Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Doomsday Book of Fairy Tales - cover

The Doomsday Book of Fairy Tales

Emily Brewes

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

After the climate collapses, humanity is forced to live Underground, until Jesse and their talking dog embark on a journey to find Jesse's long-lost sister
    A "cli-fi" book for readers of Station Eleven and The Mercy Journals, looking for a literary post-apocalyptic story
    Narrative is peppered with whimsical fairy tales told by the protagonist, created from dim memories
    A cast of creative and engaging characters (a non-gendered protagonist, a talking dog, kickass sister, etc.), as well as the effective world building pre- and post-climate crisis is intriguing and powerful
    A debut novel that was written during #NaNoWriMo

Other books that might interest you

  • The Oath - The Druid Chronicles Book One - cover

    The Oath - The Druid Chronicles...

    A.M. Linden

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When the last of members of a secretive Druid cult are forced to abandon their hidden sanctuary, they send the youngest of their remaining priests in search of Annwr, their chief priestess’s sister, who was abducted by a Saxon war band fifteen years ago. With only a rudimentary grasp of English and the ambiguous guidance of an oracle’s prophecy, Caelym manages to find Annwr living in a hut on the grounds of a Christian convent. Annwr has spent her years of captivity caring for the timid Aleswina, an orphaned Saxon princess who was consigned to the cloistered convent by her cousin, King Gilberth, after he assumed her father’s throne. Just as Caelym and Annwr are about leave together, Aleswina learns that Gilberth, a tyrant known for his cruelty and vicious temper, means to take her out of the convent and marry her. Terrified, she flees with the two Druids—beginning a heart-pounding adventure that unfolds in ways none of them could have anticipated.
    Show book
  • Curse the Day - The Conspiracy Thriller that Reads Like a Bond Movie - cover

    Curse the Day - The Conspiracy...

    Judith O'Reilly

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    'Starts off like a fired bullet and never lets up. A sheer delight' David Baldacci. 
     
    At a global tech gala hosted at the British Museum, scientist Tobias Hawke is due to unveil an astonishing breakthrough. His AI system appears to have reached consciousness, making Hawke the leading light in his field. 
     
    But when terrorists storm the building, they don't just leave chaos in their wake. They seize Hawke's masterwork, sparking a chain reaction of explosive events which could end the world as we know it. 
     
    Michael North, ex-assassin and spy-for-hire, must find the killers and recover the AI. But he can't do it alone. Hawke's wife, Esme, and teenage hacker, Fangfang, have their own reasons to help complete North's mission – and together they unravel a dark and deadly conspiracy which stretches right to the top of the British elite. 
     
    Can North survive long enough to uncover the whole truth? Or is it already too late for humanity? 
     
    REVIEWS FOR CURSE THE DAY: 
     
    'A slick, fast-paced thriller from a master storyteller ... Do yourself a favour and buy this book!' LJ Ross. 
     
    'A rip-roaring road trip into the dark heart of a corrupt, cynical British establishment' Financial Times. 
     
    'With a plot Fleming or Forsyth would be proud of and a hero to rival Jack Reacher, Curse the Day just might be the Thriller of the Year' Howard Linksey. 
     
    'Relentlessly plotted with a blistering pace, Curse the Day is a sharply drawn, gleefully witty conspiracy thriller. Tackling tomorrow's nightmare today, this is a superb novel' M.W. Craven. 
     
    'A brilliant technothriller that reads like a Bond movie, complete with terrific action sequences, memorable characters, and the fate of the world at stake ... The pace never lets up and the story stays with you long after the final page' Zoe Sharp. 
     
    'Packed with no-holds-barred action and memorable characters. It's a blast!' James Swallow. 
     
    PRAISE FOR JUDITH O'REILLY: 
     
    'A terrific future-shock thriller full of pace, tension, character, and emotion' Lee Child. 'Fast-paced and packed with action' Mick Herron. 'A high-octane plot that centres around the dark heart of British political power' Sunday Times. 'Thought-provoking, pacy and thrilling' Sunday Mirror. 'A gritty, action-packed, page-turner' Andy McNab. 'New thriller writers come and go. I suspect this lady will stick around'Frederick Forsyth. 'A constantly surprising, heart-felt, desperately exciting super-thriller – and a truly standout action-adventure novel ... Left me both smiling and breathless' Rob Parker.
    Show book
  • The Membranes - A Novel - cover

    The Membranes - A Novel

    Ta-wei Chi

    • 0
    • 5
    • 1
    It is the late twenty-first century, and Momo is the most celebrated dermal care technician in all of T City. Humanity has migrated to domes at the bottom of the sea to escape devastating climate change. The world is dominated by powerful media conglomerates and runs on exploited cyborg labor. Momo prefers to keep to herself, and anyway she’s too busy for other relationships: her clients include some of the city’s best-known media personalities. But after meeting her estranged mother, she begins to explore her true identity, a journey that leads to questioning the bounds of gender, memory, self, and reality.First published in Taiwan in 1995, The Membranes is a classic of queer speculative fiction in Chinese. Chi Ta-wei weaves dystopian tropes—heirloom animals, radiation-proof combat drones, sinister surveillance technologies—into a sensitive portrait of one young woman’s quest for self-understanding. Predicting everything from fitness tracking to social media saturation, this visionary and sublime novel stands out for its queer and trans themes. The Membranes reveals the diversity and originality of contemporary speculative fiction in Chinese, exploring gender and sexuality, technological domination, and regimes of capital, all while applying an unflinching self-reflexivity to the reader’s own role. Ari Larissa Heinrich’s translation brings Chi’s hybrid punk sensibility to all readers interested in books that test the limits of where speculative fiction can go.
    Show book
  • Lasactka - The End of Human Intelligence - cover

    Lasactka - The End of Human...

    Lena Ma

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to the end of human intelligence, the functioning brain completely eradicated by the Himalayan virus known as "Lasactka". The ignorance of civilization deceived them all with the deadly promise of limitless knowledge and undeniable intellect. Instead, Lasactka was designed to successfully achieve the exact opposite, draining the mental capability of humanity and reducing them to mental oblivion. We all want to be a vessel of wisdom. However, how many of us will actually put in the work to achieve that, and how fatal will we go to reach that prominence if it means never having to lift a finger?
    Show book
  • To Dust You Shall Return - cover

    To Dust You Shall Return

    Fred Venturini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A town ruled by evil. A man ruled by darkness. Only one can survive.
     
    Curtis Quinn is a Chicago mob legend with a particular set of skills and a price on his head. When the woman he loves disappears, Curtis follows her trail to the occult town of Harlow, where no one is allowed to leave, and an enigmatic, sinister overlord known only as “the Mayor” rules by an autocratic regime.
     
    Beth Jarvis is a plucky teenager unwrapping the secrets of her hometown—Harlow—and the mysterious ceremony that awaits her on her eighteenth birthday. What Beth doesn’t know is the truth about her sister Kate, who escaped their strange town over a decade ago and has evaded the Mayor and his disciples ever since.
     
    What Curtis doesn’t know is that Kate is the woman he’s fallen in love with, and she’s running from a threat far greater than the mobsters who want to kill him. His fate collides with Beth’s as she tries to escape Harlow and the disgusting fate that awaits her, and Curtis finds himself unraveling a mystery that leads to an impossible and terrifying conclusion―that the Mayor of Harlow is more than just a man, and the hardest target he’s ever tried to kill.
    Show book
  • Mountains of the Sea - cover

    Mountains of the Sea

    Gunter Swoboda

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After accidentally shooting an army recruiter, Walter Beaumont is forced to flee England and finds himself on the HMS Resolution, Captain James Cook's ship of exploration to the South Seas. On board he befriends Omai, a Tahitian navigator who takes Walter under his wing. 
    A fish out of water, Walter Beaumont struggles with the Spartan conditions of seafaring, eventually falling ill with consumption. James Cook, knowing that Walter would never survive the rigors of the Northern Pacific and the Bearing Straights, is forced to leave the young man and Omai behind in the newly discovered Hawaiian Islands. Recovering his health, his hopes of returning to England are shattered by the news that Captain Cook has been killed and the Resolution has returned to England without him.  
    Determined to make the most of his fate and intrigued by the Hawaiian culture and their close relationship with the ocean, Walter tries to adapt as best as he can.  
    In a rite of passage that sees him transverse the globe and face the uncertainties of being a stranger in a strange land, Walter Beaumont well and truly rises to the challenge.  
    It is quite literally a watershed of epic proportions, where faces the many moods of an ocean culture that is the center of the Hawaiian world. Together with his Tahitian friend, Omai, his teacher Kanoa, and his newly found love, Lani, he comes face to face with political intrigue, war, and the most enigmatic experience for an English aristocrat, that of riding the giant swells of Hawai'i.
    Show book