Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Strays - cover

The Strays

Emily Bitto

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'Remarkable first novel... vividly written, almost painterly'The New York Times Book ReviewOn her first day at a new school, Lily befriends one of the daughters of infamous painter Evan Trentham. He and his wife are trying to escape the conservatism of 1930s Australia by inviting other like-minded artists to live at their home. Lily becomes infatuated with this wild, bohemian lifestyle and longs to truly be a part of the family.But as the years pass, Lily observes the way the lives of these artists come to reflect their art. Yet it's not Evan, but his own daughters, who pay the price for his radicalism. Almost 30 years later, Lily contemplates the ordinary path her own life took, how she has played it safe, but does freedom come at a cost? 
Shortlisted for the HWA Debut Crown 2017Winner of the Stella Prize 2015Winner of the Tina Kane Emergent Writers AwardUniversity of Canberra 'Book of the Year' 2016Longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary AwardShortlisted for the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished ManuscriptShortlised for the Dobbie Literary AwardShortlisted for the Indie Book Award for Debut FictionShortlisted for the NSW Premier's Prize for New WritingShortlisted for an Amazon Rising Star AwardWalter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction ‘Academy Recommends’ Read 
 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'…full of lush, mesmerizing detail' -- The New Yorker 
'Emily Bitto writes so well about art, childhood, infatuation, loneliness--you name it. The Strays is a knowing novel, and beautifully done.' -- Meg Wolitzer, author of The Interestings 
'...an immensely pleasurable read.' -- Bookseller + Publisher 
'Emily Bitto has written a very stylish and enjoyable debut novel.' -- The Sunday Mail 
'...a marvellously accomplished and assured debut... Rich in atmosphere and beautifully observed.' -- Caroline Baum, Booktopia

Other books that might interest you

  • The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery - cover

    The Secret Keepers of Old Depot...

    Amanda Cox

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Present Day. After tragedy plunges her into grief and unresolved anger, Sarah Ashby returns to her childhood home determined to finally follow her long-denied dream of running Old Depot Grocery alongside her mother and grandmother. But when she arrives, her mother, Rosemary, announces to her that the store is closing. Sarah and her grandmother, Glory Ann, make a pact to save the store, but Rosemary has worked her entire life to make sure her daughter never follows in her footsteps. She has her reasons--but she'll certainly never reveal the real one. 
     
    1965. Glory Ann confesses to her family that she's pregnant with her deceased fiancé's baby. Pressured into a marriage of convenience with a shopkeeper to preserve the family reputation, Glory Ann vows never to love again. But some promises are not as easily kept as she imagined. 
     
    This dual-timeline story from Amanda Cox deftly explores the complexity of a mother-daughter dynamic, the way the secrets we keep shape our lives and the lives of others, and the healing power of telling the truth.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery Series Books 1–3 - Deal Gone Dead; Decluttered and Dead; and Signed Sealed and Dead - cover

    The Lily Sprayberry Cozy Mystery...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Lily Sprayberry. Selling homes is her career. Solving crimes, her calling. Now get the first three books of the Southern mystery series in one volume!   Deal Gone Dead When Bramblett County, Georgia's number one realtor, Lily Sprayberry, finds her cantankerous older client dead on the kitchen floor, she lands herself smack dab in the middle of a long-running property battle and a one-hundred-year-old rumor.  Decluttered and Dead When a member of Lily’s decluttering and staging class winds up dead, the small-town realtor takes it personally and sets out to find the killer. But the truth isn’t always pretty, and when she discovers a friend from her past may be the murderer, she vows to find out.  Signed, Sealed and Dead As realtor Lily preps for the annual community yard sale fundraiser, she discovers the body of the newly hired lacrosse coach lying in the high school gym. As she searches for answers, she’s dragged deeper into an angry mob of high school sports parents all seeking revenge and gunning for their kids to sign with the most elite schools offering the best scholarships.  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit.” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • Savage Lands - A Novel - cover

    Savage Lands - A Novel

    Clare Clark

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of In the Full Light of the Sun “treats the founding of French Louisiana with her signature dark realism and beautiful handling of character” (Library Journal). 
     
    Praised by Hilary Mantel, Amanda Foreman, and the New York Times Book Review for her “verve and intelligence . . . [and] the originality of her imagination,” Clare Clark has become a rising star in historical fiction. Elisabeth is among twenty-three girls who set sail from France for the new colony of Louisiana to be married to strangers. Although she has little hope for happiness in her new life, she finds herself passionately in love with her new husband, Jean-Claude, a charismatic and ruthlessly ambitious soldier. But betrayal is as much a part of the new world as the old, and when Elisabeth finds herself deceived by her husband she also finds herself bound to a poor cabin boy in a way she never anticipated. Clark creates a world that is both incredibly real and incredibly dazzling. And with the same compelling prose and vividly realized characters that won her widespread acclaim for The Great Stink and The Nature of Monsters, she takes us deep into the heart of colonial French Louisiana. 
     
    “It is well told and well paced, with an easy narrative flow. The story offers strong personalities and a complicated, interesting plot, stretching over a couple of decades, set in an unfamiliar, truly exotic place and era.” —The Guardian 
     
    “Clark’s vast store of historical and geographical detail enriches the portraits of her three vibrant characters, whose destinies are inextricably, and memorably, bound.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • Weight - The Myth of Atlas and Heracles - cover

    Weight - The Myth of Atlas and...

    Jeanette Winterson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “profound and provocative” reimagining of the Greek legend by the New York Times–bestselling author of Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal? (Daily Mail).   With wit and verve, Whitbread Award–winning novelist Jeanette Winterson brings the mythical figure of Atlas into the space age and sets him free at last. In her retelling of the story of a god tricked into holding the world on his shoulders and his brief reprieve, she sets difficult questions about the nature of choice and coercion, how we choose our own destiny and at the same time can liberate ourselves from our seeming fate.   “Dazzling . . . Winterson’s embrace of the mythic landscape is evident in her rich imagery . . . cathartic . . . this short novel fulfills a number of the criteria myth is meant to embody” —The New York Times Book Review
    Show book
  • The Meaning of Friday - cover

    The Meaning of Friday

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Meaning of Friday is the first in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.
    Show book