Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Born on a Tuesday - A Novel - cover

Sorry, the publisher does not allow users to read this book from the country from which you are connecting.

Born on a Tuesday - A Novel

Elnathan John

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 2
  • 1

Summary

From two-time Caine Prize finalist Elnathan John, a dynamic young voice from Nigeria, Born on a Tuesday is a stirring, starkly rendered first novel about a young boy struggling to find his place in a society that is fracturing along religious and political lines.In far northwestern Nigeria, Dantala lives among a gang of street boys who sleep under a kuka tree. During the election, the boys are paid by the Small Party to cause trouble. When their attempt to burn down the opposition’s local headquarters ends in disaster, Dantala must run for his life, leaving his best friend behind. He makes his way to a mosque that provides him with food, shelter, and guidance. With his quick aptitude and modest nature, Dantala becomes a favored apprentice to the mosque’s sheikh. Before long, he is faced with a terrible conflict of loyalties, as one of the sheikh’s closest advisors begins to raise his own radical movement. When bloodshed erupts in the city around him, Dantala must decide what kind of Muslim—and what kind of man—he wants to be. Told in Dantala’s naïve, searching voice, this astonishing debut explores the ways in which young men are seduced by religious fundamentalism and violence.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fickle - cover

    Fickle

    Peter Manus

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s You and the thrillers of S.J. Watson, Peter Manus has written a twisting noir mystery that Booklist calls, “An incredibly daring novel and a complete success.”
    
    The distance between what you see and what you believe can be the distance between life and death.
    
    On a winter night in Boston, a man falls to his death in front of a subway train. The sole witness, a shaken young woman, explains to the police how the man shoved her aside as he made his way to the tracks. But when her blog turns up on the dead man's computer, the cops begin to look for other connections. Was the man a cyber-stalker, charmed to the point of desperation by the irreverent musings of a noir-obsessed blogger? Or are the connections between subway jumper and innocent bystander more complicated?
     
    This dark and intricate tale of obsession and deception is told in the form of a blog written by an elusive narrator known only by her online name, "l.g. fickel." Deep into the night, every night, fickel blogs about "Mr. Suicide" and the ensuing police investigation with an eerie prescience. She is joined in her blog chats by a loyal group of obsessives, all of whom share with fickel a passion for the dark art of noir. Is fickel's tale that of an innocent woman frantically trying to figure out how her blogging has enmeshed her in a murder spree, or is she a manipulator, playing the part of sexy, hip, young thing as she grinds out her revenge on those she feels have betrayed her?
    Show book
  • Blood Bond: 9 - cover

    Blood Bond: 9

    Helen Hardt

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Erin Hamilton and Dante Gabriel are living together and are more in love than ever, but the mysteries surrounding them continue to evolve. When two more women go missing—Dante’s sister and Erin’s best friend—they dive in more deeply, recruiting Erin’s brother to help.
     
    Despite his quest for information, Dante resists falling prey to his former captor’s drive to control his mind. As more changes reveal themselves, he relies on his own strength and his love for Erin to keep himself in check. But the darkness following him is determined to manifest, and its source is a surprise to all.
    Show book
  • Undaunted: Blood Bond: Parts 7 8 & 9 (Volume 3) - cover

    Undaunted: Blood Bond: Parts 7 8...

    Helen Hardt

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    Breaking into a cemetery isn’t anything Dante Gabriel ever thought he’d do, but he has no choice. He must recover his father’s body so he can claim his estate. Help arrives from two unexpected sources, but their plan is interrupted.
     
    Erin Hamilton’s best friend is a wolf shifter. The man she loves is a vampire. His father is a ghost. She can deal with all of that, but new worries have surfaced. The missing doctor has returned to the hospital, and his strange actions are disturbing…but not as disturbing as the odd dreams that begin to plague her. She finds comfort and love in Dante’s arms, even as he slowly begins to change.
     
    More secrets are revealed, and Dante and Erin recruit his cousin and her brother to help them find the missing women and discover the secrets of the Vampyre Texts, even as external forces work against them. But as Dante develops some unusual abilities and the darkness targeting him becomes more menacing, he must proceed, undaunted.
    Show book
  • The Crossing by Michael Connelly - cover

    The Crossing by Michael Connelly

    Leopard Books

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The Crossing by Michael Connelly | A 15-Minute Summary & Analysis
    
     
    Preview:
    
     
    Harry Bosch has unwillingly retired from the LAPD where he was a star detective for several decades. Mickey Haller, his half-brother, asks him to take an objective look at a case which has the media in a frenzy and Haller’s client, former gangbanger “Da’Quan”, tried and convicted on all sides long before the trial even takes place. At first Bosch flat out refuses to even consider the case, feeling it would be a betrayal of all his years on the LAPD force but quickly comes to the realization that if there is the slightest possibility Haller’s client is innocent then a murder is walking free with none the wiser.
    
     
    Throughout the novel, Bosch is seen questioning himself and his long-held beliefs about the roles of the police and the legal prosecution, versus the “dark side” of the law, the defense. Despite the introspection, Bosch never vacillates from his core value: put the right criminal behind bars for the crime they committed. Haller’s aim is to get his client’s arrest dismissed and is focused on spinning the facts of the case to fulfil that. Bosch, however, makes it clear to Haller and to himself that the truth is what matters and goes after it, letting the dice fall where it may – even if that means Da’Quan goes down.
    
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is a Summary and Analysis of the book and NOT the original book.
    
     
    This companion includes the following:  
    
    ► Book Review 
    
    ► Character List 
    
    ► Summary of the Chapters 
    
    ► Discussion Questions 
    
    ► Analysis of Themes & Symbols
    
     
    This Analysis fills the gap, making you understand more while enhancing your reading experience.
    
     
    About the Author: 
    
    Leopard Books, is your perfect quick read companion. We analyze every chapter and hunt down the key points for your convenience. With in-depth summary and analysis, leap through books quickly and with ease.
    Show book
  • Alpha Turned - cover

    Alpha Turned

    KB Alan

    • 8
    • 46
    • 0
    Not all men are bad…
    
     
    
    
     
    Strong, independent, and happy on her own, Hillary has grown from the naïve person she was four years ago after a brutal rape turned her into a werewolf. The normal life she’s made for herself is only upset once a month when the moon calls to her and she has an uncontrollable urge to turn furry and chase small creatures. And she doesn’t need a man for that. Until she finally meets another werewolf, this one a gorgeous, sexy guy who is determined to change her mind about one furry man in particular–him.
    
     
    
    
     
    No, some men are very, very good…
    
     
    
    
     
    The minute Zach scents Hillary he knows she’s the mate he’s been searching for. Though both the wolf and the man are itching to claim her, first he has to convince her that he’s one of the good guys, and that there are certain benefits to being an alpha werewolf. And there’s no better way of making Hillary see that, than giving her himself—body, mind, and soul.
    
     
    
    
     
    Alpha Turned can be read by itself. It is not necessary to read the series to enjoy this book.
    
     
    
    
     
    Wolf Appeal Series:
    
     
    Book 1 - Alpha Turned
    
     
    Book 2 - Challenge Accepted
    Show book
  • Of Milk and Money - cover

    Of Milk and Money

    Paul Enock

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Kath and Tony were recruitment agents… of a sort. Their brief was to source a woman for a six-month contract and her necessary qualifications were quite specific: young, good figure, no family ties and lactating. Intense training would be provided aimed at optimising her milk yield and maximising her libido to cope with the pressures of her new role, pressures that include far more than just wet-nursing. The position will be full-time, twenty-four hours a day, and her complete dedication assured by severely restricting her ability to resist. A uniform would be provided. 
    Her remuneration, although non-negotiable, would be generous if she ever gets in a position to claim it. However, one thing leads to another until it looks unlikely that she can avoid life-long conscription as a retained fellatiologist in a brothel for the benefit of South African coal miners. 
    This book is a novel of over 77000 words and contains graphic scenes only suitable for an adult readership. 
    ...Paul Enock is an Engineer and Inventor by day and an author in the evenings. He lives in the Forest of Dean in the UK and can be contacted on: [email protected]
    Show book