Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Does the Name Pavlov Ring a Bell? - 879 Hilarious Puns to Test Your Wit - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Does the Name Pavlov Ring a Bell? - 879 Hilarious Puns to Test Your Wit

Gary Blake

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Everyone loves wordplay! This collection of more than eight hundred quips and pun-filled anecdotes will have your friends in stitches! Classics and new inventions fill these pages with humor and wit. Divided into chapters according to theme—animals, celebrities, careers, food, and so on—there’s a pun for every occasion! Author Gary Blake dares you not to snicker at his contrivances: Two silk worms had a race. They ended up in a tie. Davy Crockett had three ears. A left ear, a right ear, and a wild frontier. A backwards poet writes inverse. Santa’s helpers are subordinate Clauses. Like tavern owners, ballet dancers make most of their money at the barre. Horses in the movies only have bit parts. Why does the Pope travel so much? Because he’s a roamin’ Catholic. Absinthe makes the heart grow fonder. A Freudian slip is when you say one thing and mean your mother. Eve was the first person to eat herself out of house and home. I used to work in a blanket factory, but the company folded. The calendar thief only got twelve months. A great gift or coffee table book, there’s no time like the present to order a copy of Does the Name Pavlov Ring a Bell? for the word-twisting, pun-loving humorist in your life.

Other books that might interest you

  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop - A Novel - cover

    Christmas at Rosie Hopkins'...

    Jenny Colgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jojo Moyes will love this warm, funny, moving holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. 
    It’s a white Christmas in England, and Rosie Hopkins is feeling festive: Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, luscious chocolate boxes, and happy, sticky children, and she and her boyfriend are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their families. 
    But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their charming town, all of Rosie's plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she and her loved ones see their way through the difficult times? 
    Sweet and soulful, heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is the perfect novel for the holidays (or any time of year).
    Show book
  • Just Where You Left It and Other Poems - cover

    Just Where You Left It and Other...

    David Roche

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Just Where You Left It... and other Poems is a collection of humorous poetry about how to survive school, parents and everything else that’s unfair in life.  
    From David Roche come these simple and charming rhymes designed to make parents and children alike fall in love with poetry again… or maybe for the first time. It all started with a poem about the agony of poetry recitation, written by David for his son. 
    In fact, all of these poems were written for his three sons, touching on everything they might encounter growing up: exams, school meals, bullying, sports days, embarrassing Dads and nagging and know-it-all Mums were fair game.  
    These are poems for parents, poems for children and poems for parents to read to their children, offering a witty and charming take on life for every stage of growing up. If you grew up in a world of Ogden Nash and Shel Silverstein, then this is the book for you.
    Show book
  • An Ideal Husband - cover

    An Ideal Husband

    Oscar Wilde

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Wilde's dramatic masterpiece set in London. Many of the themes of An Ideal Husband were influenced by the situation Oscar Wilde found himself in during the early 1890s. 'Sooner or later we shall all have to pay for what we do. But no one should be entirely judged by their past.' The play opens during a dinner party at the home of Sir Robert Chiltern in London's fashionable Grosvenor Square. Sir Robert, a prestigious member of the House of Commons, and his wife, Lady Chiltern, are hosting a gathering that includes his friend Lord Goring, a dandified bachelor and close friend to the Chilterns, Mabel Chiltern, and other genteel guests.
    Show book
  • Twenty-One Stories - cover

    Twenty-One Stories

    Graham Greene

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    These wide-ranging tales of menace, tragedy, and comedy offer ample proof that “in the short story, as well as the novel, Graham Greene is the master” (The New York Times).   Written between 1929 and 1954, here are twenty-one stories by a “master storyteller” (Newsweek). Whatever the crime, whatever the pursuit, whatever the mood—from the tragic and horrifying to the ribald and bittersweet, Graham Greene is “the ultimate chronicler of twentieth-century man’s consciousness and anxiety” (William Golding).   In “The End of the Party,” a game of hide-and-seek takes a terrifying turn in the dark. In “The Innocent,” a romantic gets a rude awakening when he finds a hidden keepsake from a childhood crush. A husband’s sexual indiscretion is revealed in a most public and embarrassing way in “The Blue Film.” A rebellious teen’s flight from her petit bourgeois life includes a bad boy, a gun, and a plan in “A Drive in the Country.” In “A Little Place off the Edgware Road,” a suicidal man’s encounter with a stranger in a grubby cinema seals his fate. A young boy is ushered into a dark world when he discovers the secrets adults hide in “The Basement Room.” And in “When Greek Meets Greek,” a clever con between two scoundrels carries an unexpected sting. In these and more than a dozen other stories, Greene confronts his usual themes of betrayal and vengeance, love and hate, faith and doubt, guilt and grief, and pity and pursuit.  
    Show book
  • Goodnight '70s - cover

    Goodnight '70s

    Peter Stein

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Illustrated and packaged à la Margaret Wise Brown’s Goodnight Moon, Goodnight '70s turns the classic children’s book into a baby boomer’s ode to the far out 1970s. It’s the perfect gift for anyone nostalgic for the good old days of bell-bottoms, disco balls, and 8-track tapes. 
    Show book
  • #Zero - cover

    #Zero

    Neil MacCormick

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Zero is the latest craze. Young, sexy and brilliant, he is a multi-hyphenated (singer-songwriter-rapper-producer) superstar for the digital generation. According to his publicist at least. He’s also a narcissistic, insecure, hyperactive, coke-snorting, pill-popping, loud-mouthed maelstrom of contradictions skating over the thin ice of terminal self-loathing. 
    He has touched down in New York with his sycophantic entourage for the launch of a new single/album/movie/tour. It is countdown to Year Zero. But the boy at the centre of the media feeding frenzy is cracking up. Inside the echo chamber of his own skull, he isn't sure he deserves all the attention, doesn’t even know if he wants it anymore and is being driven half-mad by the mysterious absence of the love of his life. 
    As the crucial hour approaches the young star cuts and runs, setting off on a wild trip across America pursued by paparazzi, fans, fortune hunters and his Mephistophelian manager, Beasley. He’s about to find out that when you have the most famous face in the world, you can run…  but you can't hide.
    Show book