Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
This Side of Paradise - cover

This Side of Paradise

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Publisher: Ideenbrücke Verlag

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This Side of Paradise is the debut novel of F. Scott Fitzgerald and his breakthrough. 
Published in 1920, the book examines the lives and morality of post-World War I youth. Its protagonist, Amory Blaine, is an attractive Princeton University student who dabbles in literature. The novel explores the theme of love warped by greed and status-seeking. 

Written in an adventurously mixed style, the book's success was driven in part by the enthusiasm of reviewers. Burton Rascoe of the Chicago Tribune wrote that "it bears the impress, it seems to me, of genius. It is the only adequate study that we have had of the contemporary American in adolescence and young manhood." H. L. Mencken wrote that This Side of Paradise was the "best American novel that I have seen of late."

Other books that might interest you

  • The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery - cover

    The Secret Keepers of Old Depot...

    Amanda Cox

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    Present Day. After tragedy plunges her into grief and unresolved anger, Sarah Ashby returns to her childhood home determined to finally follow her long-denied dream of running Old Depot Grocery alongside her mother and grandmother. But when she arrives, her mother, Rosemary, announces to her that the store is closing. Sarah and her grandmother, Glory Ann, make a pact to save the store, but Rosemary has worked her entire life to make sure her daughter never follows in her footsteps. She has her reasons--but she'll certainly never reveal the real one. 
     
    1965. Glory Ann confesses to her family that she's pregnant with her deceased fiancé's baby. Pressured into a marriage of convenience with a shopkeeper to preserve the family reputation, Glory Ann vows never to love again. But some promises are not as easily kept as she imagined. 
     
    This dual-timeline story from Amanda Cox deftly explores the complexity of a mother-daughter dynamic, the way the secrets we keep shape our lives and the lives of others, and the healing power of telling the truth.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery Series Books 1–3 - Deal Gone Dead; Decluttered and Dead; and Signed Sealed and Dead - cover

    The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Lily Sprayberry. Selling homes is her career. Solving crimes, her calling. Now get the first three books of the Southern mystery series in one volume!   Deal Gone Dead When Bramblett County, Georgia's number one realtor, Lily Sprayberry, finds her cantankerous older client dead on the kitchen floor, she lands herself smack dab in the middle of a long-running property battle and a one-hundred-year-old rumor.  Decluttered and Dead When a member of Lily’s decluttering and staging class winds up dead, the small-town realtor takes it personally and sets out to find the killer. But the truth isn’t always pretty, and when she discovers a friend from her past may be the murderer, she vows to find out.  Signed, Sealed and Dead As realtor Lily preps for the annual community yard sale fundraiser, she discovers the body of the newly hired lacrosse coach lying in the high school gym. As she searches for answers, she’s dragged deeper into an angry mob of high school sports parents all seeking revenge and gunning for their kids to sign with the most elite schools offering the best scholarships.  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit.” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • Edward Abbey Bestsellers - Fire on the Mountain The Monkey Wrench Gang Hayduke Lives! - cover

    Edward Abbey Bestsellers - Fire...

    Edward Abbey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three wild and suspenseful novels about standing your ground against the forces of destruction by the author of Desert Solitaire.   From the beloved author and passionate advocate for the wilderness, these three novels follow some very memorable characters in their battles against strip miners, clear cutters, and government agencies destroying the environment:  Fire on the Mountain: A New Mexico man faces off against everyone from the Atomic Energy Commission to the U.S. Air Force in a battle to keep his land . . .   “One of the very best writers to deal with the American West.”—The Washington Post  The Monkey Wrench Gang: A motley crew of saboteurs wreak outrageous havoc on the corporations destroying the wilderness in this “wildly funny” tale (The Houston Chronicle).   “Mixes comedy and chaos with enough chase sequences to leave you hungering for more.”—The San Francisco Chronicle  Hayduke Lives!: George Washington Hayduke, ex-Green Beret, was last seen clinging to a rock face in the wilds of Utah as an armed posse hunted him down for his eco-radical crimes. Now he’s back, with a fiery need for vengeance . . .   “Abbey’s latter-day Luddites, introduced in his novel The Monkey Wrench Gang, are back—and not a moment too soon.” —The New York Times   “I laughed out loud reading this book.” —Los Angeles Times Book Review
    Show book
  • The Willows - cover

    The Willows

    Algernon Blackwood

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Classic horror from the prolific author of ghost stories and supernatural fiction, and thought by H. P. Lovecraft to be the best “weird tale” of all time.   “Algernon Blackwood’s novella The Willows uses setting like a master. This story is considered by Lovecraft and others to be one of the greatest horror short stories of all time. . . . I can tell you it creeped me out more than I thought it would. It’s a simple tale: two men traveling the Danube by boat end up stopping at an island of willows to pass the night, and they begin to realize that they have trespassed upon a land that does not welcome them, and isn’t really a part of our own world. I went in knowing that it greatly influenced Lovecraft, and the parallels in ideas and style are readily apparent in the last half of the story. . . . A beautifully written, enjoyably creepy novella.” —ChicagoNow   “Represents a high point in the development of the horror genre—in fact, horror master H. P. Lovecraft regarded it as the best supernatural tale ever written. More thought-provoking than gory or terrifying, The Willows is a must-read for fans of classic ghost stories.” —NPR.org   “Mind-blowing eeriness . . . [a] slow-thickening, vibrating, vegetable atmosphere of dread.” —Tor.com   “It’s easy to see why this story was revered by Lovecraft and others. It is a textbook example of the classic weird tale, evocatively conjuring the mystery and otherworldly dread that are the hallmarks of such fiction. It moves a little slowly, but patient readers will be well-rewarded with a deeply unsettling slice of cosmic horror.” —My Weird Life
    Show book
  • The Light of Western Stars - cover

    The Light of Western Stars

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This 1914 novel of frontier romance by “the greatest Western writer of all time” was the basis for the classic film starring Victor Jory (Jackson Cain, author of Hellbreak Country).Feeling constrained by her high-society life back east, Madeline Hammond decides to join her brother Alfred at his cattle ranch in El Cajon, New Mexico. But she gets a rude introduction to frontier living when she encounters a drunken cowboy named Gene Stewart. Though his rough demeanor is a shock to Madeline’s refined sensibilities, she comes to realize that he means no harm—and soon learns there are far worse characters for her to worry about. There are some bad men who would do anything to see Alfred run off his land. While Gene tries to prove to Madeline that he can change for the better, tensions in El Cajon are on the rise. And when violence breaks out, Madeline discovers courage matters a lot more than manners on the frontier
    Show book