Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
I'd Know That Voice Anywhere - My Favorite NPR Commentaries - cover

I'd Know That Voice Anywhere - My Favorite NPR Commentaries

Frank Deford

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A sparkling sampler of commentaries from celebrated sports journalist Frank Deford . . . offers a kaleidoscope of sports highs and lows.” —Midwest Book Review   Frank Deford (1938–2017) was one of the most beloved sports journalists in America. A contributing writer to Sports Illustrated for more than fifty years, and a longtime correspondent on Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel, in his dotage Deford was perhaps best known for his weekly commentaries on NPR’s Morning Edition. Beginning in 1980, Deford recorded sixteen hundred of them, and I’d Know That Voice Anywhere brings together the very best, creating a charming, insightful, and wide-ranging look at athletes and the world of sports.   In I’d Know That Voice Anywhere, Deford discusses everything from sex scandals and steroids to why, in a culture dominated by celebrity, sport is the only field on earth where popularity and excellence thrive in tandem. This page-turning compendium covers more than thirty years of sports history while showcasing the vast range of Deford’s interests and opinions, including his thoughts on the NCAA, why gay athletes “play straight,” and why he worried about living in an economy that is so dominated by golfers. A rollicking sampler of one of NPR’s most popular segments, I’d Know That Voice Anywhere is perfect for sports enthusiasts—as well as sports skeptics—and a must-read for any Frank Deford fan.   Named a Best Sports Book of 2016 by Buffalo News   “Frank Deford definitely is worthy of a spot on the Mt. Rushmore of sportswriters . . . As always, Deford’s writing is glorious, hitting all the notes from funny to emotional to profound . . . Once again, his words make sports come alive.” —Chicago Tribune
Available since: 05/03/2016.
Print length: 240 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Best New True Crime Stories - Crimes of Famous & Infamous Criminals - cover

    The Best New True Crime Stories...

    Mitzi Szereto

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Infamous Criminals Caught in True Crime Cases Actors, musicians, TV personalities, and other public figures in the spotlight aren’t always who they appear to be. You might be surprised by just how many have led nefarious, double lives, and have become infamous criminals!Power, status, and a rich lifestyle aren’t barriers to criminal behavior. Yes, people from all walks of life commit crimes. But the people featured here are not your typical neighbors or subway passengers—they are household names and Hollywood stars. Get the stories behind these public figures, both contemporary and historical, who have traveled down the murky pathway toward criminal activity.
     
    After committing their crimes, the world may have kept on turning, but their legacies as infamous criminals remain strong worldwide. This book offers a fascinating assortment of true crime cases from around the world and from various time frames. Like the previous anthologies in The Best New True Crime Stories series, this volume contains all new and original nonfiction accounts penned by international writers from across the literary spectrum, including true crime, crime fiction, and journalism.
     
    Inside, you’ll find:
     
    True crime cases that would make any true crime addict scream in delightful horrorThe stories of Hollywood stars and famous criminals who went down the wrong pathEncounters that feature the cases of infamous criminals like Robert Blake, Jimmy Savile, Fatty Arbuckle and moreIf you enjoyed Mitzi’s last book in her series, The Best New True Crime Stories: Unsolved Crimes & Mysteries, and books like American Predator, and The Family Next Door, then you’ll love The Best New True Crime Stories: Crimes of Famous & Infamous Criminals.
    Show book
  • The Road - cover

    The Road

    Jack London

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Road" is an autobiographical memoir by Jack London, first published in 1907. It is London's account of his experiences as a hobo in the 1890s, during the worst economic depression the United States had experienced up to that time. He describes his experiences hopping freight trains, "holding down" a train when the crew is trying to throw him off, begging for food and money, and making up extraordinary stories to fool the police. He also tells of the thirty days that he spent in the Erie County Penitentiary, which he described as a place of "unprintable horrors," after being "pinched" (arrested) for vagrancy. In addition, he recounts his time with Kelly's Army, which he joined up with in Wyoming and remained with until its dissolution at the Mississippi River.
    Show book
  • Long Open to Refugees Hostilities are Growing in Uganda - cover

    Long Open to Refugees...

    PBS NewsHour

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Nearly 600,000 refugees have entered Uganda since July, fleeing violence and war in neighboring South Sudan, and the flow continues unabated. The overwhelming numbers are straining relief efforts and inciting tensions between newcomers and Ugandans from nearby communities. Special correspondent Fred de Sam Lazaro reports.
    Show book
  • Drawn Testimony - My Four Decades as a Courtroom Sketch Artist - cover

    Drawn Testimony - My Four...

    Jane Rosenberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A penetrating, compulsively readable memoir about the four-decade career of America's top courtroom sketch artist, for fans of Lab Girl and Working StiffJane Rosenberg is America's pre-eminent courtroom sketch artist. For over forty years, she's been at the heart of the story, covering almost every major trial that has passed through the New York justice system. From mob bosses to fallen titans of finance, terrorists and sex abusers, corrupt cops and warring entertainment icons, she has drawn them all.In Drawn Testimony, Rosenberg brings us into the high-stakes, dramatic world of her craft, where art, psychology and courtroom drama collide. Over the course of her legendary career, Jane has had a front row seat to some of the most iconic and notorious moments in our nation's recent history, sketching everything from Tom Brady's deflate-gate case, to John Lennon's murder trial to cases against Ghislaine Maxwell, John Gotti, Harvey Weinstein and most recently, the indictment against former President Donald Trump. Readers will learn how she has honed her unique powers of perception, but also what her portraits reveal, not only about her subjects, but about the human condition in general.Fearless, fascinating and gorgeously written, Drawn Testimony captures the unique career of an artist whose body of work depicts history as it's happening.
    Show book
  • When Benjamin Franklin Met the Reverend Whitefield - Enlightenment Revival and the Power of the Printed Word - cover

    When Benjamin Franklin Met the...

    Peter Charles Hoffer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The story of a unique friendship in colonial America between a Founding Father and a founder of the evangelical movement.   In the 1740s, two very different developments revolutionized Anglo-American life and thought—the Enlightenment and the Great Awakening. This book takes an encounter between the paragons of each movement—the printer and entrepreneur Benjamin Franklin and the British-born revivalist George Whitefield—as an opportunity to explore the meaning of the beginnings of modern science and rationality on one hand and evangelical religious enthusiasm on the other.   There are people who both represent the times in which they live and change them for the better. Franklin and Whitefield were two such men. The morning that they met, they formed a long and lucrative partnership: Whitefield provided copies of his journals and sermons, Franklin published them. So began a unique, mutually profitable, and influential friendship.   By focusing this study on Franklin and Whitefield, Peter Charles Hoffer defines with great precision the importance of the Anglo-American Atlantic World of the eighteenth century in American history. With a swift and persuasive narrative, Hoffer introduces readers to the respective life story of each man, examines in engaging detail the central themes of their early writings, and concludes with a description of the last years of their collaboration. Franklin’s and Whitefield’s intellectual contributions reach into our own time, making Hoffer’s enjoyable account of these extraordinary men and their extraordinary friendship relevant today.</
    Show book
  • Little America - Incredible True Stories of Immigrants in America - cover

    Little America - Incredible True...

    Epic

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the pages of Epic magazine come the true stories that Inspired the Apple Original Series. 
    This program includes a foreword written and read by Kumail Nanjiani 
    Nearly everyone in America came from somewhere else. This is a fundamental part of the American idea-an identity and place open to everyone. People arrive from all points distant, speaking a thousand languages, carrying every culture, each with their own reason for uprooting themselves to try something new. 
    Everyone has their own unique story. Little America is a collection of those stories, told by the people who lived them. Together, they form a wholly original, at times unexpected portrait of America's immigrants-and thereby a portrait of America itself. 
    This program is read by Kumail Nanjiani, Vikas Adam, Ramon de Ocampo, Je Nie Fleming, Matt Godfrey, Lamarr Gulley, Deepti Gupta, Vanessa Marroquin, Natalie Naudus, and Natasha Soudek. 
    A Macmillan Audio production from MCD
    Show book