Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Portrait - cover

The Portrait

Evelyn Chartres

Publisher: Ethereal Realms

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“A vision from the past becomes a writer’s deadly obsession.” 
The Portrait is a Gothic horror about Victoria Frost, an author who develops an unhealthy obsession with her character. As events unfold, her obsessions begin to turn on her and forces Victoria to question her sanity. Is she simply slipping deeper into madness or are there other factors at play? 
The Portrait features a mixture of contemporary and historical scenes with the latter revolving around her muse. In this novel, Victoria will revisit certain scenes using both prose and art yielding new pieces of the puzzle with every pass.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Heirloom - cover

    The Heirloom

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    An antique chair comes into a family's possession. But they soon discover that this is no ordinary heirloom. All manner of strange things begin to occur, including shifts in the fabric of time itself... 
     
    In the vein of The Wells Of Hell and The Devils Of D-Day, The Heirloom is a fast-paced, entertaining horror.
    Show book
  • Fortnight of Fear - cover

    Fortnight of Fear

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fortnight of Fear is one of five in a series of fearsome and frightening collections of short stories. In this volume of fourteen, Graham Masterton will catch your imagination and terrify you until dawn.
    Show book
  • The Devils of D-Day - cover

    The Devils of D-Day

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Unsealing the hatch of a rusty old WWII tank will unleash a demonic nightmare in this novel by “the master of modern horror” (Library Journal).   Thirty-five years have passed since the Allied invasion of Normandy on D-Day turned the tide of World War II against Adolf Hitler and the Nazi Reich, and it’s been more than three decades since the residents of the tiny French village of Le Vey witnessed the horrific slaughter of hundreds of German soldiers by thirteen black tanks. One of the tanks remains on the outskirts of town—its hatch mysteriously sealed, trapping its controller inside—only to be discovered by American surveyor and cartographer Dan McCook.   Driven by curiosity and an inexplicable compulsion, McCook is about to do the unthinkable and release what lives within the tank upon an unsuspecting world. And once the monstrous occupant reunites with others of its demonic kind, a new world war will begin, one that threatens to wash the earth in blood and drag every man, woman, and child through the fiery gates of hell.   A chilling and ingeniously original tale of demonic possession and apocalyptic possibilities, The Devils of D-Day is classic horror at its best, from the award-winning author of The Manitou.
    Show book
  • Fortified Dreams - Dreams and Reality #11 - cover

    Fortified Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    There is a conspiracy afoot, one involving some of the most dangerous people on the planet. A network of organized serial killers exists; Aislinn Cain and the SCTU have found evidence of it. Yet, they have very few leads.  
     
    Until the serial killers go on the offensive and Aislinn Cain wakes up to find herself living her worst fears. They have stormed the Federal Offices where Nyleena Clachan works and staged an uprising within the serial killer prison, The Fortress.  
     
    To bring an end to this madness and find out who is behind it all, sacrifices will have to be made. The costs will be high as Aislinn and the team go up against some of the baddest serial killers that exist.
    Show book
  • Immortal Ever After - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Immortal Ever After - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 11
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands enthralls with Immortal Ever After, the latest entry in her sizzling paranormal vampire series featuring the wickedly alluring Argeneau family. 
    When Valerie is saved by the Argenau rescue team after being kidnapped by an immortal madman, Anders finds himself captivated by the strong, sultry woman. Engaged in a steamy affair, he promises to do everything in his power to protect Valerie while her abductor is still at large—and on the hunt. 
    Sexy, fun, and full of passion, Lynsay Sands’s Immortal Ever After delivers a tantalizing adventure and a smoldering romance.
    Show book
  • Charnel House - cover

    Charnel House

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Edgar Award Finalist: A demon is intent on devouring the world—and it’s up to a small group of believers in San Francisco to stop it.   A desperate and terrified old man appears at the office of John Hyatt at the San Francisco Department of Sanitation with a chilling complaint. His house, Seymour Willis insists, is breathing. Hyatt suspects a rat infestation but the truth is worse. Much worse. An ancient demon out of darkest Native American folklore lives within the walls and floorboards of Willis’s home—an all-powerful malevolent being determined to break free and wreak havoc on the City by the Bay.   Soon a tiny cadre of believers in the impossible—including Hyatt, Willis, and a Native American shaman—hold the fate of all humanity in their hands. The monster’s hunger for blood and flesh is insatiable and it is determined to escape its prison and become whole. And once it does, the entire world will be its feeding ground.   A haunted house story like no other—a gory and terrifying tale of demonic possession—this award-winning supernatural thriller by the acclaimed author of The Manitou provides substantial chills on every page. A tale of unrelenting terror reminiscent of the works of H. P. Lovecraft, Graham Masterton’s Charnel House will haunt your dreams long after you’ve turned the final page.  
    Show book