Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Lalani of the Distant Sea - cover

Lalani of the Distant Sea

Erin Entrada Kelly

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review) 
“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me 
Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path. 
When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana.  
Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.  
When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?  
Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Heir of Fire - cover

    Heir of Fire

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 22
    • 0
    Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed? 
     
    The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Dragon Spear - cover

    Dragon Spear

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The third and final installment in New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George's dragon fantasy series races to a dramatic finale. 
     
    As  far as Creel is concerned, all is finally right with the world. For the  first time in centuries it seems dragons and humans might be able to  live together in peace. So what better time for Creel and Luka to plan  their wedding.  
     
    But then the dragon queen, Velika, is kidnapped  by a band of rogue  dragons in need of a ruler. When Creel and Luka rush  to help, they  discover that Luka's father has plans to take back the  Far Islands from  the dragons. Creel's happily ever after just might be  postponed . . .  again. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • Catacomb - cover

    Catacomb

    Madeleine Roux

    • 5
    • 92
    • 0
    The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling Asylum series follows three teens as they take a senior year road trip to one of America's most haunted cities, uncovering dangerous secrets from their past along the way. With all the thrills, chills, and eerie found photographs that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut," Catacomb is perfect for fans for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Sometimes the past is better off buried. 
    Senior year is finally over. After all they've been through, Dan, Abby, and Jordan are excited to take one last road trip together, and they're just not going to think about what will happen when the summer ends. But on their way to visit Jordan's uncle in New Orleans, the three friends notice that they're being followed . . . and photographed. Then Dan starts receiving messages from someone he didn't expect to hear from again—someone who died last Halloween. 
    When the trio arrives in New Orleans and the strange occurrences only escalate, Dan is forced to accept that everything that has happened to him in the past year may not be a coincidence, but fate—a fate that ties Dan to a group called the Bone Artists, who have a sinister fascination with notorious killers of the past. 
    Now Dan's only hope is that he will make it out of his senior trip alive. 
    Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.
    Show book
  • On the Fence - cover

    On the Fence

    Kasie West

    • 7
    • 107
    • 0
    She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door. 
    With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the opposite sex. So when her police officer dad demands she get a summer job to pay for the latest in a long line of speeding tickets, she's more than a little surprised to find herself working at a chichi boutique and going out with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game. Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with her neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden, sitting back-to-back against the fence that separates them. Braden may know her better than anyone. But there's a secret Charlie's keeping that even he hasn't figured out—she's fallen for him. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high. 
    On the Fence is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it.
    Show book
  • Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens - cover

    Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens

    Helena Dahlgren, Star Stable...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Step into the second installment of the massively popular online Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game (MMORPG) Star Stable, and follow four friends who discover their magic powers and learn that every girl can be a hero in this fantasy trilogy. The Soul Riders series tells the heroic tale of four young girls who have been chosen by destiny to save the world from the ancient demon: Garnok and his band of dangerous Dark Riders.Having split up on their own individual missions at the end of book 1, the Soul Riders are now in increasing danger. In a desperate act, Anne manages to save her friends by using her newfound magical abilities. Together again, the Soul Riders feel their powers intensify as they work in unison for the first time. The legend awakens as they start their training with the druids and learn who they are and what it means to be a Soul Rider.To truly master their powers they must obtain a book that is kept by the witch Pi who was once an ally to the druids, but now has turned on them. When they return to the druids, they learn that a magical rift has been opened up threatening to destroy Winter Valley and the thousands who live there. Linda has visions of the dark and terrible fate that awaits if the Dark Riders succeed. But worst of all, they realize that they are the ones who caused the rift and have no choice but to ride out together to try and neutralize the threat . . . The Legend Awakens is the second installment in the epic, fantasy trilogy, Soul Riders, about magic, friendship, and horses bound to thrill all young equestrian fans. 
    Show book
  • Hands-On Art! Fun with Crayons - cover

    Hands-On Art! Fun with Crayons

    Jean Claude

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shade, twist, and scratch your way to amazing crayon art!  Featuring simple step-by-step projects, fun scenes to draw, and loads of room for trying out new techniques, this is the perfect book for creative kids everywhere.
    Show book