Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Trouble Boys - cover

The Trouble Boys

E.R. Fallon

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

First in the Irish gangland saga. “A full-length chiaroscuro portrait of the immigrant experience, filled with crackling dialogue and headlong plotting” (Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author).   Young Irish immigrant Colin O’Brien settles with his family in New York City. There Colin befriends a Cuban-American boy named Johnny Garcia. Life in America isn’t what Colin’s family expects and he experiences a shocking tragedy that alters his life.   As Johnny and Colin grow into men, their friendship changes. They begin working for different crime syndicates, with Colin joining the ranks of charismatic Tom McPhalen’s Irish mob and Johnny becoming a member of debonair Tito Bernal’s Cuban gang.   As Colin’s rise in the ranks of organized crime becomes increasingly more brutal and demeaning and his friendship with Johnny deteriorates, he begins to question his place in the seductive yet violent world he’s found himself in. Can he protect not just his livelihood, but his very life?  Trilogy praise   “Far more than a crime novel; a wise, carefully wrought narrative informed by a tragic sense of life.” —Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author   “Captures the atmosphere and the feel of the period to absolute perfection. I can just see this being made into a film. Superb.” —Books Monthly Perfect for Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, and Jessie Keane
Available since: 08/26/2021.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Second Wife - cover

    The Second Wife

    NJ Moss

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The honeymoon is over—and his nightmare has begun—in this twisted thriller by the author of The Husband Trap . . .   After his wife’s suicide, Scott manages to find love again with Casey. For their first anniversary, she has a surprise for him—but it’s not a good one . . . Casey has been collecting photos and videos of Scott that would place his teaching career in serious jeopardy. Holding that over his head, she intends to make him suffer. As the torment escalates, Scott desperately tries to uncover why Casey is doing this and find a way out of his nightmare. But can he outwit his vicious wife before she makes herself a widow?
    Show book
  • In the Shadow of the Fire - cover

    In the Shadow of the Fire

    Hervé Le Corre

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As the Paris Commune is destroyed, a Communard searches the embattled city for his missing fiancé in this prize-winning novel: “an astounding epic” (L’Express, FR). 
     
    Paris, 1871. The Paris Commune has taken control of the French capitol, but the Communards now face a savage conflict against the French Armed Forces loyal to Versailles in what will come to be known as The Bloody Week. Amid the shrapnel and chaos, while the entire west side of Paris is a field of ruins, a photographer fascinated by the suffering of young women takes “suggestive” photos to sell to a particular clientele. 
     
    Then young women begin disappearing, and when a seamstress who volunteers at a first aid station, is counted among the missing, her fiancé—a member of the Commune’s National Guard—scours the city for her. Joined in the search by a Communal security officer, their race against the clock takes them through the shell-shocked streets of Paris, and introduces them to a cast of fascinating characters. 
     
    Winner of the French Voices Prize
    Show book
  • Ask Natalie - A gripping psychological suspense full of mystery - cover

    Ask Natalie - A gripping...

    Natasha Boydell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A fantastic read . . . I absolutely loved this book . . . I was hooked.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsHer long-lost love is missing—and obsession with the case could save her or sabotage her, in this gripping new suspense by the author of The Woman Next Door. Natalie is single and carefree, fulfilled by her journalism career, but still she can’t help but wonder what happened to Owen, the one that got away. When she learns that he’s disappeared—and left behind a note that mentions her name—she finds herself pulled back into his life. Compelled by the mystery, her boss encourages her to pursue it, believing it would make a great story. And Natalie’s determination knows no bounds . . . Soon she finds herself thrust into a murky world of money, power, and ruthlessness. But just how far will a search for the truth lead her away from home?
    Show book
  • Underworld - cover

    Underworld

    Reginald Hill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Yorkshire mining town is haunted by a mysterious tragedy in this “admirable addition to Hill’s Dalziel/Pascoe series” (The Washington Post Book World).   Reginald Hill “raised the classical British mystery to new heights” when he introduced pugnacious Yorkshire Det. Inspector Andrew Dalziel and his partner, the callow Sgt. Peter Pascoe (The New York Times Book Review). Their chafing differences in education, manners, technique, and temperament made them “the most remarkable duo in the annals of crime fiction” (Toronto Star). Adapted into a long-running hit show for the BBC, the Gold Dagger Award–winning series is now available as ebooks. Colin Farr has returned to Burrthorpe—and to judgmental whispers. His father had once been implicated in the disappearance of a little girl, and his apparent suicide confirmed the suspicions. Defensive, troubled, and handsome, Colin’s only comfort is with his protective and infatuated tutor, Ellie, wife of Inspector Peter Pascoe. But their increasingly questionable relationship isn’t all that’s testing Pascoe’s patience. So is solving the crime that’s plaguing Colin’s family history. But when another murder rocks the mining town, and all clues point to Colin, Pascoe and Dalziel must descend into the darkest depths of Burrthorpe to unearth its secrets. Underworld is the 11th book in the Dalziel and Pascoe Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.    
    Show book
  • Child's Play - cover

    Child's Play

    Reginald Hill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An inheritance draws a shady long-lost relative out of hiding in “the most elaborate mystery in the Yorkshire series” (Kirkus Reviews).   Reginald Hill “raised the classical British mystery to new heights” when he introduced pugnacious Yorkshire Det. Inspector Andrew Dalziel and his partner, the callow Sgt. Peter Pascoe (The New York Times Book Review). Their chafing differences in education, manners, technique, and temperament made them “the most remarkable duo in the annals of crime fiction” (Toronto Star). Adapted into a long-running hit show for the BBC, the Gold Dagger Award–winning series is now available as ebooks.   Gwendoline Huby’s passing has left her relatives more aggrieved than grieving. The wealthy and dotty widow has bequeathed the bulk of her fortune to her son, Alexander, missing in action since World War II. Then a stranger appears at the funeral claiming, against all odds, to be the phantom benefactor. Imposter or rightful heir? For Dalziel and Pascoe, a prickly situation is made even more so when Alexander is murdered. But when a second body turns up—this time in the CID’s parking lot—the Yorkshire detectives can’t fathom a connection. Until they dare to look a little deeper into the Hubys’ family plot.   Child’s Play is the 9th book in the Dalziel and Pascoe Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • His Other Wife (A Stella Fall Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book One) - cover

    His Other Wife (A Stella Fall...

    Ava Strong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Newly-engaged Stella Fall, 26, is horrified to learn of the secrets hiding in her fiance’s past, in his ultra-wealthy family, and in their exclusive Connecticut suburb. When someone turns up murdered, Stella, to clear her name, is forced to investigate. But in a culture ridden with masterful liars, can she ever really find the truth?
    
    Stella seems to have her whole life ahead of her: she has just graduated with a dual masters in Psychology and Criminal Justice, she is engaged to the man of her dreams after a whirlwind romance, and she is moving to the East Coast with him as she prepares for the wedding and searches for a dream job, hoping to be a criminal profiler. She is unbelievably excited for her life together with Chris—until she meets his family.
    
    Stella, from a humble Midwestern upbringing, never felt comfortable around money, and she hates the world Chris comes from. She is in shock at the culture clash as she gets to know his elitist family and friends, all of whom look down on her. Isolated and demeaned, Stella wonders if she can live a life in such hostile surroundings. 
    
    They move into the guest house on his estate, and things only get worse. As Stella meets his ex and his friends at his club, all of whom seem to know something she doesn’t, she wonders if Chris is really the man she thought he was. As she learns more about his past and discovers his dark side, she wonders if she has made a big mistake. Beneath its trimmed hedgerows and gleaming storefronts, Stella soon realizes that this wealthy town hides terrible secrets.
    
    But before she can decide what to do, a murder leaves her blindsided.
    
    Stella, implicated, her future on the line, has no choice but to investigate. As her dreams devolves into hell, Stella, still struggling to overcome her own traumatic past, questions everything around her—including her own sanity.
    
    Can she find the killer, and clear her name, before it’s too late?
    
    A fast-paced psychological suspense thriller with unforgettable characters and heart-pounding suspense, HIS OTHER WIFE is book #1 in a riveting new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Books #2 and #3—HIS OTHER LIE and HIS OTHER SECRET—are now also available.
    Show book