Pimp your reading experience and read without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
No Good Asking - A Novel - cover

No Good Asking - A Novel

Fran Kimmel

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A profoundly moving exploration of our capacity to heal one another.
 
Ellie and Eric Nyland have moved their two sons back to Eric’s childhood farmhouse, hoping for a fresh start. But there’s no denying it, their family is falling apart, each one of them isolated by private sorrows, stresses, and missed signals. With every passing day, Ellie’s hopes are buried deeper in the harsh winter snows.
 
When Eric finds Hannah Finch, the girl across the road, wandering alone in the bitter cold, his rusty police instincts kick in, and he soon discovers there are bad things happening in the girl’s house. With nowhere else to send her, the Nylands reluctantly agree to let Hannah stay with them until she can find a new home after the Christmas holidays. But Hannah proves to be more balm than burden, and the Nylands discover that the only thing harder than taking Hannah in may be letting her go.

Other books that might interest you

  • Monument Road - A Florida noir mystery - cover

    Monument Road - A Florida noir...

    Michael Wiley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shortlisted for the Shamus Awards 2018 - Best PI Hardcover NovelIntroducing former death-row inmate turned private investigator Franky Dast in the first of an intriguing new crime noir series.Having spent eight years on death row for a crime he didn’t commit, Franky Dast now works as an investigator for the Justice Now Initiative, seeking to help others in the same situation. But when he learns that Bill Higby, the detective whose testimony helped convict him, is facing his own murder charge, Franky is torn. Should he help the man he hates more than any other, the man who remains convinced of Franky’s guilt to this day?As Franky delves further, he comes to realize that in order to prove Higby’s innocence, he must also prove his own. Unless he finds out what happened that fateful night eight years before, the night 15-year-old Duane Bronson and his 13-year-old brother were murdered, Franky will always be under suspicion, and the real killer will remain free. What really happened that dark, wet night on Monument Road?  And is Franky prepared for the shocking truth? 
    Will appeal to fans of GREG ILES and MICHAEL CONNELLY
    Show book
  • Snow Angels - An emotional Christmas read from the Sunday Times bestseller - cover

    Snow Angels - An emotional...

    Nadine Dorries

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Spend Christmas with the nurses of St Angelus Hospital. 
     
    Christmas is coming, but will the doctors and nurses of St Angelus get a chance to enjoy it? 
     
    Sister Emily Haycock and her husband are anxiously counting the days until the signing of final adoption papers for their precious baby Louis. But someone has got it in for them and Emily is about to get caught out in a dangerous lie. 
     
    Nurse Victoria Baker is heavily pregnant. But as the snow begins to fall, has she made a big mistake about her dates and put the life of her unborn baby at risk? 
     
    And who is the figure obsessively watching St Angelus from the shadows? Or the mystery woman who turns up one dark, windy evening, begging for a room? 
     
    In Snow Angels only one thing is certain. Christmas will be anything but peaceful. 
     
    Praise for the Lovely Lane series: 
     
    'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking' Sunday Express. 
     
    'I adore the Lovely Lane series ... Some parts will bring a tear to the eye. Others will have you laughing' Rachel Bustin. 
     
    'A heartbreaking, poignant and emotional read which will stay in your heart for a very, very long time' The Writing Garnet. 
     
    'Fabulous characters ... Gorgeous sentences and sensational plotlines' With Love for Books. 
     
    'Moving, lovely historical fiction ... Absolutely beautiful' On My Bookshelf. 
     
    'Simply amazing. It will warm your heart and make you see the real angels in the world. Captivating, phenomenal and touching' 23 Review Street.
    Show book
  • In the Heat of the Light - cover

    In the Heat of the Light

    Stephen Kearse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    During a brutally hot Atlanta summer, a crew of Black teenagers deals with the aftermath of their biggest tag: an audacious defacement of the United States’ largest bas-relief monument to the Confederacy. They never exactly planned to hit Stone Mountain—things just got out of hand. But as June gives way to July and the temperature keeps rising, the crew can’t quite manage to get anything back under control. Instead, each struggles with conflicting allegiances and problems they’re not quite ready to handle, and they hurtle toward the summer’s end and a future that threatens to pull them apart for good. Meanwhile, two FBI agents attempt to untangle the knot of rage, alliances, and tensions that led to the tag, getting in deep and ultimately revealing their own dangerously different professional agendas. 
     
    Set to a thumping soundtrack, rolling down suburban lanes and congested highways, In the Heat of the Light delivers a new twist on the old story of a crew of young friends drawn in different directions on the verge of adulthood—one that is rooted in Black experiences of gentrification, Black Lives Matter, music, and a mosaic of Atlanta neighborhoods made up of families, food, and overwhelming change.
     
    Stephen Kearse is a dynamic journalist and critic covering movies, music, and American history for media including New York Times Magazine, Uproxx, Pitchfork, and Paste.
    Show book
  • Hacker's Diary - Duty Free - cover

    Hacker's Diary - Duty Free

    Adam Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A debut novel by Adam Prockstem Smith. He is living in Israel and after several months of work in Duty-Free he comes up with an idea how to elegantly rob the place.
    
    As a computer science and computer application enthusiast, he lives the life of a writer in the Middle East.
    
    The main hero in this book is a Hacker and he describes in a diary manner the mind that stands behind a perfect cybercrime. The book has resources, points of enlightenment and philosophical ruminations. It has every aspect of a good afternoon read for every type of reader that is not afraid to be spoken by the intelligent author. Throughout this book, you will learn about Dark Web and elementary aspects of planning a cybercrime.
    
    It is a fiction nonetheless, not a practical guide.
    Show book
  • The Hidden - A British Police Procedural set in 1970's England - cover

    The Hidden - A British Police...

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Monika Paniatowski knows exactly who the killer is – but there’s no way she can tell anyone else! DCI Paniatowski’s team are increasingly convinced that the girl found dead in the woods is the victim of a ritual killing, carried out by a secret society which has been established in the very heart of Whitebridge. Their problem is that without Paniatowski there to back them up, they find it impossible to persuade the ambitious DCI ‘Rhino’ Dixon that treating it as a mere domestic murder will get them nowhere. And so Meadows, Crane and Beresford find themselves out on a limb - cutting corners, ignoring procedure, and running the very real risk that their careers could be brought to an abrupt and dramatic end.Meanwhile, Monika herself knows not only who the killer is, but also that he is stalking Louisa, her beloved daughter. But as she is one of the killer’s victims too, and is lying in a coma – hearing everything, but unable to move or speak – there is nothing she can do about it!
    Show book
  • At the Jerusalem - cover

    At the Jerusalem

    Paul Bailey

    • 2
    • 6
    • 1
    'A very funny book, but never jeering, full of pity, but unsentimentally harsh with the tragedy of old age which institutional kindness cannot cushion' Financial Times. 
     
    Following the death from leukaemia of her daughter, Celia, Mrs Gadny goes to live with her sullen stepson Henry. But she finds little affection or contentment either with him, or with his selfish wife Thelma, or with their ungrateful children. She is sent to an old people's home, 'The Jerusalem', a converted workhouse, green-and-white-tiled. Mrs Gadny is repulsed and humiliated by the home and its inmates: women like acid-tongued Miss Trimmer, the vulgar toothless Mrs Affery, and Mrs O'Blath with her hysterical laughter. Retreating from the kindness offered her by the nurses and the friendly Mrs Capes, she withdraws into her memories, but even their fragmented recollection provides small comfort. Mrs Gadny's only escape from 'The Jerusalem' lies in her own crumbling consciousness. 
     
    Paul Bailey is sensitive to the exact nuance of conversation, the precise detail that can create an environment or a mood, and draw the reader into it. His book is an exquisitely defined miniature whose impression will not easily be forgotten. 
     
    With an introduction by Colm Tóibín.
    Show book