   The two of them make plans for a cozy semester together, and it might have worked out that way if Sid hadn’t snuck out in the middle of the night to play in the snow and spotted a crashed car. When he drags Georgia out to investigate, they find the driver behind the wheel, apparently dead from the collision. Initially, police think it’s an accident, so Georgia and Sid think that’s the end of it—until Georgia finds out the body hits closer to home than she’d realized...   “Dr. Georgia Thackery is smart, resourceful, and determined to be a great single mom to her teenager. Georgia is normal in every respect—except that her best friend happens to be a skeleton named Sid. You’ll love the adventures of this unexpected mystery-solving duo.” —Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author   “A very touching and entertaining whodunit. The mystery is intelligent and nicely done with fun insights into academia and anthropology.” —RT Book Reviews on A Skeleton in the Family
    Show book
  • The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga of triumph over adversity - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A gritty saga...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... 
     
    Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... 
     
    Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...
    Show book