Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Leonardo Da Vinci - cover

Leonardo Da Vinci

Eugène Müntz

Publisher: Parkstone International

  • 4
  • 17
  • 0

Summary

Was Leonardo’s pronounced vocation for scientific research a help or a hindrance to him as an artist? It is normal to quote him as an example of scientific and artistic theory joined together. In him, genius took on a new meaning combining reason that actually reinforced the imagination and the emotions. A profound savant and an incomparable creator, he was the only man in the history of mankind who has at once delved into the most radiant beauty and who has united the science of Aristotle with the art of Phidias.
Studying nature with passion and all the independence proper to his character, Leonardo da Vinci did not fail to combine precision with liberty and truth with beauty. The master’s reason of being and glory consist in this final emancipation, this perfect mastery of modeling, of illumination, and of expression, and of this breadth and freedom. Others may have struck out new paths also, but none traveled further or mounted higher than this master of Renaissance art.

Other books that might interest you

  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    Rosie Anderson was hoping to whisk her young son Danny away for a lovely Christmas with family, far from the hustle and bustle of her life in London. But then her boss at the head office – aka Susan the Sacker – suddenly assigns her to go in incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being closed permanently. Rosie doesn't know why The Old Bell Inn is performing so badly but it's on her to sort it out!
     
    Hours in the car later, Rosie arrives at the inn to find she's been double booked – there are no rooms left. And she isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale. 
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • 365 Ways to Be Happy - Inspiration and Motivation for Every Day - cover

    365 Ways to Be Happy -...

    Summersdale Publishers

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    Do you want to be a joyful, more positive you? Tap into your inner optimist every day with this uplifting collection of motivating tips, mood-boosting activities, wise words and affirmations. From moments of delight to long-term emotional well-being, this book will help you find your happiness.
    Show book
  • Goodnight '70s - cover

    Goodnight '70s

    Peter Stein

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Illustrated and packaged à la Margaret Wise Brown’s Goodnight Moon, Goodnight '70s turns the classic children’s book into a baby boomer’s ode to the far out 1970s. It’s the perfect gift for anyone nostalgic for the good old days of bell-bottoms, disco balls, and 8-track tapes. 
    Show book
  • Inspired by - cover

    Inspired by

    Kathryn Ireland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kathryn M. Ireland shows journeys she has taken and the places and people that inspire her creativity, from rural England to Southwest France, from the East Coast U.S. to the West Coast. Mixing textiles and fabrics with furnishings gathered on trips to Morocco, France, London and other international destinations, Kathryn creates sophisticated but welcoming room designs in the States and abroad, from city apartments to ranch homes and French farm houses.
    Show book
  • Around the World in 80 Trains - A 45000-Mile Adventure - cover

    Around the World in 80 Trains -...

    Monisha Rajesh

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    WINNER OF THE NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELLER AWARD FOR BEST TRAVEL BOOK 
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE STANFORD DOLMAN TRAVEL BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 
     
     
    'Monisha Rajesh has chosen one of the best ways of seeing the world. Never too fast, never too slow, her journey does what trains do best. Getting to the heart of things. Prepare for a very fine ride' Michael Palin 
     
    From the cloud-skimming heights of Tibet's Qinghai railway to silk-sheeted splendour on the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express, Around the World in 80 Trains is a celebration of the glory of train travel and a witty and irreverent look at the world.   
     
    Packing up her rucksack – and her fiancé, Jem – Monisha Rajesh embarks on an unforgettable adventure that takes her from London's St Pancras station to the vast expanses of Russia and Mongolia, North Korea, Canada, Kazakhstan, and beyond. The journey is one of constant movement and mayhem, as the pair strike up friendships and swap stories with the hilarious, irksome and ultimately endearing travellers they meet on board, all while taking in some of the earth's most breathtaking views.
    Show book
  • The Life of the Bee - Nobel prize in Literature - cover

    The Life of the Bee - Nobel...

    Maurice Maeterlinck, Alfred Sutro

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “If the bee disappeared off the face of the earth, man would only have four years left to live.”
    
    Maurice Maeterlinck received the 1911 Nobel Prize for Literature, for this excellent book about the life of bees. Far from being an entomologist’s study paper, this magnificent poetic work puts the nature of this very special insect centre stage.
    The Life of the Bee constitutes a real philosophical voyage of discovery about the plant world and more particularly, these social insects. This original text is surprising by it’s scientific precision and accuracy. Maeterlinck's meticulous observations lead us to a veritable masterpiece of descriptions and fundamental questions, bringing into question the observer and the observed.
    Indeed, the analogies that he uses between the animal kingdom and that of men, make us humble and inquiring, moved and pensive. This portrayal of the hive and the bees becomes at the same time poetic, philosophical and political.
    Moving between wonder and knowledge, Maeterlinck asks us to preserve the links that unite us with nature. Now that an ecological disaster is threatening to destroy this fragile harmony, this book is well worth reading.
     
    Show book