Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Lord of the Manor - cover

The Lord of the Manor

Fred M. White

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Fred M. White's novel, 'The Lord of the Manor', is a captivating tale set in the late 19th century England, depicting the complex relationships and power dynamics within a wealthy aristocratic family. White's literary style effortlessly weaves together elements of romance, suspense, and social commentary, making the novel a rich and compelling read. The vivid descriptions of the English countryside and the intricate character development add depth to the story, creating a truly immersive reading experience. 'The Lord of the Manor' is a shining example of Victorian era literature, showcasing White's talent for storytelling and his keen understanding of human nature. His exploration of class distinctions and familial obligations provides valuable insights into the societal norms of the time, making the novel both entertaining and thought-provoking. Readers interested in historical fiction and classic literature will find 'The Lord of the Manor' to be a rewarding and enlightening read, offering a glimpse into the world of the English gentry and the struggles they face.
Available since: 11/09/2021.
Print length: 100 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Footprints in the Sand - A Piper Donovan Mystery - cover

    Footprints in the Sand - A Piper...

    Mary Jane Clark

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's the dead of winter and struggling actress and wedding-cake decorator Piper Donovan is thrilled to be in warm and romantic Sarasota, Florida, enjoying the powdery white beaches, soothing seas, and golden sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico. She and her family are there to celebrate her beloved cousin's wedding. Not only is Piper creating the sugar-sand-dollar-festooned wedding cake, she's also the maid of honor. 
    But a cloud seems to be hovering over the whole affair. Shortly after a bridesmaid mysteriously disappears, a kindly neighbor's car is run off the road and a prospective witness, an innocent Amish teenager, is threatened to keep silent. Then a body is found on the beach where the wedding will take place. With the nuptials threatened, it falls to Piper to unmask a killer. Could it be the wedding planner with something to hide? A doctor and his wife who collect unusual Japanese figurines? The best man, an ex–drug dealer with lecherous eyes and roving hands? What about her cousin's future stepfather—or even the bridegroom himself? 
    As Piper gets close to figuring out who's been covering his guilty footprints in the sand, the cunning killer has already set his sights on Piper as his next victim!
    Show book
  • Sky Hunters: Anarchy's Reign - cover

    Sky Hunters: Anarchy's Reign

    Jack Shane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Bobby Autry has always been a maverick. One of the best pilots in America's elite helicopter unit, nobody expected Autry to succeed when he was ordered to create a unit that could fly better than the Nightstalkers, shoot better than the SEALs, and think smarter than the CIA, but he delivered. He never cared about stepping on toes, only on getting results. But now Autry faces his biggest test. In the past, his strength as a soldier was in being able to operate independently, autonomously, without oversight. But now, he might have to take it one step further––he might actually have to break the law to get the job done. Autry has discovered a new threat to America, and it's coming from the inside. After intercepting a cache of weapons, he discovers that their destination is to be within one of America's biggest cities. A group of anarchists, hoping to fan of the flames of a politically–divided country, intends to transform the World Economic Summit into a war zone. With the time ticking down and government beuracracy slowing down the required response, Autry knows that the only way to defend his country is to break the law, arm his renegades, and pre–empt an insurrection on his own soil. If he isn't killed, he's almost certainly be court martialed, but caring about the rules was never Autry's style...
    Show book
  • The Blue Hen - cover

    The Blue Hen

    Des Dillon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The closing down of the steelworks meant the end of being in work - but John and his pal don't intend it to be the end. 'Keep hens! That's the answer.'
    Show book
  • Musungu Jim and the Great Chief Tuloko - cover

    Musungu Jim and the Great Chief...

    Patrick Neate

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Zambawi, a banana republic in sub-Saharan Africa, is on the verge of revolution. President Adini clings to power whilst his soldiers switch sides so often they don't know which uniform to wear. It is here that student teacher Jim Tulloh arrives to indulge in a spot of character building. Then Jim is kidnapped from his bush school by the rebel Black Boot Gang and his fate takes a very unexpected turn...
    Show book
  • Honest to Dog - cover

    Honest to Dog

    Neil S. Plakcy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The body in the canal belongs to Steve's old friend. Can Steve and Rochester uncover the clues to what happened to him? 
    Number 7 in a best-selling series-- but can be a stand-alone listen. 
    When his college friend Doug moves to Stewart's Crossing after an ugly divorce, reformed computer hacker Steve Levitan sees a way to pay forward the help he received under similar circumstances. 
    But when Doug's body is discovered in the canal where Steve walks his crime-solving golden retriever Rochester, this unlikely duo has a new goal: Find the truth behind Doug's death, even if Steve has to risk the freedom he has fought so hard for to do it. 
    Contains Ponzi schemers, a Quaker funeral and cute jump drives shaped like llamas.
    Show book
  • All He Hides (A Vivian Fox Suspense Thriller—Book 2) - Digitally narrated using a synthesized voice - cover

    All He Hides (A Vivian Fox...

    Ella Swift

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This recording has been digitally produced by Ella Swift, using a synthesized version of an audiobook narrator’s voice under license. As an art forger leaves a trail of deception and death through Europe's esteemed galleries, Vivian Fox—once the thief, now the tracker—must match wits with a killer who leaves no stroke uncalculated. 
    
    ALL HE HIDES (A Vivian Fox Suspense Thriller—Book 2) is the second novel in a new series by mystery and suspense author Ella Swift. The series begins with ALL HE TAKES (Book 1).
    
    The Vivian Fox series will keep you on the edge of your seat with a gripping cat-and-mouse narrative brimming with chilling surprises and featuring a captivating yet haunted female protagonist. With constant suspense, action, and surprise twists, this series is sure to have you reading well past bedtime. Fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, and Lisa Regan are sure to fall in love. 
    
    Future books in the series are also available!
    Show book