Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Theatre for Living - The Art and Science of Community-Based Dialogue - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Theatre for Living - The Art and Science of Community-Based Dialogue

Fritjof Capra, David Diamond

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the 2008 American Alliance for Theatre and Education "Book of Distinction" Award.

 
 
Theatre is a primal language that used to be spoken by everyone; everyone included the "living community".


 

Weaving together Systems Theory and the groundbreaking work of Fritjof Capra , Theatre of the Oppressed and the revolutionary work of Augusto Boal , and his own 25 years of practical experience in community-based popular theatre, David Diamond  creates a silo-busting book that embraces the complexity of real life.


 

Some of the questions Theatre for Living asks and attempts to answer:   From a perspective of biology and sociology, how is a community a living thing? How do we design a theatre practice to consciously work with living communities to help them tell their stories? How do we accomplish this without demonizing those characters with whom we disagree? Must we constantly do battle to defeat an endless stream of oppressors, or can we imagine a world in which we stop creating them? Why is this important? What should we be on the look-out for (both positive and negative) when doing this work? What practical games and exercises can we use to awaken group consciousness?


 

Who will be interested in Theatre for Living? Artists; community development workers; educators; activists; people working in social services, mediation and conflict resolution; health care professionals; anyone with an interest in finding new ways to approach the intersection of culture and social justice.

 

"I greatly admire the achievements of David Diamond and his Headlines Theatre. He is following his own path, doing extraordinary and groundbreaking work in several fields, like his work with many First Nations communities in Canada and the US, and his adaptation of Forum Theatre on TV and on the Internet. This book relates the experiences of his life in theatre. For what he has already done, is doing, and certainly will do, David Diamond deserves all our support."  

 

Augusto Boal, founder of Theatre of the Oppressed, author of Theatre of the Oppressed, Rainbow of Desire, and Legislative Theatre

 

David Diamonds work has been an inspiration to performers, artists, community leaders throughout Canada and beyond. The ideas in Theatre for Living are large, daring, challenging; but the steps by which Diamond follows and implements the ideas are precise and accessible. As I read I found myself being taken further and further into the life that is both theatre and the making of theatre, which is to say I was led into how life can be given its meaning.

 

Hugh Brody,  anthropologist and film-maker, author of Maps And Dreams, Living Arctic and The Other Side of Eden

Other books that might interest you

  • Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Rose Impey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    When the world was new and the gods ruled the whole of Earth, a large wooden chest was sent to a newly-married couple with a warning not to open it. The chest was hidden away with the thought 'out of sight, out of mind'. But curiosity is a powerful thing and it can't hurt to have one little look... can it? 
     
    This retelling of the classic Greek myth from Rose Impey has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Peter Bailey and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Sky Ship and other stories: A...

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) 
     
    Brilliant historical fiction from double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    From ships that sail in a sea in the sky and children who witness the deadly effects of a scientific experiment, to a magic carpet that brings about a day of judgement and a year where eleven days are lost and never to be found, this short-story collection will have you on the edge of your seat! 
     
    This collection of gripping historical short stories from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean has beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ian McCaughrean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Red 
    Ideal for ages 10+
    Show book
  • The Thing in the Basement: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    The Thing in the Basement: A...

    Michael Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky school-set mystery from Michaela Morgan. Perfect for fans of Anne Fine and Pamela Butchart. 
     
    There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it's a thing only Mr Crawley can control. There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it flashes and ROARS! There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and surely it can't be a dragon... or can it? 
     
    This mysterious adventure from Michaela Morgan has quirky black-and-white illustrations by Doffy Weir and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • The Miracle of Hanukkah - cover

    The Miracle of Hanukkah

    Malachy Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Miracle of Hanukkah is the perfect picture book to introduce children to the story and traditions of Hanukkah, with text by award-winning author Malachy Doyle and stunning, colourful illustrations from Christopher Corr, the talented team behind Rama and Sita: The Story of Diwali. 
     
    King Antiochus has destroyed the temple and city because the Jews won't worship him instead of God. With no oil left, how will Judah Maccabee and the Jewish people keep the temple's flame alight? Whether you're looking for a gift for Hanukkah or a simple introduction to the story to share with children, this beautiful picture book is ideal.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Geometry - Task Sheets Gr 6-8 - cover

    Geometry - Task Sheets Gr 6-8

    Mary Rosenberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Become an expert of 2- and 3-dimensional shapes with area, volume and surface area. Our resource provides task and word problems surrounding real-life scenarios. Measure angles with a protractor to determine whether they are acute, right or obtuse. Find the missing angle on a quadrilateral. Learn the different parts of a circle and how to calculate the radius, diameter and circumference. Find the pair of lines that are parallel, perpendicular, intersecting, and skew. Calculate the area of squares, rectangles, parallelograms, triangles, circles, and trapezoids. Then, find the volume of cubes and rectangular prisms. Finally, measure the surface area of spheres, cylinders, cubes, and rectangular prisms. The task sheets provide a leveled approach to learning, starting with grade 6 and increasing in difficulty to grade 8. Aligned to your State Standards and meeting the concepts addressed by the NCTM standards, reproducible task sheets, drill sheets, review and answer key are included.
    Show book