Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times - cover

Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

Emma Trevayne

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A boy discovers a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape in this steampunk fantasy that’s “a thrill a minute” (Kirkus Reviews), set in nineteenth-century England.Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London.Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones.Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son—a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird.The Gearwing grants wishes—or it did, before it was broken—before it was killed. But some things don’t stay dead forever.Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Doll Bones will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible!
Available since: 05/13/2014.
Print length: 202 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sticky Pines: The Thing At Black Hole Lake - cover

    Sticky Pines: The Thing At Black...

    Dashe Roberts

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The sequel to The Bigwoof Conspiracy takes us back to Sticky Pines, a small US town where weird things happen.
    
    Milo, loyal to his double-crossing, business-mogul father, has taken a trip to Black Hole Lake, leaving Lucy to continue her search into alien life and the Truth that she knows is out there. Milo's discovery of a sinister, dark creature in the Lake will put them both in terrible danger and also - if they survive their adventure - make them friends again.
    
    Perfect for younger siblings of Stranger Things' fans, The Thing at Black Hole Lake is laugh-out-loud, hair-raising sci-fi that will raise more questions about extraterrestrial life on earth than it answers...
    Show book
  • Ten In The Bed - cover

    Ten In The Bed

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Listen to the story! Read the story! Sing the Story! “Ten In The Bed,” includes the Read-along version of the story followed by the same story sung in an adorable song. Read the story. Then sing the story! It isn't a secret that using songs to teach children pre-reading skills is fun and successful.  This classic song is featured as a read-along and a sing-along.  What happens when ten adorable teddy bears cuddle, laugh and roll over together in the big, comfy bed? Children will laugh as they learn to count from 1-10 and from 10-1 as the sleepy bears keep rolling over and falling off of the bed! Beautiful illustrations and repetitive text make this the perfect book before bedtime…or anytime! Titles in the Sing-A-Story Series include: ABC Nursery Rhymes, B-I-N-G-O, Down By The Bay, The Farmer In The Dell, Five Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed, Five Little Skunks, The Friendly Beasts, Happy Birthday, Jesus, It's Silly Time, The Animals Came Two By Two, Up On The Housetop, Jesus Loves The Little Children, Old MacDnald Had A Farm, Old MacDnald Letter Farm, Rise and Shine, Singing The Consonant Sounds, Six Little Ducks, The ABCs, This Old Man, Ten In The Bed & The Twelve Days Of Christmas.
    Show book
  • The Quest of the Fair Unknown - cover

    The Quest of the Fair Unknown

    Gerald Morris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of The Lioness and Her Knight “continues his intelligent retellings of Arthurian legends with a tale of multiple quests” (Kirkus Reviews).   On her deathbed, Beaufils’s mother leaves him with a quest and a clue: find your father, a knight of King Arthur’s court. So Beaufils leaves the isolated forest of his youth and quickly discovers that he has much to learn about the world beyond his experience. Beaufils’s innocence never fails to make his companions grin, but his fresh outlook on the world’s peculiarities turns out to be more of a gift than a curse as they encounter unexpected friends and foes.   With his constant stream of wise fools and foolish wise men, holy hermits and others of rather less holiness, plotting magicians and conniving Ladies, Gerald Morris infuses these medieval stories with a riotous humor all his own.   “A heartwarming and thought-provoking tale, this story is sure to entertain readers.” —School Library Journal   “Morris’ retellings of Arthurian legends—and others from English lore, mostly medieval—never disappoint.” —Booklist   “Maintains the same comfortable balance of epic adventure, earnest idealism, and gentle humor that has made the series so successful in bringing Arthurian legends to young readers.” —The Horn Book
    Show book
  • Ciaran And The Crystal Spheres - cover

    Ciaran And The Crystal Spheres

    Kathleen Nielson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It will soon be winter in the northern lands and the people of the Five Clans must battle the harsh climate to hunt and fish for survival. With food stocks low, it seems as if only the Little People can help them. Ciaran is honoured to be chosen as an Exchanger and his contact with the Little People will change his life forever. Not everyone is pleased for Ciaran, however, and he encounters violent opposition from members of his own family. Beset by difficulties, Ciaran has to make decisions which will have far-reaching consequences for them all. This is the first book in the Trilogy of the Sleeping Child.
    Show book
  • Candy Making for Kids - cover

    Candy Making for Kids

    Courtney Whitmore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Candy Making for Kids is a creative and fun book full of  easy-to-follow candy recipes for kids. From traditional favorites such  as toffee and fudge to whimsical creations such as candy caterpillars  and candy play-dough, kids of all ages will absolutely love these  delicious and cute treats. Perfect for children’s parties, holiday  parties, packaging up for friends, or simply enjoying at home, these  recipe ideas are sure to become a family favorite!
    Show book
  • Monsters of Celtic Mythology - cover

    Monsters of Celtic Mythology

    Bernard Evslin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In his quest for revenge, a Celtic hero must outwit an ice-breathing dragon and an evil, shape-shifting sorceress Yards shorter than his brothers and sisters, Celtic giant Finn McCool is the runt of the litter. Still, he is eager to fight evil and is consumed by the need to avenge his father’s murder. Thwarting his mission is Drabne of Dole, who can change shape at will. Also known as the Fish Hag and the Winter Witch, she fiercely guards her underworld terrain, keeping a watchful eye on the Salmon of Knowledge, lest he try to teach ignorant creatures what they have no right to learn. Now she is scheming to destroy Finn, who has just been given a precious gift by the Thrig of Tone, himself imprisoned in the wicked sorceress’s spell. Finn will need all his courage and cunning to outwit Drabne and lay a trap for Goll McMorna, the war chief who slew his father. On his journey from boyhood to manhood, Finn meets an ancient wizard, an ice-breathing dragon, and a fiend named Vilemurk, among others, in this imaginative retelling of one of Ireland’s most enduring myths.
    Show book