Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Tales of the Punjab - cover

Tales of the Punjab

Flora Annie Steel

Publisher: eKitap Projesi

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

MANY of the tales in this collection appeared either in the Indian Antiquary, the Calcutta Review, or the Legends of the Punjab. They were then in the form of literal translations, in many cases uncouth or even unpresentable to ears polite, in all scarcely intelligible to the untravelled English reader; for it must be remembered that, with the exception of the Adventures of Raja Rasâlu, all these stories are strictly folk-tales passing current among a people who can neither read nor write, and whose diction is full of colloquialisms, and, if we choose to call them so, vulgarisms. It would be manifestly unfair, for instance, to compare the literary standard of such tales with that of the Arabian Nights, the Tales of a Parrot, or similar works.   The manner in which these stories were collected is in itself sufficient to show how misleading it would be, if, with the intention of giving the conventional Eastern flavour to the text, it were to be manipulated into a flowery dignity; and as a description of the procedure will serve the double purpose of credential and excuse, the authors give it,—premising that all the stories but three have been collected by Mrs. F. A. Steel during winter tours through the various districts of which her husband has been Chief Magistrate.  - SIR BUZZ - THE RAT'S WEDDING - THE FAITHFUL PRINCE - THE BEAR'S BAD BARGAIN - PRINCE LIONHEART AND HIS THREE FRIENDS - THE LAMBIKIN - BOPOLUCHI - PRINCESS AUBERGINE - VALIANT VICKY, THE BRAVE WEAVER - THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS - THE SPARROW AND THE CROW - THE TIGER, THE BRAHMAN, AND THE JACKAL - THE KING OF THE CROCODILES - LITTLE ANKLEBONE - THE CLOSE ALLIANCE - THE TWO BROTHERS - THE JACKAL AND THE IGUANA - THE DEATH AND BURIAL OF POOR HEN-SPARROW - PRINCESS PEPPERINA - PEASIE AND BEANSIE - THE JACKAL AND THE PARTRIDGE - THE SNAKE-WOMAN AND KING ALI MARDAN - THE WONDERFUL RING - THE JACKAL AND THE PEA-HEN - THE GRAIN OF CORN - THE FARMER AND THE MONEY-LENDER - THE LORD OF DEATH - THE WRESTLERS - THE LEGEND OF GWASHBRARI, THE GLACIER-HEARTED QUEEN - THE BARBER'S CLEVER WIFE - THE JACKAL AND THE CROCODILE - HOW RAJA RASALU WAS BORN - HOW RAJA RASALU WENT OUT INTO THE WORLD - HOW RAJA RASALU'S FRIENDS FORSOOK HIM - HOW RAJA RASALU KILLED THE GIANTS - HOW RAJA RASALU BECAME A JOGI - HOW RAJA RASALU JOURNEYED TO THE CITY OF - KING SARKAP - HOW RAJA RASALU SWUNG THE SEVENTY FAIR MAIDENS, DAUGHTERS OF THE KING - HOW RAJA RASALU PLAYED CHAUPUR WITH KING SARKAP - THE KING WHO WAS FRIED - PRINCE HALF-A-SON - THE MOTHER AND DAUGHTER WHO WORSHIPPED THE SUN - THE RUBY PRINCE  Then comes the need for patience, since in all probability the first story is one you have heard a hundred times, or else some pointless and disconnected jumble. At the conclusion of either, however, the teller must be profusely complimented, in the hopes of eliciting something more valuable. But it is possible to waste many hours, and in the end find yourself possessed of nothing save some feeble variant of a well-known legend, or, what is worse, a compilation of oddments which have lingered in a faulty memory from half a dozen distinct stories. After a time, however, the attentive collector is rewarded by finding that a coherent whole is growing up in his or her mind out of the shreds and patches heard here and there, and it is delight indeed when your own dim suspicion that this part of the puzzle fits into that is confirmed by finding the two incidents preserved side by side in the mouth of some perfectly unconscious witness.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hands-On Art: Things That Go - Drawing Painting and Printmaking - cover

    Hands-On Art: Things That Go -...

    Joe Fullman, Violet Peto

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kids can get stuck into this fab activity book, packed with imaginative art projects surrounding things that go! With plenty of techniques to keep them engaged and excited, kids can rub, smudge, blow, and print amazing pictures. Projects include: • Printing car wheels with bottle caps • Using smudging to create race cars' motion blurs • Fingerprint-painting the passengers of a bus • And more! The combination of clever techniques, handy tips, and accessible step-by-step instructions make this book equally suited to beginners and more confident young artists. Perfect for rainy days, this book provides tons of creative fun for kids aged 4+.
    Show book
  • The Menagerie - cover

    The Menagerie

    Tui T. Sutherland, Kari H....

    • 0
    • 19
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.  
    In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret—until six griffin cubs escaped. 
    If Logan and Zoe don’t get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own. 
     
    Show book
  • Elementals: Ice Wolves - cover

    Elementals: Ice Wolves

    Amie Kaufman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman comes the first book in an electrifying series about a brother and sister who must harness their powers and find their place in a sharply divided world.  
    Everyone in Vallen knows that ice wolves and scorch dragons are sworn enemies who live deeply separate lives. 
    So when twelve-year-old orphan Anders takes one elemental form and his twin sister, Rayna, takes another, he wonders whether they are even related. Family or not, Rayna is Anders’s only true friend. She’s nothing like the brutal, cruel dragons who claimed her as one of their own and stole her away. 
    To rescue her, Anders must enlist at the foreboding Ulfar Academy, a school for young wolves that values loyalty to the pack above all else. But for Anders, loyalty is more complicated than obedience, and friendship is the most powerful shapeshifting force of all. 
    “If you’ve ever wanted to go on an adventure, read this book.” — Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites   
    Anders’s and Rayna’s adventures continue in Elementals: Scorch Dragons, and the dramatic conclusion to the trilogy, Elementals: Battle Born! 
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 15
    • 83
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Survivors #1: The Empty City - cover

    Survivors #1: The Empty City

    Erin Hunter

    • 3
    • 104
    • 0
    The time has come for dogs to rule the wild! Discover another action-packed animal fantasy series from the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors 
    The first book in the Survivors series is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, roaming the busy city streets and relying on his instincts. Then the Big Growl strikes—a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky’s world forever. For the first time, he must team up with a Pack, a group of former Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners. 
    Lucky’s vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series that shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs. 
     
    Show book
  • Balance Keepers Book 1: The Fires of Calderon - cover

    Balance Keepers Book 1: The...

    Lindsay Cummings

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    The Fires of Calderon is Book One in #1 New York Times bestselling author Lindsay Cummings’s epic Balance Keepers series. These exciting fantasy-adventure books are full of magic, mystery, friendship, and humor, and are perfect for fans of books like Brandon Mull’s The Candy Shop War or the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann. 
    Bestselling author of the Skeleton Creek series Patrick Carman describes The Fires of Calderon as “fast paced and packed with adventure,” and Peter Lerangis, bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series, says, “Wow!” 
    With themes of friendship, self-discovery, and courage; both boy and girl main characters; fierce creatures to battle; a mystery to solve; and a boarding school that could be described as Hogwarts Underground, there’s something for every reader to enjoy in this contemporary—and fantastically imaginative—spin on the classic A Journey to the Centre of the Earth. 
    When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.
    Show book