Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Henry James - The Imagination of Genius A Biography - cover

Henry James - The Imagination of Genius A Biography

Fred Kaplan

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A stunning biography of the magisterial author behind The Portrait of a Lady and The AmbassadorsHenry James is an absorbing portrait of one of the most complex and influential nineteenth-century American writers. Fred Kaplan examines James’s brilliant and troubled family—from his brother, a famous psychologist, to his sister, who fought with mental illness—and charts its influence on the development of the artist and his work. The biography includes a fascinating account of James’s life as an American expatriate in Europe, and his friendships with Edith Wharton and Joseph Conrad. Compressing a wealth of research into one engrossing and richly detailed volume, Henry James is a compelling exploration of its subject.
Available since: 04/23/2013.
Print length: 620 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dulce et Decorum Est - cover

    Dulce et Decorum Est

    Wilfred Owen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 22 different recordings of Dulce et Decorum Est by Wilfred Owen. This was the weekly poetry project for the week of May 18th, 2008.
    Show book
  • A Girl Called Renee - cover

    A Girl Called Renee

    Ruth Uzrad

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Terrified after her father's arrest by the Nazis, Ruth flees to Belgium.This is the unbelievable autobiographical story of Ruth Uzrad, a Jewish teenager whose life was turned upside down by the Nazi regime. After her father was arrested one night from their Berlin apartment by the Gestapo, Ruth's mother sends 13-year-old Ruth and her two younger sisters out on their escape route across Europe by train to the safety of Belgium.But then the Nazis also reach Belgium, driving Ruth into the French Jewish underground....Later, when the Nazis conquer Belgium, Ruth and one of her sisters escape to France, leaving the youngest sister behind to be taken in by a Belgian foster family. Later, Ruth joins the Jewish underground movement in France and takes on a false identity and a new name, Renee. As an underground fighter, she participates in special operations aimed at rescuing Jews in danger. When the German police set out to arrest her, she manages to cross the border into Spain and eventually makes her way to Israel, where she makes her home and spends the rest of her life.
    Show book
  • The Return - Reflections on Loving God Back - cover

    The Return - Reflections on...

    Lacey Sturm

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's easy to go through days, weeks, even years on autopilot, moving from one activity to another, rarely taking the time to consider what it's all for anyway. Why did God make us? What does he want us to do with the time he has given us? And how can we find out?In her bestselling story-driven style, Christian rocker Lacey Sturm shares with readers the beautiful struggle of learning what one's unique gifts are and pursuing them wholeheartedly. She helps them see each day as a gift from God, find balance in their busy lives, and discover the joy of giving God's gifts back to him by using them to bring him glory.Young people especially will love this openhanded and openhearted take on what to do with their lives, as will those who feel like they've been coasting or heading down the wrong path.
    Show book
  • John Muir: Memoirs - With Original Drawings - cover

    John Muir: Memoirs - With...

    John Muir

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Story of My Boyhood and Youth reveals the beginnings of the forming of Muir's special relation towards nature. He considered the encounters with nature as quite an adventure and at first, paid special attention to bird life. John Muir understood that to discover truth, he must turn to what he believed were the most accurate sources. In his autobiographical account, The Story of My Boyhood and Youth, he writes that during his childhood, his father made him read the Bible every day. Muir eventually memorized three-quarters of the Old Testament and all of the New Testament. In his autobiography, written near the end of his life, he described his life from childhood years in Scotland and moving to America to student years in Wisconsin. When he was a student in the University of Wisconsin, he was a frequent caller at the house of Dr. Ezra S. Carr. The kindness shown him there, and especially the sympathy which Mrs. Carr, as a botanist and a lover of nature, felt in the young manes interests and aims, led to the formation of a lasting friendship. He regarded Mrs. Carr, indeed, as his "spiritual mother," and his letters to her in later years are the outpourings of a sensitive spirit to one who he felt thoroughly understood and sympathized with him.
    Show book
  • My Heart Is an Idiot - Essays - cover

    My Heart Is an Idiot - Essays

    Davy Rothbart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He's continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it's humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits. But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it's his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • 100 Women: A Life Story of Sex and Redemption - cover

    100 Women: A Life Story of Sex...

    Tyler True

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A humorous life story told through the experiences of 100 different sexual partners. The author gives his philosophy on life while describing his transition away from sex addiction to a more fulfilling purpose.
    Show book