Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Trouble Boys - cover

The Trouble Boys

E.R. Fallon

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

First in the Irish gangland saga. “A full-length chiaroscuro portrait of the immigrant experience, filled with crackling dialogue and headlong plotting” (Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author).   Young Irish immigrant Colin O’Brien settles with his family in New York City. There Colin befriends a Cuban-American boy named Johnny Garcia. Life in America isn’t what Colin’s family expects and he experiences a shocking tragedy that alters his life.   As Johnny and Colin grow into men, their friendship changes. They begin working for different crime syndicates, with Colin joining the ranks of charismatic Tom McPhalen’s Irish mob and Johnny becoming a member of debonair Tito Bernal’s Cuban gang.   As Colin’s rise in the ranks of organized crime becomes increasingly more brutal and demeaning and his friendship with Johnny deteriorates, he begins to question his place in the seductive yet violent world he’s found himself in. Can he protect not just his livelihood, but his very life?  Trilogy praise   “Far more than a crime novel; a wise, carefully wrought narrative informed by a tragic sense of life.” —Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author   “Captures the atmosphere and the feel of the period to absolute perfection. I can just see this being made into a film. Superb.” —Books Monthly Perfect for Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, and Jessie Keane

Other books that might interest you

  • People of Abandoned Character - cover

    People of Abandoned Character

    Clare Whitfield

    • 3
    • 10
    • 2
    What if you thought your husband was Jack the Ripper?
     
    London, 1888. Susannah rushes into marriage to a young and wealthy surgeon. After a passionate honeymoon, she returns home with her new husband wrapped around her little finger. But then everything changes. His behaviour becomes increasingly volatile and violent. He stays out all night, returning home bloodied and full of secrets.
     
    Lonely and frustrated, Susannah starts following the gruesome reports of a spate of murders in Whitechapel. But as the killings continue, her mind takes her down the darkest path imaginable. Every time he stays out late, another victim is found dead. Is it coincidence? Or is her husband the man the papers call Jack the Ripper?
     
    Reviews for People of Abandoned Character:'A mistreated wife suspects her husband might be the Whitechapel killer ... Compelling' Sunday Times'An astonishing book' M.W. Craven'A gripping and original take on the world's most notorious serial killer. A perfectly thrilling read for those long winter nights' Adam Hamdy'This impressive debut builds up pace, pathos and intrigue superbly, with plenty of twists and turns' Woman's Weekly
    Show book
  • The Murderous Affair at Stone Manor - A Completely Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery - cover

    The Murderous Affair at Stone...

    Laura Stewart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amelia Adams’s life is going nowhere. But when she inherits a Scottish mansion, she becomes the star of her own whodunit in this charming debut mystery. Mystery fiction fanatic Amelia Adams is stunned when she inherits a dilapidated mansion, complete with secret passages, hidden compartments and its very own legend. Helped by her brother, her best friend, and a documentary maker—who is determined to turn Amelia’s new life into a hit TV show—Amelia throws herself into renovating the house and unravelling old secrets. When an unknown saboteur starts ruining her plans, Amelia doesn’t know who to trust. Everyone around her is acting strangely and soon Amelia finds herself in the center of her very own murder mystery . . .
    Show book
  • The Meaning of Friday - cover

    The Meaning of Friday

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Meaning of Friday is the first in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.
    Show book
  • Murder on the Beach - A Gripping Murder Mystery - cover

    Murder on the Beach - A Gripping...

    Daisy White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Death is in the air . . . Chloe Canton has settled into life on the island and business is booming. The summer season in Bermuda brings new clients to the riding stables, and when Chloe’s friend Maria asks her to help with a celebrity wedding, Chloe is delighted. Reality TV stars Lara Turner and Eddie Bristol want a beach wedding and a golden horse, and Chloe is happy to oblige. But she is unprepared for the celebrity circus which surrounds them, or the unwelcome appearance of her ex-husband, Mark. No sooner have the happy couple arrived on the island, than a body is found floating in the crystal ocean waters. As other events continue to shock the bride and groom-to-be, Chloe finds she herself drawn into a celebrity mystery that will rock the tranquil island to its core. Murder on the Beach is the second book in the gripping Chloe Canton Mystery Series though can also be read as a brilliant stand-alone novel. What readers are saying about The Chloe Canton Mystery Series: "Intrigue, Sunshine and Horses . . . What's not to love?!" "A book to make you fall in love with Bermuda . . ." "I was soon transported to paradise . . ." "Great escapism . . ." "A great murder mystery in A Beautiful setting . . ." Also available in The Chloe Canton Mystery Series: Book 1: Murder On Island— Set on beautiful Bermuda, Murder On The Beach is perfect escapism. It will appeal to readers of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club as well as fans of authors like LJ Ross and Faith Martin.
    Show book
  • The Book of Extraordinary Impossible Crimes and Puzzling Deaths - The Best New Original Stories of the Genre - cover

    The Book of Extraordinary...

    Martin Edwards, O'Neil De Noux,...

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    This anthology draws together some of the best new stories of mystery and murder—compiled by the Anthony Award–winning crime fiction editor. This anthology collects the most original stories of murder by some of mystery fiction's most inventive talents from the United States and United Kingdom. With innovative new takes on locked-room mysteries and impossible crimes, these short stories are full of vexing conundrums and reality-defying puzzles. A murder has been committed—but how could it have happened? Curated by Maxim Jakubowski, one of the crime genre’s most renowned editors, this volume features never-before-seen stories by acclaimed authors—including British Science Fiction Award–winner Eric Brown, Derringer Award–winner O'Neil de Noux, and multiple CWA Dagger Award–winners and nominees.
    Show book
  • Girl: Broken - cover

    Girl: Broken

    S. Williams

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The escaped victim of a cult is at risk of being swallowed up again in this tense novel of psychological suspense by the author of Only You . . .   When Daisy wakes up, she knows something is very wrong. She is alone in her flat and a mobile phone is ringing. A message for her flashes up on the screen. The problem is, Daisy doesn’t own a mobile . . .   As a survivor of a malevolent cult known as The Fishermen, she still suffers from her past. Having made a simple existence for herself, she now finds that her life has been invaded. Because the message, a single image, has been sent by them—shattering the fragile reality she has made.   She shows it to her new friend, Jay, who tries to reassure her. But is Jay all she seems? Because if The Fishermen are back, Daisy can’t trust anyone. Not even herself . . .
    Show book