Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Doomsday Book of Fairy Tales - cover

The Doomsday Book of Fairy Tales

Emily Brewes

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

After the climate collapses, humanity is forced to live Underground, until Jesse and their talking dog embark on a journey to find Jesse's long-lost sister
    A "cli-fi" book for readers of Station Eleven and The Mercy Journals, looking for a literary post-apocalyptic story
    Narrative is peppered with whimsical fairy tales told by the protagonist, created from dim memories
    A cast of creative and engaging characters (a non-gendered protagonist, a talking dog, kickass sister, etc.), as well as the effective world building pre- and post-climate crisis is intriguing and powerful
    A debut novel that was written during #NaNoWriMo

Other books that might interest you

  • The Oath - The Druid Chronicles Book One - cover

    The Oath - The Druid Chronicles...

    A.M. Linden

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When the last of members of a secretive Druid cult are forced to abandon their hidden sanctuary, they send the youngest of their remaining priests in search of Annwr, their chief priestess’s sister, who was abducted by a Saxon war band fifteen years ago. With only a rudimentary grasp of English and the ambiguous guidance of an oracle’s prophecy, Caelym manages to find Annwr living in a hut on the grounds of a Christian convent. Annwr has spent her years of captivity caring for the timid Aleswina, an orphaned Saxon princess who was consigned to the cloistered convent by her cousin, King Gilberth, after he assumed her father’s throne. Just as Caelym and Annwr are about leave together, Aleswina learns that Gilberth, a tyrant known for his cruelty and vicious temper, means to take her out of the convent and marry her. Terrified, she flees with the two Druids—beginning a heart-pounding adventure that unfolds in ways none of them could have anticipated.
    Show book
  • The Membranes - A Novel - cover

    The Membranes - A Novel

    Ta-wei Chi

    • 0
    • 4
    • 1
    It is the late twenty-first century, and Momo is the most celebrated dermal care technician in all of T City. Humanity has migrated to domes at the bottom of the sea to escape devastating climate change. The world is dominated by powerful media conglomerates and runs on exploited cyborg labor. Momo prefers to keep to herself, and anyway she’s too busy for other relationships: her clients include some of the city’s best-known media personalities. But after meeting her estranged mother, she begins to explore her true identity, a journey that leads to questioning the bounds of gender, memory, self, and reality.First published in Taiwan in 1995, The Membranes is a classic of queer speculative fiction in Chinese. Chi Ta-wei weaves dystopian tropes—heirloom animals, radiation-proof combat drones, sinister surveillance technologies—into a sensitive portrait of one young woman’s quest for self-understanding. Predicting everything from fitness tracking to social media saturation, this visionary and sublime novel stands out for its queer and trans themes. The Membranes reveals the diversity and originality of contemporary speculative fiction in Chinese, exploring gender and sexuality, technological domination, and regimes of capital, all while applying an unflinching self-reflexivity to the reader’s own role. Ari Larissa Heinrich’s translation brings Chi’s hybrid punk sensibility to all readers interested in books that test the limits of where speculative fiction can go.
    Show book
  • The Dalliances of Monsieur D'Haricot - cover

    The Dalliances of Monsieur...

    Barbara Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Paris, 1930. Monsieur D'Haricot is a secret agent with a twitchy moustache. 
     
    Out of sight and mind, a community of refugees has been forced beneath the catacombs by centuries of persecution. They have built their own city, a replica of Paris, and developed advanced technologies and transport systems. With post-WWI Europe in turmoil, now is the time for them to resurface. 
    Monsieur D'Haricot has no problem with this, but a planned invasion is a different story altogether. He is, after all, duty-bound to protect France. 
     
    Faced with mistaken identities, split personalities, trickery, lies, downright lies, and repugnant bicycles, he will need to engage his complete repertoire of guile and espionage training to prevail. If that fails, well, at least he can rely on a little help from his friends: a sweet-toothed crab and an angel puppeteer. 
     
    The time is right for revolution, but the clock is not.
    Show book
  • The Complete Works of George Orwell (Illustrated) - cover

    The Complete Works of George...

    George Orwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Excellent Collection brings together Orwell's Fiction, Non-Fiction, Essays and Poems.
    
    Displaying an almost unrivalled mastery of English plain prose, Orwell's Books created a unique literary manner from the process of thinking aloud and continuing to challenge, move and entertain. This Book created and collected in George Orwell's most important Works illuminate the life and work of one of the most individual writers of the 20th century - a man who elevated political writing to an art.
    
    This Collection includes
    
    Novels
    · Burmese Days
    · A Clergyman's Daughter
    · Keep the Aspidistra Flying
    · Animal Farm
    · Nineteen Eighty-Four
    
    Nonfiction
    · Down and Out in Paris and London
    · The Road to Wigan Pier
    · Homage to Catalonia
    
    Essays and Poems.
    Show book
  • Lasactka - The End of Human Intelligence - cover

    Lasactka - The End of Human...

    Lena Ma

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to the end of human intelligence, the functioning brain completely eradicated by the Himalayan virus known as "Lasactka". The ignorance of civilization deceived them all with the deadly promise of limitless knowledge and undeniable intellect. Instead, Lasactka was designed to successfully achieve the exact opposite, draining the mental capability of humanity and reducing them to mental oblivion. We all want to be a vessel of wisdom. However, how many of us will actually put in the work to achieve that, and how fatal will we go to reach that prominence if it means never having to lift a finger?
    Show book
  • Death by Vanity - Be Careful What You Change - cover

    Death by Vanity - Be Careful...

    Lena Ma

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A vicious virus plagues the world, systematically attacking those who obsess over social media and taking the perfect selfie. As it spreads, leaving a devastating trail of destruction, it forces factions of survivors to form. But their competing motives lead to further disaster and a losing battle that shakes survivors to their core and upends the lives of society's most vain. 
     
    When a member of one of the factions falls victim to the virus, it sparks a series of horrific events that threaten not only those who have remained in the shadows but eviscerates the bond between brother and sister. 
     
    With a deadly virus intent on leaving no one unscathed, panicked survivors, a growing list of victims, and everyone's flaws and insecurities on full display, life spirals out of control. One by one, all will meet a brutal fate. The question is, when? 
     
    Will the social media obsession and the brutal efforts to reverse lead influencers and selfie-addicts to their fatalities?
    Show book