Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Richest Man in Babylon - cover

The Richest Man in Babylon

George Clason

Publisher: RMB

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The parables are told by a fictional Babylonian character called Arkad, a poor scribe who became the "richest man in Babylon". Included in Arkad's advice are the "Seven Cures" (or how to generate money and wealth), and the "Five Laws of Gold" (or how to protect and invest wealth). A core part of Arkad's advice is around "paying yourself first", "living within your means", "investing in what you know", the importance of "long-term saving", and "home ownership".
The content is from a series of pamphlets distributed by U.S. banks and insurance companies in 1920–24; the pamphlets were bound together and published as a book in 1926. The book is often referred to as a classic of personal financial advice, and appears in modern recommended reading lists on personal financial advice and wealth management, which has kept the book in print almost 90 years after its first edition with over 2 million copies sold.
Clason himself published an illustrated hardback edition in 1930 titled The Richest Man in Babylon and Other Stories which now sells for USD 1,250.
The unusual structure of the book has inspired many modern derivative works providing further discussion and insights on the parables.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sleep Tight - Bedtime Quotes to Soothe the Soul - cover

    Sleep Tight - Bedtime Quotes to...

    Andrews McMeel Publishing

    • 13
    • 70
    • 1
    In our hectic world, sleep can be the last thing on our minds—but it often has the biggest effect on our daily lives. Sleep Tight is a book of reassuring quotations and suggestions intended to quiet your mind, preparing you for a good night’s rest. Add this to your nightly ritual and find comfort and rest in the soothing quotes and mantras.
    Show book
  • Sabotage - How to Get Out of Your Own Way - cover

    Sabotage - How to Get Out of...

    Emma Gannon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A pocket-sized investigation into self-sabotage: what it is, why we do it, and how we can break our toxic patterns.How do we get out of our own way? With personal stories and research-based insights multi-hyphenate Emma Gannon explores her own relationship with self-sabotage and presents a quick, meaningful guide to help you recognize your own forms of self doubt, identify what is holding you back, and the steps you can take to loosen its grip. 
    Show book
  • The Birthday Oracle - cover

    The Birthday Oracle

    Pam Carruthers

    • 0
    • 50
    • 0
    All of us have wondered what our birth date says about us, and now The Birthday Oracle can reveal its full significance. With a reading for every day of the year, this fascinating book combines astrological expertise with numerology and tarot to reveal your personality profile and identify your strengths and weaknesses. Consult The Birthday Oracle for insight and direction in all areas of your life: 
     
    . Love and relationships 
     
    . Work and career 
     
    . Friends and social life 
     
    . Personal development 
     
    . Meditation
    Show book
  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People - Powerful Lessons in Personal Change (25th Anniversary Edition) - cover

    The 7 Habits of Highly Effective...

    Stephen Covey

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    When it was first published in 1989, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People was an almost instant bestseller--and quickly became a permanent part of the cultural lexicon. With over 25 million copies sold worldwide in over 40 languages since its first publication, this book continues to help millions of readers become more effective in both their personal and professional lives. 
    This is one of the rare books that has influenced presidents, CEOs, educators, and individuals all over the world not only to improve their businesses and careers but to live with integrity, service, dignity, and success in all areas of life. It has had an undeniable impact for the past 25 years--and will no doubt continue to be influential for many more. 
    ENDORSEMENTS 
    "Every so often a book comes along that not only alters the lives of readers but leaves an imprint on the culture itself. The 7 Habits is one of those books." --Daniel Pink, author of Drive and To Sell Is Human 
    "The 7 Habits encompass timeless principles that can help guide any company toward success." --Tony Hsieh, New York Times bestselling author of Delivering Happiness and CEO of Zappos.com, Inc. 
    "There are very few business books that are essential reading for anyone who wants to make a difference. This is one of the great ones." --Seth Godin, author of The Icarus Deception 
    "No person lasts forever, but books and ideas can endure. Stephen R. Covey's life is done, but his work is not. It continues, right here in this book as alive today as when first written." --Jim Collins 
    "Twenty-five years after it first appeared, the wisdom of The 7 Habits is more relevant than ever. On an individual level people are burning out, and on a collective level we are burning up the planet. So Dr. Covey's emphasis on self-renewal, and his understanding that leadership and creativity require us to tap into our own physical, mental, and spiritual resources, are exactly what we need now." --Arianna Huffington 
    ABOUT THE AUTHOR 
    Dr. Stephen R. Covey (1932-2012) was a world-renowned authority on leadership and family relations. He held a Bachelor of Science from the University of Utah, an MBA from Harvard, and a PhD from Brigham Young University. Dr. Covey served as Vice Chairman of FranklinCovey Co., and was an in-demand speaker, teacher, and organizational consultant. Throughout his career, Dr. Covey brought new insight and understanding to millions of readers and students.
    Show book
  • How to Keep an Open Mind - An Ancient Guide to Thinking Like a Skeptic - cover

    How to Keep an Open Mind - An...

    Sextus Empiricus

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    How ancient skepticism can help you attain tranquility by learning to suspend judgmentAlong with Stoicism and Epicureanism, Skepticism is one of the three major schools of ancient Greek philosophy that claim to offer a way of living as well as thinking. How to Keep an Open Mind provides an unmatched introduction to skepticism by presenting a fresh, modern translation of key passages from the writings of Sextus Empiricus, the only Greek skeptic whose works have survived.While content in daily life to go along with things as they appear to be, Sextus advocated—and provided a set of techniques to achieve—a radical suspension of judgment about the way things really are, believing that such nonjudging can be useful for challenging the unfounded dogmatism of others and may help one achieve a state of calm and tranquility. In an introduction, Richard Bett makes the case that the most important lesson we can draw from Sextus’s brand of skepticism today may be an ability to see what can be said on the other side of any issue, leading to a greater open-mindedness.Complete with the original Greek on facing pages, How to Keep an Open Mind offers a compelling antidote to the closed-minded dogmatism of today’s polarized world.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book