Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Essential Novelists - Émile Gaboriau - pioneer of detective fiction - cover

Essential Novelists - Émile Gaboriau - pioneer of detective fiction

Émile Gaboriau, August Nemo

Publisher: Tacet Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Welcome to the Essential Novelists book series, were we present to you the best works of remarkable authors.
For this book, the literary critic August Nemo has chosen the two most important and meaningful novels of Émile Gaboriau wich are The Widow Lerouge and Monsieur Lecoq.
The book, which was Gaboriau's first detective novel, introduced an amateur detective. It also introduced a young police officer named Monsieur Lecoq, who was the hero in three of Gaboriau's later detective novels. The character of Lecoq was based on a real-life thief turned police officer, Eugène François Vidocq. It may also have been influenced by the villainous Monsieur Lecoq, one of the main protagonists of Féval's Les Habits Noirs book series.
Novels selected for this book:

- The Widow Lerouge
- Monsieur Lecoq
This is one of many books in the series Essential Novelists. If you liked this book, look for the other titles in the series, we are sure you will like some of the authors.
Available since: 05/09/2020.

Other books that might interest you

  • Slab Happy - cover

    Slab Happy

    Richard S. Prather

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Every bloodthirsty hoodlum, every trigger-happy gunman in the state of California had that song on his lips. I didn't like it. I'm no music lover and, what's more, I was the rascal they were dying to kill. Me. Shell Scott. "Where there's death, there's hope" - that was gangdom's newest slogan. I was measured for a grave and I was supposed to share it with a gorgeous redhead named Coral. Man, this was just about the first time I haven't been willing to share something with a gorgeous redhead.
    Show book
  • A Woman's Guide to Search & Rescue - A Novel - cover

    A Woman's Guide to Search &...

    Mary Carroll Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Framed for the brutal attack on her manager, indie rock legend Red Nelson flees to the only family she doesn’t yet know: her estranged sister, Kate Fisher, a Search & Rescue pilot working the remote mountains of upper New York State. Kate, the daughter of her father's legitimate but unhappy marriage, has no wish to meet Red, the product of her father’s passionate love affair, but when Kate’s daughter, Molly, decides to hide Red on their property, concern over Molly’s safety forces Kate to stage a rescue and repair the broken but longed-for family she comes from. A Woman’s Guide to Search & Rescue explores the unexpected gift of found family in times of loss and tragedy, the forging of new relationship between two related strangers, and the discovery by three women of different generations who learn that by saving each other, they save themselves.   
    Show book
  • Black River: An absolutely gripping new crime thriller filled with shocking twists you won’t see coming (A Jess Bridges Mystery Book 1) - cover

    Black River: An absolutely...

    Joss Stirling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A thrilling new whodunnit series, fast-paced and funny, featuring a detective as sharp as his suits and a heroine who’s trouble. 
    The River Thames always gives up its dead… 
    There’s a killer picking off victims from the wild swimming spots on the upper reaches of the Thames. The case takes Detective Inspector Leo George into the path of Jess Bridges, a private investigator who lives life close to the edge. 
    Their enquiries lead them to author, Jago Jackson, whose book on secret wild swimming spots has turned him into a social media celebrity. Is Jago’s book the blueprint that the murderer is following? If so, does that make Jago a target or the killer himself? Either way, the duo find themselves swimming in some very dangerous waters … 
    In this top-notch police fiction, the suspense is as palpable as the romance that subtly weaves its way through the narrative. The psychological thrill of the mystery is what makes Black River a first-rate whodunnit. 
    For fans of Tm Logan (The Holiday), Rachel Lynch (Dark Game), Elise Kova (A Dance with the Fae Prince), Marion Todd (What They Knew), and M. A. Hunter (The Trail).
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher - A shocking page-turning crime thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher - A shocking...

    Paula Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • Power Play - cover

    Power Play

    Mike Nicol

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Krista Bishop runs a security agency. For women only. Until she gets a call she can't refuse from the Secret Service, to guard two high-profile Chinese businessmen. What Krista isn't told is the Chinese are mopping up the richly rewarding abalone poaching business. They want it all. From shore to plate. A takeover that will kick three Cape Town gang lords -- known as the Untouchables -- out of business and destroy their luxury lifestyles. Abalone means power, money, drugs, guns. No longer untouchable, gang boss Titus Anders fears for the life of his daughter and calls in Krista Bishop to protect her from the madness as the gang war destroys his world. Krista's the best. She's young, tough and a long way from the violence of the streets. But now the war is everywhere. Even in her own backyard, where a secret agent is waiting for her, a gun in his hand'
    Show book
  • Silent Sea - cover

    Silent Sea

    Harry Homewood

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As they listened to the death throes of their sister ship Mako sinking in the Pacific where the waters were six miles deep, the crew of USS Eelfish suddenly came of age. They were a new breed: a brand-new fleet submarine crewed by draftees and reservists. Hidebound regular Navy officers believed they wouldn't fight. But fight they did with reckless abandon, proving themselves on two fronts—against the Japanese at sea, and against their own Admirals, who clung to outmoded concepts of how to wage war under the sea.This true-to-life novel moves at breathtaking speed from the invasion of Guadalcanal through the battle of the Philippine Sea and to the coast of Japan. By the end of the war, submarines such as Eelfish had so tightened the noose of naval blockade around Japan that the enemy was finished as an industrial nation, unable to fight effectively.But American submariners paid dearly for their victories. One out of every five men who went to sea in submarines in the Pacific died in combat, the highest percentage of any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces. This is a novel about their exploits, how they fought, how they loved and how they died, written by a man who was there.
    Show book