As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Reckless - A gritty addictive thriller - cover

Reckless - A gritty addictive thriller

Gemma Rogers

Publisher: Boldwood Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A gritty new thriller from the bestselling author of Stalker. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole. ONE LIFE CHANGING MOMENT OF MADNESS.English teacher Izzy Cole wanted a fresh start with her family.A new town, a new home, and a new school.When sixth form student Nicky Stevens takes a special interest in her, Izzy is initially flattered.But as their dangerous friendship teeters on the edge of something more, alarm bells go undetected and one moment of madness leads to devastating consequences.Izzy soon finds her family, her career and her life hanging in the balance as she becomes his darkest obsession... Praise for Gemma Rogers: 'A brilliant thriller from an exciting new voice. Stalker had me on the edge of my seat' Kerry Barnes'An atmospheric, taut thriller which keeps you hooked from the first page. An exceptional debut.' Jacqui Rose‘A beautifully written edge-of-your-seat thriller that had me guessing right until the end.’ Dreda Say Mitchell

Other books that might interest you

  • Fall; or Dodge in Hell - A Novel - cover

    Fall; or Dodge in Hell - A Novel

    Neal Stephenson

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times Notable Book 
    The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Seveneves, Anathem, Reamde, and Cryptonomicon returns with a wildly inventive and entertaining science fiction thriller—Paradise Lost by way of Philip K. Dick—that unfolds in the near future, in parallel worlds. 
     
    In his youth, Richard “Dodge” Forthrast founded Corporation 9592, a gaming company that made him a multibillionaire. Now in his middle years, Dodge appreciates his comfortable, unencumbered life, managing his myriad business interests, and spending time with his beloved niece Zula and her young daughter, Sophia.  
    One beautiful autumn day, while he undergoes a routine medical procedure, something goes irrevocably wrong. Dodge is pronounced brain dead and put on life support, leaving his stunned family and close friends with difficult decisions. Long ago, when a much younger Dodge drew up his will, he directed that his body be given to a cryonics company now owned by enigmatic tech entrepreneur Elmo Shepherd. Legally bound to follow the directive despite their misgivings, Dodge’s family has his brain scanned and its data structures uploaded and stored in the cloud, until it can eventually be revived.  
    In the coming years, technology allows Dodge’s brain to be turned back on. It is an achievement that is nothing less than the disruption of death itself. An eternal afterlife—the Bitworld—is created, in which humans continue to exist as digital souls.  
    But this brave new immortal world is not the Utopia it might first seem . . .  
    Fall, or Dodge in Hell is pure, unadulterated fun: a grand drama of analog and digital, man and machine, angels and demons, gods and followers, the finite and the eternal. In this exhilarating epic, Neal Stephenson raises profound existential questions and touches on the revolutionary breakthroughs that are transforming our future. Combining the technological, philosophical, and spiritual in one grand myth, he delivers a mind-blowing speculative literary saga for the modern age.
    Show book
  • Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    First police procedural has been set in the snowbound Hazelton area of northern B.C.
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    A northern winter and two mismatched detectives bring out outstanding character friction and dialogue
    Author is a court reporter and longtime resident of the Hazeltons who has seen many trials in the area, including murders, and conveys a sense of its isolation and the claustrophobic feel of its criminal investigations
    Author’s extensive courtroom experience also shows in the gripping psychological realism of the book's criminals
    Show book
  • Devil's Corner - cover

    Devil's Corner

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline delivers a knockout stand-alone thriller featuring a young federal prosecutor who risks her life to bring down the kingpin of a conspiracy responsible for murders in West Philly.  
     
    Assistant U.S. Attorney Vicki Allegretti goes to meet a confidential informant and finds herself facing a loaded 9 mm Glock semiautomatic weapon, wielded by a panicky teenager. Violence is the last thing this neophyte lawyer expects. The case is easy, the kind given to new ADAs to help them cut their teeth. Yet almost before she has time to react, her partner is dead, shot in the chest. 
     From that high-octane introduction to her job, Vicki vows to continue with the case, protect her informant, and find the shadowy figure behind the death of her partner. This decision will take her to the depths of the federal detention center’s &#8220bowl,&#8221 to a row house on the street where she grew up, and to the posh suburbs where her parents now live. Set against the gritty backdrop of a modern American city and imbued with Lisa Scottoline’s trademark style and wit, Cater Street is the story of a determined young lawyer seeking justice.
    Show book
  • Killing Beauties - cover

    Killing Beauties

    Pete Langman

    • 2
    • 29
    • 0
    In a world made for men, Susan Hyde is no ordinary woman.And no one would suspect that the sister of Edward Hyde, chief advisor to King in exile Charles Stuart, spends her time peddling state secrets and fomenting rebellion rather than on her tapestry.As a she-intelligencer – female spy – Susan’s mission is to extract information from Oliver Cromwell’s unsuspecting spymaster, by any means necessary.In a shadow-world of ciphers, surveillance, poison, seduction and duplicity, this daring spy will risk everything for king and country. Based on the astonishing true story of England’s earliest female spies, Killing Beauties will transport you to a seventeenth-century London rife with political intrigue, betrayal and conspiracy.
    Show book
  • Deeper Than Indigo - Tracing Thomas Machell Forgotten Explorer - cover

    Deeper Than Indigo - Tracing...

    Jenny Balfour Paul

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After discovering the diaries of Victorian explorer Thomas Machell in the dusty recesses of the British Library, Jenny set out on her own voyage, tracing his footsteps across oceans and continents for ten years, on a quest to discover and understand this extraordinary character. In 2010 she travelled alone to India on the last cargo ship to accept passengers. The journey was as treacherous as it had been in Thomas's day and Jenny was advised to hide below deck and sleep with a knife by her bed and dollars sewn into her jacket. She narrowly escaped attack as naval ships intercepted a pirate 'mothership' spotted off the Yemeni coast. Jenny's journey ends as she finally discovers Thomas's overgrown grave when travelling with herdaughter after over 15 years of searching. Through a combination of the author's own memoirs, sketches and recollections of travels, entwined with Thomas Machell's tales and intricate drawings, Deeper than Indigo offers a unique insight into the social history of British colonialism at its height, from the East India Company to the Raj, while telling the story of a forgotten pioneer, whose startling diaries shed a surprisingly progressive light on European colonialism.
    Show book
  • Creep - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Creep - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Leith and Dion are on the hunt for a different kind of murderer … and he’s a real animal. 
     
    
    
    It seems the October rains have brought death and disaster to North Vancouver. A missing hiker is found by his son and daughter, a foul smell leads to a mauled body in a crawl space, and a small boy is attacked by a man in wolf form.  
     
    
    
    Once an up-and-coming Serious Crimes investigator, these days Constable Cal Dion is back on general duties, feeling out-of-the-loop and rebellious. On a routine canvassing task, he finds himself questioning an attractive witness, one he feels is peripheral enough to the crawl space case that he would be safe in asking her out. Of course, it’s the worst decision.… Constable David Leith is in the thick of the same investigation, a case complicated by rumours running wild and a most elusive suspect. Halloween has brought out the ghouls for Leith and his team … and possibly a shapeshifter as well, with murder on its mind.
    Show book