Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fodor's California - with the Best Road Trips - cover

Fodor's California - with the Best Road Trips

Fodor's Travel Guides

Publisher: Fodor's Travel

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For a limited time, receive a free Fodor's Guide to Safe and Healthy Travel e-book with the purchase of this guidebook! Go to fodors.com for details.Ready to experience California? The experts at Fodor’s are here to help. Fodor’s California travel guide is packed with customizable itineraries with top recommendations, detailed maps of California, and exclusive tips from locals. Whether you want to get a glimpse of the Hollywood sign, wander among giant redwood trees at Muir Woods, or camp in a National Park, this user-friendly guidebook will help you plan it all out. Our local writers vet every recommendation to ensure that you not only make the most of your time, but that you also have all the most up-to-date and essential information you need to plan the perfect trip.  
This new edition has been FULLY-REDESIGNED with a new layout and beautiful images for more intuitive travel planning!   
Fodor’s California includes:●	AN ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE GUIDE that visually captures the top highlights of California.●	SPECTACULAR COLOR PHOTOS AND FEATURES throughout, including special features on the San Diego Zoo and wine tasting in Sonoma. ●	INSPIRATIONAL “BEST OF” LISTS identify the best things to see, do, eat, drink, and more.●	MULTIPLE ITINERARIES for various trip lengths help you maximize your time. ●	MORE THAN 45 MAPS to help you plot your itinerary and navigate confidently. ●	EXPERT RECOMMENDATIONS ON HOTELS AND RESTAURANTS offer options for every taste.●	TRIP PLANNING TOOLS AND PRACTICAL TIPS include: guides to getting around, saving money and time, beating the crowds; and a calendar of festivals and events.●	LOCAL INSIDER ADVICE tells you where to find under-the-radar gems, along with the best walking tours.●	HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL OVERVIEWS add perspective and enrich your travels. ●	INSIDER TIPS for navigating California’s National Parks.●	COVERS: Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, Joshua Tree National Park, Death Valley National Park, Napa and Sonoma, the Pacific Coast Highway, Monterey, Route 66, Carmel, Big Sur, Santa Barbara, the Mojave Desert, Palm Springs, Sacramento, and more. ABOUT FODOR'S AUTHORS: Each Fodor's Travel Guide is researched and written by local experts. Fodor’s has been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for over 80 years. 
Planning on spending more time in California? Check out Fodor’s Los Angeles, Fodor's San Francisco, Fodor's San Diego, and Fodor's Napa & Sonoma.

Other books that might interest you

  • Rome and a Villa - cover

    Rome and a Villa

    Eleanor Clark

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “These essays gather up Rome and hold it before us, bristling and dense and dreamlike, with every scene drenched in the sound of fountains, of leaping and falling water.”  — The New Yorker 
     
    “Perhaps the finest book ever to be written about a city.” — New York Times 
     
    Bringing to life the legendary city's beauty and magic in all its many facets, Eleanor Clark's masterful collection of vignettes, Rome and a Villa, has transported readers for generations. 
    In 1947 a young american woman named Eleanor Clark went to Rome on a Guggenheim fellowship to write a novel. But instead of a novel, Clark created a series of sketches of Roman life written mostly between 1948 and 1951. Wandering the streets of this legendary city, Eleanor fell under Rome's spell—its pace of life, the wry outlook of its men and women, its magnificent history and breathtaking contribution to world culture. Rome is life itself—a sensuous, hectic, chaotic, and utterly fascinating blend of the comic and the tragic. Clark highlights Roman art and architecture, including Hadrian's Villa—an enormous, unfinished palace—as a prism to view the city and its history, and offers a lovely portrait of the Cimitero acattolico—long known as the Protestant cemetery—where Keats, Shelley, and other foreign notables rest.
    Show book
  • Kaleidoscope City - A Year in Varanasi - cover

    Kaleidoscope City - A Year in...

    Piers Moore Ede

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Situated on the left bank of the Ganges, in the state of Uttar Pradash, Varanasi is one of the oldest continually inhabited cities in the world. For Hindus there is nowhere more sacred; for Buddhists, it is revered as a place where the Buddha preached his first sermon; for Jains it is the birthplace of their two patriarchs. Over the last four thousand years, perhaps no city in the world has stood witness to such a flux of history, from the development of Aryan culture along the Ganges, to invasions that would leave the city in Muslim hands for three centuries, to an independent Brahmin kingdom, British colonial rule, and ultimately independence.  
     
    But what is the city like today? Home to 2.5 million people, it is visited by twice that number every year. Polluted, overpopulated, religiously divided, but utterly sublime, Varanasi is a living expression of Indian life like no other. Each day 60,000 people bathe in the Ganges. Elderly people come to die here. Widows pushed out by their families arrive to find livelihood. In the city center, the silk trade remains the most important industry, along with textiles and the processing of betel leaf. Behind this facade lurk more sinister industries. Varanasi is a major player in the international drug scene. There's a thriving flesh trade, and a corrupt police force that turns a blind eye. 
     
    As with Suketu Mehta's Maximimum City Piers Moore Ede tells the city's story by allowing inhabitants to relate their own tales. Whether portraying a Dom Raja whose role it is to cremate bodies by the Ganghes or  a khoa maker, who carefully converts cow's milk into the ricotta like substance that forms the base of most sweets, Ede explores the city's most important themes through its people, creating a vibrant portrait of modern, multicultural India.
    Show book
  • To Hull and Back - On Holiday in Unsung Britain - cover

    To Hull and Back - On Holiday in...

    Tom Chesshyre

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "… one of the best ways to get to know a country is to take yourself to the less touristy, less obvious destinations. And let’s face it: things don’t get much less touristy than Slough…"
     
    As staff travel writer on The Times since 1997, Tom Chesshyre had visited over 80 countries on assignment, and wondered: what is left to be discovered?
     
    He realised that the answer might be very close to home. In a mad adventure that took him from Hull to Hell (actually a rather nice holiday location in the Isles of Scilly), Tom visited secret spots of Unsung Britain in search of the least likely holiday destinations. He got to know the real Coronation Street in Salford, explored Blade Runner Britain in Port Talbot, discovered that everything’s quite green in Milton Keynes, met real-life superheroes and many a suspicious landlady, and watched a football match with celebrity chef Delia Smith in Norwich.
     
    With a light and edgy writing style Tom peels back the skin of the unfashionable underbelly of Britain, and embraces it all with the spirit of discovery.
    Show book
  • Tracks - One Woman's Journey Across 1700 Miles of Australian Outback - cover

    Tracks - One Woman's Journey...

    Robyn Davidson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The incredible true story of one woman’s solo adventure across the Australian outback, accompanied by her faithful dog and four unpredictable camels For Robyn Davidson, one of these moments comes at age twenty-seven in Alice Springs, a dodgy town at the frontier of the vast Australian desert. Davidson is intent on walking the 1,700 miles of desolate landscape between Alice Springs and the Indian Ocean, a personal pilgrimage with her dog—and four camels. Tracks is the beautifully written, compelling true story of the author’s journey and the love/hate relationships she develops along the way: with the Red Centre of Australia; with aboriginal culture; with a handsome photographer; and especially with her lovable and cranky camels, Bub, Dookie, Goliath, and Zeleika.   Adapted into a critically acclaimed film starring Mia Wasikowska and Adam Driver, Tracks is an unforgettable story that proves that anything is possible. Perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.  
    Show book
  • Reykjavik - cover

    Reykjavik

    Laura Dixon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The northernmost capital city in the world, Reykjavík is also one of the friendliest. From deliciously warm springs and lagoons to its background of snow-topped mountains, Reykjavík is creative and unique. This Footprint Handbook provides invaluable information on transport, accommodation, eating and entertainment to ensure that your trip includes the best of this welcoming city and the surrounding countryside.
     
    • Essentials section with useful advice on getting to and around Reykjavík.
     
    • Comprehensive, up-to-date listings of where to eat, sleep and play.
     
    • Includes information on tour operators and activities, from puffin-spotting to quirky coffee shops.
     
    • Detailed maps for Reykjavík & other destinations in Iceland
     
    • Slim enough to fit in your pocket.
     
    With detailed information on all the main sights, plus many lesser-known attractions, Footprint's Reykjavík Handbook provides concise and comprehensive coverage of one of the most interesting capitals in Europe, and also covers other key destinations in Iceland.
    Show book
  • The Journey - cover

    The Journey

    Sergio Pitol

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Named a "Best Untranslated Writer" by Granta Winner of the most prestigious Spanish-language award in the world, the Cervantes Prize (in 2005) Author is a major influence on the contemporary generation of Latin American authors such as Roberto Bolaño, Enrique Vila-Matas, and Valeria Luiselli
    Show book