Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Old Yeller - cover

Old Yeller

Fred Gipson

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

A timeless American classic and one of the most beloved children’s books ever written, Old Yeller is a Newbery Honor Book that explores the poignant and unforgettable bond between a boy and the stray dog who becomes his loyal friend.  
When his father sets out on a cattle drive toward Kansas for the summer, fourteen-year-old Travis Coates is left to take care of his family and their farm. Living in Texas Hill Country during the 1860s, Travis comes to face new, unanticipated, and often perilous responsibilities in the frontier wilderness. 
A particular nuisance is a stray yellow dog that shows up one day and steals food from the family. But the big canine who Travis calls “Old Yeller” proves his worth by defending the family from danger. And Travis ultimately finds help and comfort in the courage and unwavering love of the dog who comes to be his very best friend.  
Fred Gipson’s novel is an eloquently simple story that is both exciting and deeply moving. It stands alongside works like The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Where The Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh as a beloved and enduring classic of literature. Originally published in 1956 to instant acclaim, Old Yeller later inspired a hit film from Walt Disney. Just as Old Yeller inevitably makes his way into the Coates family’s hearts, this book will find its own special place in readers’ hearts.

Who read this book also read:

  • Teeth - cover

    Teeth

    Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first bite is only the beginning. 
    Twenty of today's favorite writers explore the intersections between the living, dead, and undead. Their vampire tales range from romantic to chilling to gleeful—and touch on nearly every emotion in between. 
    Neil Gaiman's vampire-poet in "Bloody Sunrise" is brooding, remorseful, and lonely. Melissa Marr's vampires make a high-stakes game of possession and seduction in "Transition." And in "Why Light?" Tanith Lee's lovelorn vampires yearn most of all for the one thing they cannot have—daylight. Drawn from folk traditions around the world, popular culture, and original interpretations, the vampires in this collection are enticingly diverse. 
    But reader beware: The one thing they have in common is their desire for blood. . . .
    Show book
  • Sea of Shadows - cover

    Sea of Shadows

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones. 
    Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed. 
    But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong. 
    With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.
    Show book
  • The Summoning - cover

    The Summoning

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.  
    All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don't even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost—and the ghost saw me.  
    Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won't leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a "special home" for troubled teens. Yet the home isn't what it seems. Don't tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? It's up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House . . . before its skeletons come back to haunt me.
    Show book
  • The Almost Girl - cover

    The Almost Girl

    Amalie Howard

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Seventeen-year-old Riven comes from a world parallel to Earth, a world that has been ravaged by a devastating android war. As a Legion General, she is the right hand of Prince Cale, the young Prince of Neospes. In her world, she's had everything: rank, responsibility, and respect. But when Prince Cale sends her away to rescue his long-lost brother, Caden, who has been spirited to modern day Earth, Riven finds herself in uncharted territory.Armed with the mindset of a soldier and racing against time to bring Caden home, Riven must learn how to blend in as a girl in a realm that is the opposite of all she's ever known. Will she be able to find the strength to defy her very nature? Or will she become the monstrous soldier she was designed to be?
    Show book
  • Backstage Pass - cover

    Backstage Pass

    Gaby Triana

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    She's named after a landform. 
    She learned to walk on the red carpet. 
    And now she's playing hostess to the nation's hottest pop star. 
    Desert McGraw hasn't exactly had a normal upbringing. Her dad fronts the popular rock band Crossfire, and her mom is the group's manager. Always on tour or sitting in on recording sessions, Desert leads a life that looks glamorous to most people. 
    But now that she's sixteen and living in yet another new town -- Miami, this time -- Desert is more than ready to call one place home. There's one problem, though: How do you know whom to trust -- let alone what guy to hook up with -- when all any-one wants is access to the band? 
    Funny, romantic, and filled with essential rock-star etiquette (the proper attire for cruising in a Jag convertible, how to introduce new friends to your leather-wearing dad, etc.), Backstage Pass is a look at what happens when real life meets every girl's dream.
    Show book
  • Just for Fins - cover

    Just for Fins

    Tera Lynn Childs

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Tera Lynn Childs brings a delightful mix of wit, romance, and fantasy to her books. Fins, her YA mermaid series, is a great pick for fans of Meg Cabot’s humorous love stories. In Just for Fins, third in the series, half-human, half-mermaid Lily Sanderson has decided to remain Crown Princess Waterlily of the mermaid kingdom Thalassinia. She’s made a promise to help to help Prince Tellin. Climate change and human pollution are causing suffering in his kingdom, and Lily and Tellin have to convince all the mermaid royals to work together to save the oceans. Lily is distracted by the situation with Quince, the boy she loves. He must pass three tests to prove his love for her or they will be parted forever.
    Show book