Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Hangman - cover

Hangman

Erin Lee, Sara Schoen

Publisher: Crazy Ink

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Hangman 
A suspense thriller 
by International Bestselling authors Erin Lee and Sara Schoen 
The Hangman has returned to Haven. After a killing spree that ended with twelve people dead, he vanished. Almost ten years have passed with no new evidence, no fresh information on the killer’s identity and only one clue. 
It’s a simple word: Unpublicized.  
Even that hasn’t given police much to go on. But if they looked closely, they could have stopped him. And one woman still can. 
Elizabeth Walsh had investigated the The Hangman’s killings even before the academy. Over the years, she’s surmised the following: His kills are random, no one knows what brings on sudden sprees and very few people know how he got his name. She knows that the twelve people he killed assisted in playing a deadly game. Now, The Hangman wants to play with her. 
It’s a simple game: “Let’s play.” 
He leaves four blank letters on her front door. 
“Four letter word for challenge.” 
D.A.R.E

Other books that might interest you

  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • The Return - cover

    The Return

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A gripping, inventive thriller about justice and retribution set in Paris thirty years after World War II   Anna Martin is ready to put the past—and her unsuccessful marriage—behind her and start over with Nicholas Yurovsky. A titled aristocrat from a distinguished family that dates back to czarist Russia, Nicholas never talks about his past. Then Anna gets a call from her ex-husband.   Left-wing journalist Paul Martin warns Anna about a plot spearheaded by Nicholas to avenge the murder of his father. But Nicholas isn’t the only one with a score to settle. He and other members of “the Return” have been quietly gathering their forces, preparing to strike out against the man who condemned hundreds of thousands of Russians to life—and death—in labor camps.   An elite member of the Supreme Soviet who could be Russia’s next president, Grigor Malenkov buried his past along with countless victims. At the invitation of the French president, he is coming to Paris, where the children of the dead wait for justice that has been a long time coming—with one innocent woman in the crossfire.
    Show book
  • Death in Profile - cover

    Death in Profile

    Guy Fraser-Sampson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?
     
     
     
    Intellectual analysis and police procedure vie with the gut instinct of ‘copper’s nose’, and help appears to offer itself from a very unlikely source – a famous fictional detective. A psychological profile of the murderer allows the police to narrow down their search, but will Scotland Yard lose patience with the team before they can crack the case?
     
    Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ‘a love letter to the detective novel’. Above it all hovers Hampstead, a magical village evoking the elegance of an earlier time, and the spirit of mystery-solving detectives.
     
     
     
    Guy Fraser-Sampson is an established writer best known for his series of ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels which have been featured on BBC Radio 4 and optioned by BBC television. This is his debut work of detective fiction, and the first title in the Hampstead Murders series.
    Show book
  • The Killing Edge - cover

    The Killing Edge

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A female racecar driver gets wrapped up in an ice skater’s gruesome murder in this page-turning thriller. Mauve Bridger is climbing out of the frozen lake when the ice breaks beneath her and she falls into the water. She hauls herself back onto the ladder, but someone pushes her back down. She swims blindly through the icy depths, finally escaping to the far side of the lake, but the killers are waiting for her there. They take her back to her house, kneel on her chest, and cut her throat with her own skates.   First on the scene is L. C. Converse, a former racecar driver turned mechanic who happens to be on a date with the detective who catches Mauve’s case. L. C. witnessed her father’s murder five years ago, so finding Mauve on the floor brings back grisly memories—and this won’t be the last death. This quiet Connecticut town has been marked by murder, and to escape it, L. C. will have to race faster than she ever has before.   L. C. is a classic Richard Forrest hero: an ordinary woman in a deadly situation that spirals out of control. Forrest was an expert at writing realistic emotional thrillers, and The Killing Edge shows him at his best.
    Show book
  • Original Death - A Mystery of Colonial America - cover

    Original Death - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite the raging war between French and British, Scottish exile Duncan McCallum has begun to settle into a new life on the fringes of colonial America, traveling the woodlands with his companion Conawago, even joining the old Indian on his quest to find the last surviving members of his tribe. But the joy they feel on reaching the little settlement of Christian Indians is shattered when they find its residents ritually murdered. As terrible as the deaths may be, Conawago perceives something even darker and more alarming: he is convinced they are a sign of a terrible crisis in the spiritworld which he must resolve.Trying to make sense of the murders, Duncan is accused by the British army of the crime. Escaping prison to follow the trail of evidence, he finds himself hounded by vengeful soldiers and stalked by Scottish rebels who are mysteriously trying to manipulate the war to their advantage. As he pieces together the puzzle of violence and deception he gradually realizes that it may not only be the lives of Duncan and his friends that hang in the balance, but the very survival of the native tribes. When he finally discovers the terrible truth, Duncan is forced to make a fateful choice between his beloved Highland clans and the woodland natives who have embraced and protected him.
    Show book
  • A Child's Garden of Death - cover

    A Child's Garden of Death

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A children’s book author and his wife investigate an impossible murder that’s over thirty years old in this intelligent, absorbing small-town thriller. Murphysville hasn’t seen a triple homicide since the Indian raids. But when an anonymous tip sends police investigators digging in a remote field, they find three rotting skeletons. One of them is missing an arm and another is that of a child who died with a doll clutched to her chest, the only clue to the grisly murders. Clearly, life in  Lyon Wentworth’s cozy Connecticut suburb is far darker than it once seemed.   A children’s book author and hot-air balloonist, Lyon has a personal stake in this unsolved crime: He lost a little girl long ago. With the help of his wife, Bea, a no-nonsense state senator who’s losing her hearing but not her quick wit, Lyon pursues the investigation even after the police pronounce the cold case impossible to solve. Lyon and Bea will find justice for the girl who died in the ditch—or they’ll die trying.   Richard Forrest’s thrillers are uniquely realistic, showing ordinary people grappling with horrible crimes. This gripping page-turner introduced the world to Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles.   A Child’s Garden of Death is the 1st book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book