Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Last of the Firedrakes - The Avalonia Chronicles #1 - cover

The Last of the Firedrakes - The Avalonia Chronicles #1

Farah Oomerbhoy

Publisher: Wise Ink Creative Publishing

  • 0
  • 74
  • 0

Summary

A Magical World. A Stolen Birthright. A Forbidden Love. 
 
16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn't seem so bad. 
Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms--including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora's arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear. 
With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever. 
AWARDS 
Silver Medal winner in the 2016 Readers’ Favorite Book Award 
Semifinalist winner in the 2016 Kindle Book Award 
Silver award winner in IBPA's Benjamin Franklin Awards 2016 
 
Finalist in the 2015 USA Best Book Awards 
 
Winner in Wattpad's 2015 Watty Awards 
PRAISE FOR The Last of the Firedrakes"...the narrative components echo the classics; the Academy of Magic at Evolon could be Hogwarts, while the Shadow Guards are reminiscent of Tolkien's Ring Wraiths or Rowling's Dementors...a beautifully drawn fantasy world." - Kirkus Reviews"The Last of the Firedrakes is a magic-filled romp that carries you back to the fantasy stories of childhood...Lovers of classic fantasy will likewise gobble down Oomerbhoy's scrumptious story." - Vic James, author of Gilded Cage"The world building is beautiful...That really made the book more complex for me...it is the journey of discovery for Aurora and the reader that makes this an interesting story." - Readers' Favorite"The Last of the Firedrakes has all the elements of popular fantasy - an orphaned princess, Magical powers, an alternate sphere with seven kingdoms, a young girl with a destiny to fulfil. They are all elements of the Narnia Chronicles, The Faraway tree, The Harry Potter series, Lord of the Rings and a bit of Enid Blyton fun." - Mid-Day newspaper"The Last of the Firedrakes is a fantasy novel that will entrance young adult and adult readers alike... Political intrigue, danger, and deep characterization make for an interconnected epic, enthusiastically recommended for high fantasy connoisseurs.” - Midwest Book Review

Who read this book also read:

  • The Belly of the Wolf - cover

    The Belly of the Wolf

    R. A. MacAvoy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nazhuret, the reluctant philosopher-hero of R. A. MacAvoy’s award-winning bestseller Lens of the World, is embarking on his final adventure. He must unwillingly end a long period of exile and once again take up the sword in defense of freedom. His old friend the King is suddenly and unexpectedly assassinated, leaving the kingdom in chaos. Nazhuret interrupts the peace of his old age to endure the horrors of war and the supernatural realm of the dead. Before his journey comes to an end, he must test his wisdom to its limit in the face of danger and treachery. He is accompanied by his beloved daughter Nahvah and, as Nazhuret’s final debt of honor is paid, he faces the darker side of human nature with both of their lives at stake.
    Show book
  • Femdom Humiliation Bundle (Femdom Humiliation Training) - Femdom Humilation #2 - cover

    Femdom Humiliation Bundle...

    Chrissy Wild

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This erotic story bundle contains extreme BDSM and female domination. It contains sexual themes involving characters who are consenting adults, all over the age of 18. 
    RATED XXX, For readers ages 18+, only!  
    Contents 
    Femdom Spanking 
     
    It was bad enough Bill was passed over for the job he wanted by a woman, but this young woman had already called him into her office to "get things straight" between them. It was a day at work he would never forget.  
    Femdom Sissy 
     
    I begged for my job. Laura said she couldn't help me, unless I wanted to serve the women and do and wear the most emasculating things...  
    Femdom College 
     
    Chad's sole purpose in college was to serve females and complete their schoolwork.   
    Sorority Slave 
     
    Ted was struggling with his new humiliating duties at the pool of a sorority. Was he going to be used as anything beside a human ass crack cleaner?
    Show book
  • Nightingale - cover

    Nightingale

    Aleksandr Voinov

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Nazi-occupied Paris, most Frenchmen tread warily, but gay nightclub singer Yves Lacroix puts himself in the spotlight with every performance. As a veteran of France’s doomed defense, a survivor of a prison camp, and a “degenerate,” he knows he’s a target. His comic stage persona disguises a shamed, angry heart and gut-wrenching fear for a sister embedded in the Resistance. 
     
    Yet Yves ascends the hierarchy of Parisian nightlife to become a star, attracting the attention—and the protection—of the Nazi Oberst Heinrich von Starck. To complicate matters further, young foot soldier Falk Harfner’s naïve adoration of Yves threatens everything he’s worked for. So does Aryan ideologue von Grimmstein, rival to von Starck, who sees something “a bit like a Jew” in Yves. 
     
    When an ill-chosen quip can mean torture at the hands of the Gestapo, being the acclaimed Nightingale of Paris might cost Yves his music and his life.
    Show book
  • Edgar Allan Poe - works - cover

    Edgar Allan Poe - works

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Allan Poe (/poʊ/; born Edgar Poe; January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849) was an American writer, editor, and literary critic. Poe is best known for his poetry and short stories, particularly his tales of mystery and the macabre. He is widely regarded as a central figure of Romanticism in the United States and American literature as a whole, and he was one of the country's earliest practitioners of the short story. Poe is generally considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre and is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction.  "The Cask of Amontillado" "A Descent into the Maelström" "The Fall of the House of Usher" "The Gold-Bug" "The Masque of the Red Death" "The Imp of the Perverse" "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" "The Oval Portrait" "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" "The Oval Portrait" "The Pit and the Pendulum" "The Premature Burial" "The Purloined Letter" a. o.
    Show book
  • War of the Raven - A Novel - cover

    War of the Raven - A Novel

    Andrew Kaplan

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “A superior thriller” set in the early days of WWII, when the Nazis, with the help of Argentinean collaborators, staked out territory in the South Atlantic (Library Journal). An Argentine playboy races down the darkened alleys of Buenos Aires, a German on his tail. He darts into a steamy tango hall and begs one of the dancers for refuge, but his pursuer is unshakable. The German leaves with the scrap of information that had been destined for the Americans. The playboy was a spy for the Allies, known as Raven.   American polo player Charles Stewart is sent to discover who the Raven’s source was. A secret agent in a time before the CIA, he wants to be on the front lines in Europe, not in the back alleys of Buenos Aires. But the Nazis have engineered a plot to turn Argentina toward their cause—and with it, all of South America. The world’s destiny will be decided in the land of tango, and Stewart, mingling with Argentine high society, will be the one leading the dance.  War of the Raven was selected by the American Library Association as one of the 100 Best Books ever written about World War II.
    Show book
  • The Heirloom - cover

    The Heirloom

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    An antique chair comes into a family's possession. But they soon discover that this is no ordinary heirloom. All manner of strange things begin to occur, including shifts in the fabric of time itself... 
     
    In the vein of The Wells Of Hell and The Devils Of D-Day, The Heirloom is a fast-paced, entertaining horror.
    Show book