Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Crime and Punishment - cover

Crime and Punishment

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, LHN Books

Translator Constance Garnett

Publisher: LHN Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book contains several tables of HTML content to make reading easier.

Crime and Punishment focuses on the mental anguish of Rodion Raskolnikov, an impoverished ex-student in St. Petersburg who formulates and executes a plan to kill an unscrupulous pawnbroker for her cash. The 1866 novel is the first of Dostoyevsky's five large works and reveals the mastery of psychological observation and analysis for which the Russian author is hailed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Introducing Kierkegaard - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Kierkegaard - A...

    Dave Robinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Father of existentialism or the Eeyore of philosophy?
     
    Known as the first modern theologian, Søren
    Kierkegaard was a prolific writer of the Danish ‘golden age’. A philosopher,
    poet and social critic, his key concepts of angst, despair, and the
    importance of the individual, influenced many 20th-century philosophers and
    literature throughout Europe.
     
    Dave Robinson and Oscar Zarate’s brilliant graphic
    guide explains what Kierkegaard means by 'anti-philosophy', and tells an
    illuminating story of the strange life and ideas of a man tortured by his
    attempts to change the very priorities of Western thought.
    Show book
  • Introducing Relativity - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Relativity - A...

    Bruce Bassett

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A superlative, fascinating graphic account of Albert Einstein's strange world and how his legacy has been built upon since.
    It is now more than a century since Einstein's theories of Special and General Relativity began to revolutionise our view of the universe. Beginning near the speed of light and proceeding to explorations of space-time and curved spaces, Introducing Relativity plots a visually accessible course through the thought experiments that have given shape to contemporary physics.
    
    Scientists from Isaac Newton to Stephen Hawking add their unique contributions to this story, as we encounter Einstein's astounding vision of gravity as the curvature of space-time and arrive at the breathtakingly beautiful field equations. Einstein's legacy is reviewed in the most advanced frontiers of physics today - black holes, gravitational waves, the accelerating universe and string theory. 
    Show book
  • My Best Friend My Blanket - cover

    My Best Friend My Blanket

    Charles Schulz

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Against all odds, Linus has finally managed to put down his beloved security blanket for good. Feeling empowered by his success, he opens a clinic to help other children give up their own blankets. He’s in for a surprise, though—as his first client, Randolph, is not exactly what he seems. 
    Charles Schulz’ Peanuts comic strip charmed and delighted millions of fans—both kids and adults—for more than 40 years. In November 2015, a new 3D Peanuts movie will be released—the first in 35 years. 
    Just in time for the new movie, this new ebook edition introduces the memorable Peanuts gang—Snoopy, Lucy, Linus, Peppermint Patty, Sally, Marcie, Schroder, Woodstock, and Charlie Brown—to a whole new generation of readers.
    Show book
  • Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti - cover

    Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti

    Tom Watson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    It's slippery. It's slurpable. It's spaghetti! 
    Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson's hilarious Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti is not to be missed. 
    Stick Dog and his gang of hungry hounds want to play tug-of-war. Their search for rope leads to something even better—spaghetti! Once they get a taste, they must get some more. 
    It will be their most difficult mission ever—and will demand all of Stick Dog's problem-solving skills. They'll need to scale the tallest mountain in the suburbs and sneak into a restaurant filled with people. 
    Dangerous humans—a strange-talking girl, a huge chef, and a penguin-man—lurk around every corner.  But there's more than danger in the air. Stick Dog has caught the scent of something even more scrumptious than spaghetti. And he'll risk everything to find out what it is.A HarperAudio production.
    Show book
  • American Politics - A Graphic History - cover

    American Politics - A Graphic...

    Laura Locker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Following in the footsteps of the highly successful Queer: A Graphic History, illustrator Jules Scheele teams up with Dr Laura Locker in this comic-book introduction to the political history of the Land of Opportunity.
    How did
    a political outsider like Trump win the 2016 presidential election? Why do some
    Americans feel so strongly about gun rights? Is there a role for more than two
    political parties in the system?
    Politics
    isn’t something that just occurs in the West Wing or the gleaming Capitol
    building – it comes from the interaction between state and society, the
    American people living their daily lives. In this unique graphic guide, we
    follow modern citizens as they explore everything from the United States’
    political culture, the Constitution and the balance of power, to social
    movements, the role of the media, and tensions over race, immigration, and LGBT
    rights.
    Step
    right up, and see what lies beneath the pageantry and headlines of this great
    nation.
    Show book
  • Aunty Acid: With Age Comes Wisdom - cover

    Aunty Acid: With Age Comes Wisdom

    Ged Backland

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Aunty Acid is the  sassy senior created to give “the crazy old lady in all of us” a voice  that can be heard from ten blocks away. With her long-suffering husband,  Walt, Aunty Acid tells it like it is and has her own unique opinions on  everything.   Her fanbase is growing by more than 1,000 a day as word on her wit and  sassy sayings spreads across the internet where she reaches more than 3  million people each week.   Aunty Acid is created by Ged Backland and is brought to life by the team  at the Backland Studio in Bradford, West Yorkshire, in Northern  England. Their other properties include the widely successful Scarlett  & Crimson series.  Wickedly witty and wonderfully wise!
    Show book