Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Blake Edwards - Interviews - cover

Blake Edwards - Interviews

Gabriella Oldham

Publisher: University Press of Mississippi

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Blake Edwards (1922-2010) was a multitalented, versatile director constantly exploring who he was, not only in filmmaking but also in life. Often typecast as a comedy director, he also created westerns, thrillers, musicals, and heart-wrenching dramas. His strength as a filmmaker came from his ability to be a triple threat--writer, director, and producer--allowing him full control of his films, especially when the studio system failed him.Blake Edwards: Interviews highlights how the filmmaker created the hugely successful Pink Panther franchise; his long partnership with award-winning composer Henry Mancini; his principles of comedy as influenced by the comic greats of film history, especially silent comedies; his decades-long marriage and film collaborations with Julie Andrews; and his unique philosophy of life. Continually testing his abilities as a writer, which he considered himself to be above all other professions, Edwards did not hesitate to strip comedy from films that clearly and purposefully explored other genres with sharp, dramatic insight. He created thrilling suspense (Experiment in Terror); rugged westerns (Wild Rovers); riveting drama (Days of Wine and Roses); and bittersweet romance (Breakfast at Tiffany's). He also created musicals, namely Darling Lili and Victor/Victoria, showcasing the talents of Andrews. In fact, many of these films have been considered some of Edwards's finest in his appreciable career.Reinventing himself throughout his sixty-year career, Edwards found new outlets of expression that fueled his creativity to the very end. This long-overdue collection of published interviews explores the up and downs--and ups again--of a sometimes flawed but always gifted and often surprising filmmaker.

Other books that might interest you

  • Help Me! - cover

    Help Me!

    Marianne Power

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I wanted to find out what would happen if I really did follow the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People? Really felt The Power of Now? Could life be transformed? Could I get rich? Skinny? Find love? Be more productive and fulfilled? Because I really did want all the things these books promised. For years Journalist Marianne Power lined her bookshelves with dog-eared copies of definitive guides on how to live your best life, dipping in and out of self-help books when she needed them most. Then, one day, she woke up to find that the life she hoped for and the life she was living were worlds apart—and she set out to make some big changes.Marianne decided to finally find out if her elusive “perfect existence”—the one without debt, anxiety, or hangover Netflix marathons, the one where she healthily bounced around town and met the cashmere-sweater-wearing man of her dreams—really did lie in the pages of our best known and acclaimed self help books. She vowed to test a book a month for one year, following its advice to the letter, taking what she hoped would be the surest path to a flawless new her. But as the months passed and Marianne’s reality was turned upside down, she found herself confronted with a different question: Self-help can change your life, but is it for the better?With humor, audacity, disarming candor and unassuming wisdom, in Help Me Marianne Power plumbs the trials and tests of being a modern woman in a “have it all” culture, and what it really means to be our very best selves.
    Show book
  • A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii Mendeleev and the Shadow of the Periodic Table Revised Edition - cover

    A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii...

    Michael D. Gordin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dmitrii Mendeleev (1834–1907) is a name we recognize, but perhaps only as the creator of the periodic table of elements. Generally, little else has been known about him. A Well-Ordered Thing is an authoritative biography of Mendeleev that draws a multifaceted portrait of his life for the first time. As Michael Gordin reveals, Mendeleev was not only a luminary in the history of science, he was also an astonishingly wide-ranging political and cultural figure. From his attack on Spiritualism to his failed voyage to the Arctic and his near-mythical hot-air balloon trip, this is the story of an extraordinary maverick. The ideals that shaped his work outside science also led Mendeleev to order the elements and, eventually, to engineer one of the most fascinating scientific developments of the nineteenth century.  A Well-Ordered Thing is a classic work that tells the story of one of the world’s most important minds.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin and the Holocaust - cover

    Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin...

    Stephen Koch

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A remarkable story of a forgotten seventeen-year-old Jew who was blamed by the Nazis for the anti-Semitic violence and terror known as the Kristallnacht, the pogrom still seen as an initiating event of the Holocaust
    After learning about Nazi persecution of his family, Herschel Grynszpan (pronounced "Greenspan"), an impoverished seventeen-year-old Jew living in Paris, bought a small handgun and on November 7, 1938, went to the German embassy and shot the first German diplomat he saw. When the man died two days later, Hitler and Goebbels made the shooting their pretext for the great state-sponsored wave of anti-Semitic terror known as Kristallnacht, still seen by many as an initiating event of the Holocaust.
    Overnight, Grynszpan, a bright but naive teenager—and a perfect political nobody—was front-page news and a pawn in a global power struggle. When France fell, the Nazis captured Grynszpan after a wild chase and flew him to Berlin. The boy became a privileged prisoner of the Gestapo while Hitler and Goebbels plotted a massive show trial to blame "the Jews" for starting World War II. A prisoner and alone, Grynszpan grasped Hitler’s intentions and waged a battle of wits to sabotage the trial, knowing that even if he succeeded, he would certainly be murdered. The battle of wits was close, but Grynszpan finally won. Based on the newest research, Hitler’s Pawn is the richest telling of Grynszpan’s story to date.
    Show book
  • The 50-Year Secret - cover

    The 50-Year Secret

    Julie MacNeil

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A beautiful journey with a powerful message.” —Andy Chaleff, author of The Last Letter 
    Julie MacNeil is 6’4”, and although she is neither a WNBA athlete nor a famous model, she has a remarkable story to tell. As an adopted child, she always wondered about the parents who gave her up. After overcoming a challenging childhood and surviving two tumultuous marriages, a chance DNA test revealed an incredibly rare and life-threatening liver-lung disease. Julie then embarked on a difficult journey to find her birth family. Her goal was to warn them about the disease, which is highly genetic and often undiagnosed. What followed was a miraculous sequence of events and a remarkable homecoming.
    Show book
  • This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage - cover

    This Is the Story of a Happy...

    Ann Patchett

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Blending literature and memoir, Ann Patchett, author of State of  Wonder, Run, and Bel Canto, examines her deepest commitments—to writing, family, friends, dogs, books, and her husband—creating a resonant portrait of a life in This is the Story of a Happy Marriage. 
    This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage takes us into the very real world of Ann Patchett’s life. Stretching from her childhood to the present day, from a disastrous early marriage to a later happy one, it covers a multitude of topics, including relationships with family and friends, and charts the hard work and joy of writing, and the unexpected thrill of opening a bookstore. 
    As she shares stories of the people, places, ideals, and art to which she has remained indelibly committed, Ann Patchett brings into focus the large experiences and small moments that have shaped her as a daughter, wife, and writer.
    Show book