Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Good Soldier - cover

The Good Soldier

Ford Madox

Publisher: Aeterna Classics

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"A Tale of Passion," as its subtitle declares, The Good Soldier relates the complex social and sexual relationships between two couples, one English, one American, and the growing awareness by the American narrator John Dowell of the intrigues and passions behind their orderly Edwardian facade. It is the attitude of Dowell, his puzzlement, uncertainty, and the seemingly haphazard manner of his narration that make the book so powerful and mysterious. Despite its catalogue of death, insanity, and despair, the novel has many comic moments, and has inspired the work of several distinguished writers, including Graham Greene.

Other books that might interest you

  • Whose Body? - cover

    Whose Body?

    Dorothy L. Sayers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the debut mystery in Dorothy L. Sayers’s acclaimed Lord Peter Wimsey series, the case of a dead bather draws Lord Peter into the 1st of many puzzling mysteries Lord Peter Wimsey spends his days tracking down rare books, and his nights hunting killers. Though the Great War has left his nerves frayed with shellshock, Wimsey continues to be London’s greatest sleuth—and he’s about to encounter his oddest case yet.   A strange corpse has appeared in a suburban architect’s bathroom, stark naked save for an incongruous pince-nez. When Wimsey arrives on the scene, he is confronted with a once-in-a-lifetime puzzle. The police suspect that the bathtub’s owner is the murderer, but Wimsey’s investigation quickly reveals that the case is much stranger than anyone could have predicted.   Published in 1923, during detective fiction’s Golden Age, Whose Body? introduced a character and a series that would make Dorothy L. Sayers famous. To this day, Lord Peter remains 1 of the genre’s most beloved and brilliant characters.  Whose Body? is the 1st book in the Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, but you may enjoy the series by reading the books in any order.   This ebook features an illustrated biography of Dorothy L. Sayers including rare images from the Marion E. Wade Center at Wheaton College.
    Show book
  • Mommy Dearest 8-Pack Vol 5 - Mother Son Incest Breeding Bareback Bestiality XXX Erotica - cover

    Mommy Dearest 8-Pack Vol 5 -...

    Amber FoxxFire

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    8 Hot Mother son taboo incest stories. These mothers obey their sons’ every command.
    
    Stories Included:
    
    * Helping My Son Fuck The Dog 2
    * MG 1 - Gangbanged By My Two Horny Sons!
    * FG 1 - Fucking Mom & Sis At The Same Time
    * FG 2 - Filling Mom & Sis's Cunts With My Seed
    * MMC 1 - I Couldn't Believe Mom Let Me Do That!
    * FG 3 - Gangbanging My Aunt & Mom In The Hot Tub
    * MMC 2: Payback's A Bitch, But So Was My Mom
    * FSS 2: Accidentally Came In Mom's Fertile Womb
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 4 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 4

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    There’s no turning back…
     
    The second I spared Isabel’s life, everything changed. I used to deal in death wishes. Now the instinct to protect her charts the course. Because every time I turn away from her, something turns me back. She’s uncovered a side of me that I can no longer ignore. Doesn’t change the fact that she doesn’t belong in my world. 
     
    Isabel’s learning to hold her own, but nothing can prepare her for the life I’m being called back into. With a long road ahead of us, I won’t make promises I can’t keep. She can barely accept the dark deeds of my past—a bloody history spelled out in a ledger she’s more preoccupied with than I’d like. When an old associate sets a dangerous plan in motion, I can’t hide who I really am. And there’s no turning back…
    Show book
  • With Fire and Sword - An Historical Novel of Poland and Russia - cover

    With Fire and Sword - An...

    Henryk Sienkiewicz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This vintage book contains  Henryk Sienkiewicz's 1884 historical novel, “With Fire and Sword”. It is set in the seventeenth century Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth at the time of the  Khmelnytsky Uprising, and presents real historical events interwoven wit
    Show book
  • Juno Rising (ISF-Allion) - ISF-Allion - cover

    Juno Rising (ISF-Allion) -...

    Patty Jansen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A prisoner, a secret he can't remember, and the military force that will destroy planets to get their hands on it. 
    When Fabio Velazquez arrives on the secretive military base on Jupiter's moon Io, he knows two things: one, that he's had his memories erased and two, that he has a secret. Except because of point one, he can't remember what point two is. 
    The portents aren't good: he's hated by his fellow soldiers, responsible for "the greatest f***-up in military history", traitor and human guinea pig. Yet, he managed to be trusted with a secret so big that the military has almost killed him and still haven't gotten their hands on it. Where is it, and who does it belong to? 
    His nickname might be Escape Artist, but in the hostile environment of Io there is no escaping punishment. Or so the military thinks, but they're not the only ones interested in him. 
    A secret base lurks in the cloud tops of Jupiter. They watch. They wait. They will strike.
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book