Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl from Hard Times Hill - cover

The Girl from Hard Times Hill

Emma Barnes

Publisher: A&C Black Childrens & Educational

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Megan's father finally returns from Occupied Germany in the years following World War II, she should be pleased – shouldn't she?  But she hardly knows her father, and his arrival means moving out of Nana's house into the city. Megan hates the changes to her life, yet when she has the opportunity to be the first member of her working-class family to go to Grammar School, it is her dad who is behind her all the way. Can Megan adapt to her new life, and take advantage of a changing Britain?
Available since: 06/05/2015.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Stitchers - cover

    The Stitchers

    Lorien Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
     
    Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
     
      
     
    Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
     
    If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
     
    “What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
     
    “A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
     
    “Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
     
    “The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Waves in the Bathtub - cover

    Waves in the Bathtub

    Eugenie Fernandes

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Every bath time promises an adventure under the sea!When Kady gets into the bathtub, waves appear, and they get bigger, and BIGGER, and BIGGER! Kady can’t help but sing the bathtub song: ?Imagining the ocean, I can see / waves in the bathtub here with me. / I see creatures big and small. / Lots of fish! I like them all.” Kady likes walruses and pelicans, big whales and little snails. When she sings, a magical world comes to life beneath the waters. Kady rides dolphins, swims with otters, and even snuggles a polar bear. Her bathtub world is filled with fishy friends and exotic water creatures.This book is perfect for tickling the imagination and getting children excited about bath time. Eugenie Fernandes’ fun-filled illustrations give little readers all kinds of things to look for and pay attention to. Kady’s cat is right beside her in every picture, and whether she’s being captured by an octopus, riding an orca, or just playing with Kady’s toes, she’s sure to bring a smile. Wonderful details will make this a go-to picture book that children will want to pore over time and time again. Sheet music for the simple song is included at the end of the story.Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers?picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book
  • 90 Minutes in Heaven - My True Story - cover

    90 Minutes in Heaven - My True...

    Cecil Murphey, Don Piper

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Now available in a special edition for readers age 9-12, 90 Minutes in Heaven is the runaway bestseller about one man's experience with death and life. When Don Piper's car collided with a semi-truck he was pronounced dead at the scene. For the next 90 minutes, he experienced the glories of heaven. Back on earth, a passing minister felt led to pray for the accident victim even though he was told Piper was dead. Miraculously, Piper came back to life, and the pleasure of heaven was replaced by a long and painful recovery.An inspiring account for people of all ages, 90 Minutes in Heaven is now poised to touch and comfort children in the same way it has offered encouragement and hope to millions of adults.
    Show book
  • The Wolf Cupboard - cover

    The Wolf Cupboard

    Susan Gates

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Leon is supposed to be looking after his little brother Danny when he starts big school. But some kids tell Danny that there's a wolf in the cupboard and now he won't go back to school. So Leon persuades Danny that wolves are great - and soon he has the opposite problem as Danny is desperate to find the wolf. Can Leon sort out his crazy brother without getting in trouble with Mum? School/family comedy. 
     
    Highly readable, exciting books that take the struggle out of reading, Wired Up Connect encourages and supports reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, or those with English as an additional language, aged 9+, at a manageable length (96 pages) and reading level (8+). Produced in association with reading experts at CatchUp, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.
    Show book
  • Lucky Enough - cover

    Lucky Enough

    Fred Bowen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A baseball star’s luck is tested in this action-packed story—perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green—from the author of The Kid Coach.Like many athletes, Trey is superstitious. How could he not be when he just made the Ravens travel baseball team thanks to his lucky charm, a piece of rare sea glass he found on his grandmother’s beach?This stroke of good fortune reinforces Trey’s superstitions, and his rituals only become more important to him. Despite some teasing from his teammates, he persists in never stepping on the foul line, obsessively tapping the corners of home plate when he’s at bat, and always choosing the same lucky bat. And his tactics are working; he’s doing quite well on the field and in the batter’s box.Then one day Trey can’t find his lucky sea glass. His performance begins to slip, and he’s convinced his future with the Ravens is doomed. Things don’t start to improve until Trey’s uncle reminds him of his grandmother’s favorite saying: “The harder you work, the luckier you get.”Can Trey take these words to heart and find his swing again . . . even without his lucky charm?This ebook features an afterword about famous real-life players with their own lucky charms and superstitions.Discussion Guide available “A former kids’ baseball coach and the writer of the Washington Post sports column for young readers, Bowen adds an entertaining note on baseball superstitions. . . . The straightforward story will appeal to young players as well as older ones intimidated by longer novels.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Little King - Mine or Yours - cover

    The Little King - Mine or Yours

    Hedwig Munck

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hedwig Munck is a Berlin filmmaker, author and illustrator. The best-known character  is the Little King. The series can be seen since 16 years regularly in television
    in different countries.
    Show book