Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Forever Erma - Best-Loved Writing From America's Favorite Humorist - cover

Forever Erma - Best-Loved Writing From America's Favorite Humorist

Erma Bombeck

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

New York Times Bestseller: This anthology of Erma Bombeck’s most memorable and humorous essays is a tribute to one of America’s sharpest wits. When she began writing her regular newspaper column in 1965, Erma Bombeck’s goal was to make housewives laugh. Thirty years later, she had published more than four thousand columns, and earned countless laughs—from housewives, presidents, and everyone in between. With grace, good humor, and razor-sharp prose, she gently skewered every aspect of the American family. This collection holds the best of her columns—not just her famous quips, but also the heartbreaking observations that gave her writing such weight. In 1969, Erma wrote: “screaming kids, unpaid bills, green leftovers, husbands behind newspapers, basketballs in the bathroom. They’re real . . . they’re warm . . . they’re the only bit of normalcy left in this cockeyed world, and I’m going to cling to it like life itself.” With what Publishers Weekly calls her “infectious sense of human absurdity,” Erma Bombeck’s writing remains a timeless examination of the still-cockeyed world. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erma Bombeck including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.

Other books that might interest you

  • Girl's World - Twenty-One Sewing Projects to Make for Little Girls - cover

    Girl's World - Twenty-One Sewing...

    Jennifer Paganelli

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jennifer Paganelli designs one of the most popular fabric lines in the crafting marketplace. In Girl's World, her debut book, she presents twenty-one adorable sewing projects to make for little girlsfrilly dresses, ruffled pillows, bed canopies, stuffed animals, and more! Each project features Jennifer's fresh, feminine flair in sizes and styles perfect for toddlers to tweens. With step-by-step instructions, a comprehensive techniques section, and simple sizing charts ranging from extra-small to extra-large, this ebook is exceptionally easy to use. Featuring whimsical design, lush color photos, and downloadable patterns, Girl's World makes sewing girly goodies a joy for crafters of all levels.
    Show book
  • Orc Warfare - cover

    Orc Warfare

    Chris Pramas

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    To defeat your enemy, you must understand him. This volume offers an indispensable analysis of the most vicious killers of all orcs. Born and bred for war, they are an awful, brutish, violent species and, despite their constant infighting and backstabbing, their horde armies remain a dire threat to all races. To them, war is life. Beginning with an examination of the fighting methods of the individual orc warrior, the book expands to look at how they do battle in their small warbands and in vast armies. Using vivid, illuminating illustrations, it reveals the tactics, technology and disposition of all the orc troop types, from lightly armed archers and heavily armored shock troops to their wolf cavalry and siege engines, uncovering startling regional variations and highly specialized fighters such as beserkers and battle shamans. Finally, it will explore specific key battles that orcs have fought in to develop the fullest possible understanding of these loathsome, terrifying creatures and the ways in which they go to war.
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • A History of London in 100 Places - cover

    A History of London in 100 Places

    David Long

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Shaped by invasion, occupation, and immigration, by upheavals as diverse as the Great Fire, the Blitz, and the Big Bang, London’s history is unmatched for variety and drama. Choosing 100 places that best tell this incredible story, David Long shares his passion and expert knowledge of the city. From the early modern frost fairs, Victorian stations, and Saxon burial grounds to medieval plague pits, Roman barges, and modern business megaliths, each place gives a unique insight into a critical period of London’s evolution. With this detailed guide, readers will discover little-known gems among the famous landmarks and the hidden stories locked within. Illustrated throughout with beautiful black and white drawings and maps, this is the perfect companion for the armchair explorer as well as anyone wanting to discover the history of London with their feet.
    Show book
  • Not For Tourists Guide to London 2017 - cover

    Not For Tourists Guide to London...

    Not For Tourists

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Whether you’ve called London your home for decades or just arrived last night, there’s information in the Not For Tourists Guide to London that you need to know. This map-based, neighborhood-by-neighborhood guide will help you master this amazing city like an expert. Packed with over 150 maps and thousands of listings for restaurants, shops, theaters, and under-the-radar spots, you won’t find a better guide to London.Want to score tickets to a big Arsenal or Chelsea football match? NFT has you covered. How about royal sightseeing at Buckingham Palace? We’ve got that, too. The best Indian restaurant, theater experience, bookstore, or cultural site—whatever you need—NFT puts it at your fingertips. This light and portable guide also features:•  An invaluable street index•  A foldout map of the London Underground and bus system•  Profiles of over 100 neighborhoods•  Listings for museums, landmarks, the best shopping, and moreYou don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to solve the mysteries of London: NFT has all the answers!
    Show book
  • When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea: A Memoir - cover

    When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea:...

    David Nunan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whoever coined the phrase 'the middle of nowhere' must have had Broken Hill in mind, because that's where it was -- and still is, although the Road to Nowhere is now all-weather tarmac. Seven hundred miles due west of Sydney. Three hundred and thirty miles northeast of Adelaide. It sprawls about the low range of lode-bearing hills, and, when I was a child, was dominated by the artificial mountains of skimp, grey silt-like stuff that was left over once the ore was extracted from the mines. Most of the skimp dumps are gone now, reprocessed, when extraction techniques improved, for the ore they still contained. To me the town is all the poorer for their demise.
    
    	It was here that the mighty BHP-Billiton, largest resource company in the world, was born. It is also where I first saw the light of day -- although, unlike BHP (Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd.), my appearance in this place at that time was purely coincidental. This collection of stories is a memoir of what it was like to grow up in Broken Hill in the 1950s and 1960s. It was prompted by a question from one of my daughters, who grew up in a very different time and place. 'What was it like?' she asked. 'Back there. Back then.'
    
    	* * * 
    	This is acclaimed linguist and author David Nunan’s fascinating account of growing up in the Australian outback in the 1950s and 1960s.
    
    	(Publisher’s note: Spellings and vocabulary are Australian English; a glossary of terms that may be unfamiliar to North Americans is provided at the back of the book.)
    Show book