Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Trouble Girls - cover

The Trouble Girls

E.R. Fallon, KJ Fallon

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The author of The Trouble Boys returns to the gritty streets of New York City as a new generation of the Irish mob battles for control.   Camille O’Brien’s father was an Irish gangster who was betrayed and murdered.   Violet McCarthy has inherited control of the Irish mob.   The two women were once friends, but their paths have made them enemies. Camille believes that control of the mob should be hers.   Now they must fight against each other as Camille strives to gain control of the mob in any way she can while Violet struggles to keep it.   Love and loyalty are tested as they push each other to the edge. No matter how brutal. No matter what the cost.   But who will come out on top?  Series praise   “Far more than a crime novel; a wise, carefully wrought narrative informed by a tragic sense of life.” —Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author   “Captures the atmosphere and the feel of the period to absolute perfection. I can just see this being made into a film. Superb.” —Books Monthly Perfect for Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, and Jessie Keane

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rina Walker Series Books One to Four - Harm Threat Malice and Stealth - cover

    The Rina Walker Series Books One...

    Hugh Fraser

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Four novels in the edgy series about a female contract killer in 1960s London.  Harm In Acapulco, Rina Walker is on assignment. Just another quick, clean kill—until she wakes to find a severed head in her hotel room and a man with an AK-47 charging through the door, in this action-packed series debut that takes us into the traumatic childhood in postwar London that made Rina what she is today . . .  Threat London 1961. Rina is hired by a Soho vice king to investigate the disappearance of girls from his clubs, and discovers they’re being supplied to a member of the aristocracy for the gratification of his macabre tastes. Her efforts to save the innocent from slaughter become increasingly perilous as she grapples with layers of depravity, corruption, and betrayal . . .  Malice London 1964. As gang warfare breaks out, Rina struggles to survive amid the battles and betrayals of a gruesome cast of racketeers and gangsters. Her considerable skills as an assassin are her only hope of survival. But it’s not just her own life at stake . . .  Stealth London 1967. A working girl is brutally murdered, and when Rina Walker takes out the killer she attracts the attention of a sinister line-up of gangland enforcers with a great deal to prove. But the stakes get even bigger when British intelligence forces her into the deadly arena of the Cold War . . .  Praise for the series:   “The perfect combination of action, mystery and intrigue.” —Benjamin Maio Mackay, actor and podcaster
    Show book
  • Foreclosure Fatality - A Lily Sprayberry Realtor Cozy Mystery - cover

    Foreclosure Fatality - A Lily...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Murder and sparring seniors stir up trouble for a spunky, small-town Georgia realtor in this cozy mystery by the author of Realtor Rub Out.   I made a promise, multiple times actually, to my husband, the Bramblett County Sheriff. I promised I wouldn’t put my life at risk doing his job. But… when I find my potential client’s son standing over her dead body, all bets are off. I just can’t let it go, no matter how hard I try.   Truth be told, I’d put myself up against a murderer any day if it kept me from taking sides between Henrietta and Bonnie, besties currently on the outs. Risking my life is one thing, but getting between those two is something no person in their right mind should do.   Who am I kidding? I can’t stop myself from trying to help them too. I just hope I come out of this alive.  “The supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • 1979 - cover

    1979

    Val McDermid

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Scottish journalist is drawn into a world of corruption, terror, and murder in the new novel by “one of crime fiction’s most eminent writers” (Entertainment Weekly).   The year started badly and only got worse—blizzards, strikes, power cuts, and political unrest were the norm. For investigative journalist Allie Burns, however, someone else’s bad news was the unmistakable sound of opportunity knocking, and 1979 is ripe with possibilities.   But Allie is a woman in what is still a man’s world. Desperate to get away from the “women's stories” the Glasgow desk keeps assigning her, she strikes up an alliance with wannabe investigative journalist Danny Sullivan. From the start, their stories create enemies. First an international tax fraud, then a potential Scottish terrorist group aiming to cause mayhem ahead of an impending referendum. And then Danny is found murdered in his flat. For Allie, investigative journalism just got personal.   The debut of an intense new series, 1979 is an atmospheric journey into the past with intriguing insight into the present, from a Diamond Dagger winner and multiple Edgar Award finalist.   “The queen of psychological thrillers.” —Irish Independent   “There are few other crime writers in the same league.” —The Washington Post
    Show book
  • What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? - An Epitome Apartments Mystery - cover

    What’s the Matter with Mary...

    Candas Jane Dorsey

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A wise-cracking, grammar-obsessed, pansexual amateur sleuth is thrust into the world of the uber-rich when her enigmatic, now-famous childhood friend breezes back into her life begging for help with a dangerous stalker
    		 
    Our nameless postmodern amateur sleuth is still recovering from her first dangerous foray into detective work when her old friend Priscilla Jane Gill breezes back into her life and begs for help. Pris, now a famous travel writer, fears she’s being stalked again after a nearly fatal attack by a deranged fan a year earlier. In Pris’s dizzying world of wealth and privilege, nameless meets dreamy but sinister tech billionaire Nathan and his equally unnerving sidekick Chiles. Pris’s stalker is murdered outside her book launch, and the shadow of obsession continues to stalk Pris. With no one she can totally trust, nameless knows she’s not going to like the answer — but she delves into her old friend’s past, seeking the mastermind behind Pris’s troubles before it’s too late. Bunnywit does his level best to warn them, but no one else speaks Cat, so background peril transforms into foreground betrayal and murder.
    		 
    In the second installation of the Epitome Apartments Mystery Series, our heroine walks a dangerous path in a world where money is no object and the stakes are higher, and more personal, than ever.
    Show book
  • The Search for Artemis - cover

    The Search for Artemis

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Search for Artemis is the second in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.978-1-8384533-1-2
    Show book