Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
She May Not Leave - cover

She May Not Leave

Fay Weldon

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Wickedly funny satire of modern love, work, and parenthood . . . deft plot twists and a final delicious surprise”—from the New York Times Notable author (People). Fay Weldon lets her incisive wit loose on a hot issue facing many modern families—child care, and what can happen when that involves having a nanny under your roof. Hattie and Martyn are the proud parents of newborn Kitty; both are in their early thirties, smart, handsome, and, for reasons of liberal principle, not married but partnered. All seems fine at first—healthy baby, happy couple—but when they have to decide who’ll look after little Kitty, things get complicated. Hattie’s dying to get back to work but Martyn fears employing foreign help might hurt his leftist political aspirations. Martyn capitulates when Agnieska arrives—a Polish nanny who happens to be both domestic goddess and first-rate belly dancer, the maker of a mean cup of cocoa who’s also educated in early childhood development. Having her in the house makes life livable again for the young couple, so when problems arise with her immigration papers Martyn and Hattie will do anything to keep her in the country. But will their decision to have Martyn marry her be the trouble-free solution they envision?“Long a chronicler of the war between the sexes, Weldon takes on motherhood and child rearing . . . [Her] trademark acid wit is very much in evidence here, especially on the final pages, which she embellishes with a delicious fillip.” —Entertainment Weekly“Dry, delicious . . . Weldon . . . is far from compassionate—acerbic would be the better word.” —The Washington Post
Available since: 12/01/2007.
Print length: 292 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Adulterants - cover

    The Adulterants

    Joe Dunthorne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of Roddy Doyle, Nick Hornby, and Mark Haddon, The Adulterants is a piercingly funny—and cringingly poignant—take on how hard it is to grow up and how hard it is when you don't. Ray Morris is a tech journalist with a forgettable face, a tiresome manner, a small but dedicated group of friends, and a wife, Garthene, who is pregnant. He is a man who has never been punched above the neck. He has never committed adultery with his actual body. He has never been caught up in a riot, nor arrested, nor tagged by the state, nor become an international hate-figure. Not until the summer of 2011, when discontent is rising on the streets and within his marriage. Ray has noticed none of this. Not yet.The Adulterants would be a coming-of-age story if its protagonist could only forget that he is thirty-three years old. Throughout a series of escalating catastrophes, our deadpan antihero keeps up a merciless mental commentary on the foibles and failings of those around him, and the vicissitudes of modern urban life: internet trolls, buy-to-let landlords, open marriages, and the threat posed by more sensitive men. But the wonder of The Adulterants is how we feel ourselves rooting for Ray even as we acknowledge that he deserves everything he gets.
    Show book
  • Jared Pond and the Kiribati Confrontation - cover

    Jared Pond and the Kiribati...

    Martin Lundqvist

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After a drunken stupor at the casino, Jared decides to leave Australia for a while to avoid the media attention. To pass his time, he decides to confront the murderous lunatic Martin Orchard in his Kiribatian Mansion. However, is it a wise move to confront a lunatic aided by alien technology, or will Jared's latest follies further destroy his reputation?
    Show book
  • Told after Supper - cover

    Told after Supper

    Jerome K. Jerome

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It is Christmas Eve, and the narrator, his uncle and sundry other local characters are sitting round the fire drinking copious quantities of whisky punch and telling ghost stories until bedtime, when...But no, I won't spoil the fun. This is a little gem: Jerome at his tongue-in-cheek best. (Summary by Ruth Golding)
    Show book
  • In A Strange Land - cover

    In A Strange Land

    Anton Chekhov

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A native Frenchman no longer tutors the wealthy landlord's children as they've grown up and left the house. The Frenchman is now paid simply to be around, to be properly dressed, to smell of scent, and to listen to Kamyshev's babble, to eat and drink and sleep. It may sound like a dream job but there's always a catch. Chekhov challenges the reader to reflect on the meaning of happiness and fulfilment, and the lengths people will go to find it. Read in English, unabridged.
    Show book
  • Full Blast - cover

    Full Blast

    Janet Evanovich, Charlotte Hughes

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From bestselling authors Janet Evanovich and Charlotte HughesThe next in the hot new Full series featuring Max Holt and Jamie Swift—filled with even more fast-paced action, crazy characters, steamy sex, suspense, and non-stop hilarityThis time the town of Beaumont, South Carolina, is going to hell in a hand basket. It all starts when Jamie decides to increase revenues for her newspaper by starting a personal ads section. Suddenly, the town gets "all sexed up." The local Chinese-food joint starts creating risque fortune cookies. A trashy lingerie shop opens. The bakery starts making pornographic pastries. Everyone gets the idea that sex sells. But someone has more sinister objectives. Several "unlikable" townsfolk end up dead. And the key to the murders is connected to Jamie's newspaper—especially the personal ads. Enlisting the help of the ever-so-sexy Max Holt, Jamie and Max have to battle raging hormones, a heat wave, a murderous villain, and non-stop attraction for each other in a novel where it's not just the air conditioners going full blast!
    Show book
  • Crooked Little Vein - A Novel - cover

    Crooked Little Vein - A Novel

    Warren Ellis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “May be destined to become one of the great underground classics of the twenty-first century.” —Lansing State Journal 
     
    Burned-out private dick Michael McGill needs to jump-start his career. What he gets instead is a cattle prod to the crotch. The president’s heroin-addicted chief of staff wants McGill to find the Constitution—the real one the Founding Fathers secretly devised for the time of gravest crisis. And with God, civility, and Mom’s homemade apple pie already dead or dying, that time is now. But McGill has a talent for stumbling into every imaginable depravity—and this case is driving him even deeper into America’s darkest, dankest underbelly, toward obscenities that boggle even his mind. 
     
    “Combines the noir sensibilities of Raymond Chandler with the grotesqueness of Chuck Palahniuk’s infamous short story ‘Guts’ and the acerbic social commentary of William S. Burroughs’s Naked Lunch.” —Chicago Tribune 
     
    “Laugh-out-loud funny . . . a deeply inventive look at the undercurrents beneath the mainstream popular culture.” —Charlotte Observer 
     
    “Not for the faint of heart.” —Entertainment Weekly
    Show book