The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fodor's Essential Germany - cover

Fodor's Essential Germany

Fodor's Travel Guides

Publisher: Fodor's Travel

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For a limited time, receive a free Fodor's Guide to Safe and Healthy Travel e-book with the purchase of this guidebook! Go to fodors.com for details. 
Written by locals, Fodor’s Essential Germany is the perfect guidebook for those looking for insider tips to make the most out their visit to Munich, Berlin, the Bavarian Alps and beyond. Complete with detailed maps and concise descriptions, this Germany travel guide will help you plan your trip with ease. Join Fodor’s in exploring one of the most exciting countries in Europe. 
From the vibrant nightlife and art scene of Berlin to the more traditional region of Bavaria and its capital, Munich, Germany offers beautiful scenery, a thriving cultural scene, and hearty food and drink. Whether you are interested in a scenic drive through quaint half-timber towns, a scenic cruise down a castle-studded river, wine tasting in the country's top cellars, or a visit to a state-of-the-art automobile factory, there's something to see in Europe's biggest country. Fodor's Essential Germany makes it easy to create a perfect trip from start to finish. 
Fodor’s Essential Germany includes:•UP-TO-DATE COVERAGE: Fully updated information on new openings and developments, including restaurants, hotels, and outdoor activities, for all of Germany's top destinations and undiscovered gems, from Cologne and Nuremburg to the Black Forest and the Romantic Road. •ULTIMATE EXPERIENCES GUIDE: A spectacular color photo guide highlights the ultimate unmissable experiences and attractions throughout Germany to inspire you.•DETAILED MAPS: Full-size street maps throughout will help you plan efficiently and get around confidently.•GORGEOUS PHOTOS AND ILLUSTRATED FEATURES: Rich, full-color features invite you to experience the best of Germany, from Oktoberfest to King Ludwig's fairy-tale castles. Other features help you understand what to eat and drink and how to trace your Germany roots.•HELPFUL ITINERARIES AND TOP RECOMMENDATIONS: Multiple sample itineraries to help you plan and make the most of your time. Includes tips on where to eat, stay, and shop as well as information about nightlife, sports and the outdoors. “Fodor’s Choice” designates our best picks in every category.•INDISPENSABLE TRIP PLANNING TOOLS: Includes tools such as a country-level Need to Know planning section, a map with travel times by train, and recommended scenic drives and bike rides. Each chapter also has a helpful planning section with a color orientation map.•COVERS: Munich, Berlin, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Heidelberg, the Romantic Road, the Black Forest, Cologne, the Rhineland, and more. 
ABOUT FODOR'S AUTHORS: Each Fodor's Travel Guide is researched and written by local experts. Fodor’s has been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for over 80 years. 
Looking for guides to other European countries? Check out Fodor’s Essential France and Fodor's Essential Switzerland.

Other books that might interest you

  • The 50 Greatest Churches and Cathedrals - cover

    The 50 Greatest Churches and...

    Sue Dobson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Cathedrals and great churches are among the most iconic sights of the world’s towns and cities.
    
    Visible from miles around, the cathedrals of Canterbury, St Paul’s, Chartres and St Stephen’s in Vienna dominate their skylines. Others surprise by their statistics: Salisbury has Britain’s tallest spire, Wells the largest display of medieval sculptures in the world, while King’s College Chapel in Cambridge boasts the largest fan vaulting in existence. Not all are ancient: Dresden’s reconstructed Frauenkirche opened in 2005 and Gaudi’s masterpiece in Barcelona is still under construction.
    
    Award-winning travel writer Sue Dobson gives us a highly personal tour of their highlights.
    Show book
  • The Girl Who Fell to Earth - A Memoir - cover

    The Girl Who Fell to Earth - A...

    Sophia Al-Maria

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Award-winning filmmaker and writer Sophia Al-Maria’s The Girl Who Fell to Earth is a funny and wry coming-of-age memoir about growing up in between American and Gulf Arab cultures. With poignancy and humor, Al-Maria shares the struggles of being raised by an American mother and Bedouin father while shuttling between homes in the Pacific Northwest and the Middle East. Part family saga and part personal quest, The Girl Who Fell to Earth traces Al-Maria’s journey to make a place for herself in two different worlds.
    Show book
  • London’s Statues and Monuments - cover

    London’s Statues and Monuments

    Peter Matthews

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The streets and public spaces of London are rich with statues and monuments commemorating the city's great figures and events – from Nelson's Column in Trafalgar Square and Sir Christopher Wren's Great Fire Monument to the charming Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens, the range is glorious. Some commemorate events, while others celebrate people real or fictional; some take the form of small reliefs, while others are huge bronzes on pedestals, larger than life-size. Executed in stone, bronze and a range of other materials, London's statues and monuments include work by some of the world's greatest sculptors, and this book is a fully illustrated guide to the pieces and their stories: sometimes surprising and occasionally controversial, but always fascinating.
    Show book
  • Rooms with a View - The Secret Life of Grand Hotels - cover

    Rooms with a View - The Secret...

    Adrian Mourby

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Salvador Dalí once asked room service at Le Meurice in Paris to send him up a flock of sheep. When they were brought to his room he pulled out a gun and fired blanks at them. George Bernard Shaw tried to learn the tango at Reid’s Palace in Madeira, and the details of India’s independence were worked out in the ballroom of the Imperial Hotel, Delhi. 
    
    The world’s grandest hotels have provided glamorous backgrounds for some of the most momentous – and most bizarre – events in history.
    
    Adrian Mourby is a distinguished hotel historian and travel journalist – and a lover of great hotels. Here he tells the stories of 50 of the world’s most magnificent, among them the Adlon in Berlin, the Hotel de Russie in Rome, the Continental in Saigon, Raffles in Singapore, the Dorchester in London, Pera Palace in Istanbul and New York’s Plaza, as well as some lesser known grand hotels like the Bristol in Warsaw, the Londra Palace in Venice and the Midland in Morecambe Bay.
    
    All human life is to be found in a great hotel, only in a more entertaining form.
    Show book
  • Jungleland - A Mysterious Lost City and a True Story of Deadly Adventure - cover

    Jungleland - A Mysterious Lost...

    Christopher S. Stewart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of The Lost City of Z, The River of Doubt, and Lost in Shangri-La—a real-life Indiana Jones story, set in the mysterious jungles of Honduras. 
    "I began to daydream about the jungle...." 
    On April 6, 1940, explorer and future World War II spy Theodore Morde (who would one day attempt to assassinate Adolf Hitler), anxious about the perilous journey that lay ahead of him. 
    Deep inside “the little Amazon,” the jungles of Honduras’s Mosquito Coast—one of the largest, wildest, and most impenetrable stretches of tropical land in the world—lies the fabled city of Ciudad Blanca: the White City. For centuries, it has lured explorers, including Spanish conquistador Herman Cortes. Some intrepid souls got lost within its dense canopy; some disappeared. Others never made it out alive. Then, in 1939, Theodore Morde claimed that he had located this El Dorado-like city. Yet before he revealed its location, Morde died under strange circumstances, giving credence to those who believe that the spirits of the Ciudad Blanca killed him. 
    In Jungleland, Christopher S. Stewart seeks to retrace Morde's steps and answer the questions his death left hanging. Is this lost city real or only a tantalyzing myth? What secrets does the jungle hold? What continues to draw explorers into the unknown jungleland at such terrific risk? In this absorbing true-life thriller, journalist Christopher S. Stewart sets out to find answers—a white-knuckle adventure that combines Morde’s wild, enigmatic tale with Stewart’s own epic journey to find the truth about the White City.
    Show book
  • MIAMI & SOUTH BEACH - The Delaplaine 2020 Long Weekend Guide - cover

    MIAMI & SOUTH BEACH - The...

    Andrew Delaplaine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A complete guide for everything you need to experience a great Long Weekend in Greater Miami and South Beach. (In addition to South Beach, this book includes Miami’s up-and-coming Design District and the Biscayne Corridor, as well as the increasingly vibrant Downtown / Brickell area, Little Havana, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne). A little much for a Long Weekend, but the information’s here if you want to spend a month.
     
     
     
    Updated throughout the year, this concise guide is designed to save you time. 
     
    “There’s an amazing diversity to be experienced in Miami if you get away from South Beach and spend some time on the mainland, and this book was extremely helpful. We found restaurants serving food from Peru, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Brazil, Bolivia—you name it, and cheap.” –Jasmine G., Mobile
     
     
     
    “I don’t care much about Miami. I’m all about South Beach, first and foremost. This is the perfect book, with good restaurant listings and current nightlife updates.” –Willie T., Ithaca
     
     
     
    “The Delaplaine guide books ‘cut to the chase.’ You get what you need and don’t get what you don’t.” –Wilma K., Seattle=LODGINGS, from budget to deluxe= RESTAURANTS, from the finest the area has to offer ranging down to the cheapest (with the highest quality). More than sufficient listings to make your Long Weekend memorable.
     
    =PRINCIPAL ATTRACTIONS -- don't waste your precious time on the lesser ones. We've done all the work for you.
     
     
     
    =SHOPPING – a short round-up of good opportunities
    Show book