Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Last of the Firedrakes - The Avalonia Chronicles #1 - cover

The Last of the Firedrakes - The Avalonia Chronicles #1

Farah Oomerbhoy

Publisher: Wise Ink Creative Publishing

  • 0
  • 69
  • 0

Summary

A Magical World. A Stolen Birthright. A Forbidden Love. 
 
16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn't seem so bad. 
Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms--including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora's arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear. 
With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever. 
AWARDS 
Silver Medal winner in the 2016 Readers’ Favorite Book Award 
Semifinalist winner in the 2016 Kindle Book Award 
Silver award winner in IBPA's Benjamin Franklin Awards 2016 
 
Finalist in the 2015 USA Best Book Awards 
 
Winner in Wattpad's 2015 Watty Awards 
PRAISE FOR The Last of the Firedrakes"...the narrative components echo the classics; the Academy of Magic at Evolon could be Hogwarts, while the Shadow Guards are reminiscent of Tolkien's Ring Wraiths or Rowling's Dementors...a beautifully drawn fantasy world." - Kirkus Reviews"The Last of the Firedrakes is a magic-filled romp that carries you back to the fantasy stories of childhood...Lovers of classic fantasy will likewise gobble down Oomerbhoy's scrumptious story." - Vic James, author of Gilded Cage"The world building is beautiful...That really made the book more complex for me...it is the journey of discovery for Aurora and the reader that makes this an interesting story." - Readers' Favorite"The Last of the Firedrakes has all the elements of popular fantasy - an orphaned princess, Magical powers, an alternate sphere with seven kingdoms, a young girl with a destiny to fulfil. They are all elements of the Narnia Chronicles, The Faraway tree, The Harry Potter series, Lord of the Rings and a bit of Enid Blyton fun." - Mid-Day newspaper"The Last of the Firedrakes is a fantasy novel that will entrance young adult and adult readers alike... Political intrigue, danger, and deep characterization make for an interconnected epic, enthusiastically recommended for high fantasy connoisseurs.” - Midwest Book Review

Who read this book also read:

  • Kissed By Shadows (Kissed By Shadows Series Book 1) - Kissed By Shadows - cover

    Kissed By Shadows (Kissed By...

    Lola StVil

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    ***Kissed By Shadows is a must read for fans of A Shade of Vampire, Twilight and The Mortal Instruments.*** 
    Meet Atlas Morgan; the hero who just found the villain of her dreams… 
    A ruthless, demonic army stands ready to attack; to bathe in the blood of all mankind. The only thing that has protected us from them is a mystical river which will run dry by midnight of the winter solace.  
    The paranormal community— referred to as Shadows—has been given seven chances to complete a quest that will replenish the river. They have failed six times. So, for the seventh and final time, the Shadows look to an unlikely source--seventeen-year-old human girl--Atlas Morgan.  
    Atlas has just lost the only person in the world that ever truly loved her—her mother.  Though she is drowning in grief and sorrow, when she learns she is the chosen one, she gathers up the courage to agree to the quest. However, Atlas encounters something far more frightening than Werewolves, Vampires and Witches—love. His name is Kane and she’s shocked to learn that, like her, Kane has been chosen too--not to save the world but to end it… 
    Show book
  • Acorna's Triumph - cover

    Acorna's Triumph

    Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth A....

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Aari has returned! Now he and his lifemate, the brave and beautiful Acorna, can finish rebuilding their once-decimated homeworld. Yet Aari's travels through time have left him oddly changed, and he barely remembers Acorna or their love. And as Aari's actions turn more sinister, Acorna must shift her attention to stopping the destruction of innocents by a vicious criminal. It is precisely the sort of weakness and confusion the dreaded Khleevi have been hoping for, as the brutal insectile oppressors set in motion their final invasion and the total destruction of the Linyaari and the conquest of their world. Though Acorna's heart is wounded, her courage and determination must remain strong in this dark time -- for only then will she be able to rescue the Aari she knows and adores, and halt the bloodthirsty alien menace for good and for all.
    Show book
  • Duty Bound - Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #3 - cover

    Duty Bound - Adventures in the...

    Steve Miller, Sharon Lee

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    "Pilot of Korval" finds Er Thom yos'Galan and Daav yos'Phelium, raised together as brothers, separated and beginning to learn their adult roles of trader and scout. 
     
    In "Breath's Duty," a grown-up Daav must undertake a painful duty of friendship -- find his best friend's ship, which was lost in the aftermath of a space battle, and return it, if he can, to Scout Headquarters.
    Show book
  • Patternmaster - cover

    Patternmaster

    Octavia E. Butler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tyrant’s heirs battle to control the minds of every human on Earth in this thrilling finale of the Nebula Award–winning author’s epic Patternist saga. A psychic net hangs across the world, and only the Patternists can control it. They use their telepathic powers to enslave lesser life forms, to do battle with the diseased, half-human creatures who rage outside their walls, and, sometimes, to fight amongst themselves. Ruling them all is the Patternmaster, a man of such psychic strength that he can influence the thoughts of all those around him. But he cannot stop death, and when he is gone, chaos will reign. The Patternmaster has hundreds of children, but only one of them—Coransee—has ambition to match his father’s. To seize the throne he will have to coopt or kill every one of his siblings, and he will not shy from the task. But when one brother takes refuge among the savages, a battle ensues that will change the destiny of every being on the planet. Octavia E. Butler’s first published novel, Patternmaster launched the legendary career of a visionary, award-winning writer. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Octavia E. Butler including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Knights of Arthur - With linked Table of Contents - cover

    The Knights of Arthur - With...

    Frederik Pohl

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Arthur made it alive through the Third World War. Well, if you can call a computer brain alive. He's not much more than a suitcase and a typewriter, but he has skills, skills that a lot of people want and need in a post-apocalyptic world. So he and his friends are on the run. But is there anywhere safe for them to run to?
    Show book
  • Skirmishes: A Diving Novel - The Diving Series - cover

    Skirmishes: A Diving Novel - The...

    Kristine Kathryn Rusch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The answers Captain Jonathon “Coop” Cooper and the crew of the Ivoire seek lie in the Boneyards. But they must wait for Boss and her team to dive it, explore the wrecks, and piece together what happened in that faraway place. 
    Boss loves the challenge. Thousands of ships, centuries of history, all play to her strengths. In her absence, she trusts Coop to defend the Nine Planets Alliance against the Enterran Empire. 
    But an encounter from Coop’s recent past shows up to haunt him, an encounter he never told Boss about, an encounter that could threaten her future, his life, and the fragile peace between the Alliance and the Empire. 
    A combination of first-person and third-person narrative and flashback segments makes this a complex and compelling story. It’s like having three tales in one, with an added peek into the bad guys’ activities, all of them intriguing, classic science fiction. It leaves the reader eager to explore this universe again and see what will happen next with these characters. 
    —RT Book Reviews 
    The Diving Universe, conceived buy Hugo-Award winning author Kristine [Kathryn] Rusch is a refreshingly new and fleshed out realm of sci-fi action and adventure. And the latest offering…doesn’t disappoint. 
    —Dave Dickinson, Astroguyz 
    “…there's wreck diving, space battling, and even a bit of romance here. Throw in plenty of suspense and several plot twists, and you have adventure SF in the old tradition.” 
    —Bill Crider’s Pop Culture Magazine 
    “The latest Diving Universe science fiction (see City of Ruins, Diving Into The Wreck and Boneyards) is a fabulous outer space thriller that rotates perspective between the divers, the Alliance and to a lesser degree the Empire. Action-packed and filled with twists yet allowing the reader to understand the motives of the key players, Skirmishes is another intelligent exciting voyage into the Rusch Diving universe.” 
    — Midwest Book Review 
    “There’s adventure, suspense, intrigue, and not a few surprises, all in Rusch’s quick, light prose. Boss, as much historian as salvager, reminds one of a Poul Anderson or Gordon R. Dickson protagonist. This is definitely a fun universe to visit: dive in!” 
    —Don Sakers, Analog 
    “. . . a fabulous outer space thriller that rotates perspective between the divers, the Alliance and to a lesser degree the Empire. Action-packed and filled with twists yet allowing the reader to understand the motives of the key players, Skirmishes is another intelligent exciting voyage into the Rusch Diving universe.”                                                                       —The Midwest Book Review, Harriet Klausner, Senior Reviewer 
    “There’s adventure, suspense, intrigue, and not a few surprises, all in Rusch’s quick, light prose.”                                                                             —The Reference Library
    Show book