Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
MY OWN STORY - The Emmeline Pankhurst Story - cover

MY OWN STORY - The Emmeline Pankhurst Story

Emmeline Pankhurst

Publisher: Abela Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The closing paragraphs of this book were written in the late summer of 1914, when the armies of every great power in Europe called upon their citizens, and the citizens of their colonies, to mobilised for savage, unsparing, barbarous warfare against one another, against small and unaggressive nations, against helpless women and children, and against civilisation itself.

How mild, by comparison with the despatches in the daily newspapers, will seem this chronicle of women's militant struggle against political and social injustice in one small corner of Europe. Yet, let it stand as it was written, with peace—so-called, and civilisation, and orderly government as the background for heroism such as the world has seldom witnessed.

The militancy of men, through all the centuries, has drenched the world with blood, and for these deeds of horror and destruction men have been rewarded with monuments, with great songs and epics. Yet, the militancy of women has harmed no human life save the lives of those who fought the battle of righteousness. Time alone has revealed what reward has been allotted to the women.

In the black hour that struck in Europe, the men, indeed Governments, turned to their women and called on them to take up the work of keeping civilisation alive. Through all the harvest fields, in orchards and vineyards, women garnered food to send to the front, as well as for the children left fatherless by war. In the cities the women kept open the shops, drove trucks and trams, and operated machines in the factories which made clothing and the munitions for the impending battle ahead and altogether attended to a multitude of tasks to keep the wheels of commerce turning.

At the first alarm of war, the militants proclaimed a truce, which was answered half-heartedly by Reginald McKenna, the Home Secretary’s announcement that all suffrage prisoners would be released who gave an undertaking "not to commit further crimes or outrages." A few days later, no doubt influenced by representations made to the Government by men and women of every political persuasion, Mr. McKenna announced in the House of Commons that it was the intention of the Government, to release unconditionally, all suffrage prisoners. So ended, for a short time, the war of women against men – until the clash of arms ceases. Then once more women will take up the arms they so generously laid down.

“There can be no real peace in the world until woman, the mother half of the human family, are given liberty in the councils of the world” – Emmeline Pankhurst.

YESTERDAY’S BOOKS FOR TODAY’S CHARITIES
10% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charity.
=============
KEYWORDS-TAGS: My Own Story, Emmeline Pankhurst, , 1914, Act of Parliament, agitate, Annie, arrest, authorities, Bill, Cabinet, case, Christabel Pankhurst, committee, Conciliation, court, daughter, declare, demands, deputation, doctor, education, Edward, election, England, facilities, Fight, franchise, freedom, friends, girls, Gladstone, Government, Great War, Hall, Herbert Asquith, Holloway, House of Commons, hundred, hunger, imprisonment, justice, King, law, Lawrence, leaders, letters, Liberal, life long, Lloyd George, London, Lord, magistrate, majority, Manchester, meetings, members, men, militancy, Minister, movement, Parliament, party, Pethick, petition, place, pledge, police, policy, political, power, Prime Minister, prison, prisoners, property, protest, public, punishment, question, refuse, release, school, Secretary, sentence, session, Social Movement, speech, Street, suffrage, Suffragettes, suffragists, trial, Union, vote, Winston Churchill, woman, women, Women’s rights, world, World War One, WWI

Other books that might interest you

  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Mixing historical fact with fiction, these books provide both an insightful and informative read...Thoroughly enjoyable' SCOTT EVANS, THE READER TEACHER (@MrEPrimary) 
     
    A fast-paced Stone Age adventure from the best-selling author of Horrible Histories. 
     
    17,300 years ago. Lascaux, France. 
     
    Willow isn't the strongest or fastest in his tribe, he is careful and clever. But that's not what matters to the other boys. All they care about who is the best hunter, and who can provide meat for the tribe. So when the brawny and brash Bull takes over as the tribe's chief, it's going to take all of Willow's wits to survive.  
     
     An exciting tale based on real historical and archaeological evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry wit. With helpful reading notes to extend learning, this book is the perfect springboard for further study of the Stone Age under the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for children aged 7+
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    Mesopotamia, 2500 years ago 
     
    Everyone in the tribe must work; all the men go hunting for bulls and mountain lions - apart from Sin-leqi, that is. Sin-leqi stays home and reads tablets in the great temples. The tablets tell tales of the legendary Gilgamesh, tales that are so fantastical that lazy Sin-leqi doesn't have to work, as long as he keeps telling them. But when the story comes to end, Sin-leqi is in trouble... 
     
     A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological   evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry   wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • An Unlikely Spy - cover

    An Unlikely Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thrilling historical adventure from Terry Deary, the 'outstanding children's non-fiction author of the 20th century' (Books For Keeps) 
     
    This brand new, exciting adventure from bestselling Horrible Histories author Terry Deary brings the Second World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne.  
     
    World War II has begun. Brigit has been evacuated to Wales from her home near the aeroplane factories of Coventry. But when it's revealed that her father is German, Brigit runs away to join her mother in a very special training camp, where Churchill is building a secret army of spies and saboteurs known as the Special Operations Executive. 
     
    Brigit and her mother soon find themselves on the front line in Nazi-occupied France, where they search for double agents and meet with danger at every turn in their efforts to support the French resistance. But no-one will suspect Brigit is a spy, will they? After all, who would suspect a child? 
     
    Featuring characters from The Silver Hand, this page-turning adventure sheds new light on the Second World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    9500 years ago, as the Ice Age is ending... 
     
    Jay's grandfather is old, maybe twice as many summers as he has fingers and toes, but he is wise too. Jay loves to sit in their house by the river and listen to his stories of the Great Spirit and the Earth Mother. But outside, danger is at their door; food is getting scarcer, tribes are at war, and all the time the river water is rising... 
     
    A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological  evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry  wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Storm - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Storm

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Mixing historical fact with fiction, these books provide both an insightful and informative read...Thoroughly enjoyable' SCOTT EVANS, THE READER TEACHER (@MrEPrimary) 
     
    A fast-paced Stone Age adventure from the best-selling author of Horrible Histories. 
     
    Skara Brae, Orkney, Scotland. 5000 years ago. 
     
    On the cold and windy island of Skara Brae, Tuc and his sister Storm try to catch birds in their fishing net. They eat fish day in, day out,  and they're sick of it. But when a thief steals half their tribe's winter food stores, being bored of their dinner is the least of their problems. What if they starve? And even worse, what if it's  true that their father's the thief? 
     
    An exciting tale based on real historical and archaeological evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry wit. With helpful reading notes to extend learning, this book is the perfect springboard for further study of the Stone Age under the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. 
     
    Book band: Grey 
    Ideal for children aged 8+
    Show book