Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mexican Cookbook - cover

Mexican Cookbook

Erna Fergusson

Publisher: University of New Mexico Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When it was first published in 1934, Erna Fergusson's Mexican Cookbook made authentic Mexican recipes accessible to cooks nationwide--including celebrated favorites such as enchiladas, chile rellenos, and carne adovada, as well as the simple, rustic foods traditionally prepared and served in New Mexican homes. 
Inspired by the delight and enthusiasm with which visitors to the Southwest partook of the region's cuisine, this popular cookbook remains an enduring tribute to the ambience and spirit of territorial New Mexico.

Other books that might interest you

  • Grilled Cheese - 50 Recipes to Make You Melt - cover

    Grilled Cheese - 50 Recipes to...

    Marlena Spieler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Toasted golden in a pan or browned to melty perfection under the broiler, grilled cheese is the ultimate comfort food—and a meal in itself. And believe it or not, it just got better. Author Marlena Spieler has created 50 mouthwatering new takes on this fromagophile's favorite. Her tantalizing pairings range from hearty Sage Sausage and Jack Cheese with Preserved Lemon to Melted Alpenzell, Emmentaler, Pear, and Cumin. There are also plenty of new twists on the tried and true, such as Smoky Bacon and Cheddar with Chipotle Relish or Fresh Mozzarella, Prosciutto, and Fig Jam. Oozing with cheese suggestions, an array of quick-to-make mustards, and tips on choosing the perfect bread for each sandwich, this collection will make anyone stand up and say "cheese!"
    Show book
  • The Drinkable Globe - The Indispensable Guide to the Wide World of Booze - cover

    The Drinkable Globe - The...

    Jeff Cioletti

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jeff Cioletti is an accomplished beverage expert - including being an international kikisake-shi (sake sommelier) - and journalist.
    
     
    The research presented in this book has been experienced fully through Jeff's travels and study of international drinking culture.
    Show book
  • My Prairie Cookbook - Memories and Frontier Food from My Little House to Yours - cover

    My Prairie Cookbook - Memories...

    Melissa Gilbert, Dane Holweger

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of 80 comforting recipes from the star of Little House on the Prairie.   From prairie breakfasts and picnic lunches to treats inspired by Nellie’s restaurant, these simple and delicious dishes—crispy fried chicken, pot roasts, cornbread, apple pie, and more—present Bonnet Heads (aka die-hard Little House fans) with the chance to eat like the Ingalls family.   Actress Melissa Gilbert’s personal recollections and memorabilia, including behind-the-scenes stories, anecdotes, and more than 75 treasured scrapbook images, accompany the recipes. With answers to the most-asked questions from fans—on topics such as the biggest bloopers, on-set romances, and what Michael Landon was really like—My Prairie Cookbook is a cherished memento for fans of Little House and Laura Ingalls Wilder, as well as anyone who loves hearty, simple home cooking.   “Melissa’s writing is so warm and personal that it makes me feel like I’m being wrapped in a big, warm blanket, and the recipes are approachable and delicious.” —Jennifer Garner
    Show book
  • Meatloaf - Recipes for Everyone's Favorite - cover

    Meatloaf - Recipes for...

    Maryana Vollstedt

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Everyone loves meatloaf. It's the ultimate in homey comfort food, easy to make and, with a fluffy mound of mashed potatoes and some gravy, about as close to heaven as a meal can get. Maryana Vollstedt, author of such comforting favorites as Big Book of Casseroles and Big Book of Easy Suppers, presents her favorite recipes, including a classic loaf using a mixture of ground beef and sausage; a lively version with a horseradish-crumb topping; and an Asian-style meatloaf with a hoisin-soy sauce (and a spicy touch of wasabi for more adventurous folks). Others showcase poultry, lamb, or fish and there are also vegetarian selections. Recipes for the perfect side dish accompaniment round out this satisfying book.
    Show book
  • Southern Cakes - Sweet and Irresistible Recipes for Everyday Celebrations - cover

    Southern Cakes - Sweet and...

    Nancie McDermott

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Taste the chocolatey goodness of Mississippi Mud or marvel at the extravagant elegance of the Lady Baltimore and there will be no doubt that Southerners know how to bake a cake. Here are 65 recipes for some of the most delicious ever. Jam cakes and jelly rolls; humble pear bread and peanut cake; whole chapters on both chocolate and coconut cakeseach moist and delicious forkful represents the spirit of the South. A Baking 101 section offers the cake basics, some finishing touches (that means frosting and lots of it!), and the how-to's of storing each lovely concoction so that the last slice tastes as fresh and delightful as the first.
    Show book
  • Delights and Prejudices - cover

    Delights and Prejudices

    James Beard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A richly evocative memoir from the man whom the New York Times dubbed the “dean of American cookery,” recalling the flavors of his past In this delightful culinary journey, James Beard takes us back to the earliest days of his childhood when he started developing his precocious palate and lifelong “taste memories”—the ability to savor and remember the tastes and sensations of food. His enthusiasm for flavors, no matter how bold, would define Beard for the rest of his life.   From devouring a raw onion as an infant to scouring the globe in search of local flavors as an adult, Delights and Prejudices is full of witty and illuminating stories that open a door into the world of one of America’s first and perhaps greatest epicures.   Packed with more than one hundred fifty recipes, including corn chili soufflé, fried oysters, and peach preserves, this very personal account of his life is as close to an autobiography as Beard ever penned. For those who love to cook or simply love to eat, there remains no better teacher than James Beard.
    Show book