Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
No Way Out - A Gripping Novel of Suspense - cover

No Way Out - A Gripping Novel of Suspense

Fern Michaels

Publisher: Kensington Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A riveting new read that will thrill you from #1 New York Times bestselling author Fern Michaels, perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Rachel Caine, and J.D. Robb.   Ellie Bowman barely remembers the incident that put her into a coma. When she awoke, filled with unease, all she knew for certain was that her boyfriend, Rick, was missing. She knew she needed to get away from her old life and recover in safety. With the proceeds of a video game she helped develop, Ellie starts over in rural Missouri, working from her cottage and trusting no one except her friend and business partner.   Yet even in this quiet small town, it’s impossible to completely isolate herself. Especially when a curious eight-year-old boy, smitten with Ellie’s pup, stops by every day to talk to him over the fence. Little by little, Ellie is being drawn back into the world through the neighbors and community around her, realizing that everyone has their own fears and obstacles to contend with.     But when Ellie hears that Rick has resurfaced, her nightmares return, and with them, small snippets of memory. No one has heard from Rick since before the incident, so why is he back now? Ellie wants to move forward with her life, but first she must find the courage to look into her past, no matter what she finds there . . .  

Other books that might interest you

  • Five Ways to Disappear - cover

    Five Ways to Disappear

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A dangerous undercover assignment nearly puts Dion in his grave. 
     
    North Vancouver RCMP officers Leith and Dion have a gruesome new mystery lying at their feet. Up in the breezy heights of Paradise Road, a craftsman has been spiked to his lawn by his own artwork. Was it an aesthetics-fuelled feud with the neighbours? An enemy from the past? Or the most challenging of crimes to solve: a random attack? 
     
     Drawn into an offside mystery of his own, Dion befriends a young magician, who then seems to make herself disappear. But with the team closing in on the Paradise Road killer, he must put aside his personal dilemmas to take on the lead role in setting a trap for their volatile suspect. It’s a foolproof setup, but even the best laid plans can go awry, and this one leads him straight into a fight for his life.
    Show book
  • Show Me A Mountain - cover

    Show Me A Mountain

    Kerry Young

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A story of revolution and oppression, privilege and poverty, love and betrayal from the critically acclaimed author of Pao 
     
    Fay Wong is caught between worlds. Her father is a Chinese immigrant who conjured a fortune from nothing; her African heritage mother grew up on a plantation and now reigns over their mansion in Lady Musgrave Road. 
     
    But her father's Chinatown haunts are out of bounds and the airy rooms of their home are filled with her mother's uncontrollable rages – rages against which Fay rebels as she grows into a headstrong woman. 
     
    As she tries to escape the restraints of her privileged upbringing, Fay's eyes are opened to a Jamaica she was never meant to see. And when her mother decides that she must marry the racketeer Yang Pao, she finds herself on a journey that will lead to sacrifice and betrayal.
    Show book
  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    After a traumatic head injury, Eve questions every memory and motive in this mind-bending psychological thriller. 
     
    Eve Gold’s birthdays are killers, and her twenty-seventh proves to be no different. But for the up-and-coming Vancouver artist, facing death isn’t the real shock — it’s what comes after. 
     
    Recovering from a near-fatal accident, Eve is determined to return to the life she’s always wanted: a successful artistic career, marriage to the man who once broke her heart, and another chance at motherhood. But brain damage leaves her forgetful, confused, and tortured by repressed memories of a deeply troubled childhood, where her innocence was stolen one lie — and one suspicious death — at a time. 
     
    As the dark, twisted pages unfold, Eve must choose between clinging to the lies that helped her survive her childhood and unearthing the secrets she buried long ago.
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - A gripping escapist thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy pick Dark Winter - cover

    Into the Woods - A gripping...

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 19
    • 1
    If you go into the woods, you're in for a dark surprise. 
     
    Thirty years ago, three girls followed a stranger into the woods. Only two returned. The surviving pair have never been able to remember what happened or what the fate of the third girl was. Local rumours talk of hippies and drugs and mystic rituals, but no one has learned the truth.
     
    This story is just what Rowan Blake needs. He's in debt, his journalistic career is in tatters – as well as his damaged body – and he's retreated to the Lake District to write. Yet even Rowan isn't prepared for the evil he is about to unearth, for the secrets that have been buried in that wood for far too long...
     
    Praise for David Mark: 
     
    'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' DAILY MAIL
     
    'Breathtaking' PETER MAY
     
    'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' PETER JAMES
     
    'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' RICHARD MADELEY, Richard and Judy Book Club
     
    'To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail' KIRKUS REVIEWS
     
    'Exceptional ... Mark is writing at the top of his game' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review
     
    'A master of the dark psychological thriller' KIRKUS
    Show book
  • Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible Optimism - cover

    Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible...

    David Nickle

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    This debut horror novel by the author of short story collection Monstrous Affections “establishes him as a worthy heir to the mantle of Stephen King” (National Post).   Set in 1911, Eutopia “mixes utopian vision, rustic Americana, and pure creepiness. . . . Nickle blends Little House on the Prairie with distillates of Rosemary’s Baby and The X-Files to create a chilling survival-of-the-fittest story” (Publishers Weekly).   Situated on the edge of the woods and mountains of northern Idaho, the tiny settlement of Eliada is an industrialist’s attempt to create heaven on earth. But its secrets are soon to be unveiled, as Jason Thistledown, the sole survivor of a mysterious plague in Montana, and Andrew Waggoner, a black doctor nearly lynched by the KKK, delve beneath the façade of the utopian mill town. What they discover is science warped by ideology—and an unearthly monster that preys on the faith of its own true believers . . .   “A story of piano-wire suspense, grotesque horrors, and, above all, visceral insight into the race politics of American horror, and how they are bound up with the American project itself.” —Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing  Praise for David Nickle   “His stories are dark, wildly imaginative, and deeply compassionate—even when they’re laced with righteous anger.” —Nathan Ballingrud, author of Wounds “David Nickle is Canada’s answer to Stephen King. His writing charms even as it slices like a blade between the ribs: sharp, subtle, and never less than devastating.” —Helen Marshall, author of Gifts for the One Who Comes After
    Show book
  • Murder by the Book - cover

    Murder by the Book

    Lauren Elliott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Addie Greyborne loved working with rare books at the Boston Public Library—she even got to play detective, tracking down clues about mysterious old volumes. But she didn’t expect her sleuthing skills to come in so handy in a little seaside town . . . Addie left some painful memories behind in the big city, including the unsolved murder of her fiancé and her father’s fatal car accident. After an unexpected inheritance from a great aunt, she’s moved to a small New England town founded by her ancestors back in colonial times—and living in spacious Greyborne Manor, on a hilltop overlooking the harbor. Best of all, her aunt also left her countless first editions and other treasures—providing an inventory to start her own store. But there’s trouble from day one, and not just from the grumpy woman who runs the bakery next door. A car nearly runs Addie down. Someone steals a copy of Alice in Wonderland. Then, Addie’s friend Serena, who owns a nearby tea shop, is arrested—for killing another local merchant. The police seem pretty sure they’ve got the story in hand, but Addie’s not going to let them close the book on this case without a fight . . .
    Show book