Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Fourth Side of the Triangle - cover

The Fourth Side of the Triangle

Ellery Queen

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A murdered fashion designer draws Ellery Queen into a tangled family plot Ever since New York was Nieuw Amsterdam, the McKells have been building their fortune. Combining Scottish thrift with American know-how, they built an empire that, by the 1930s, stretched across the globe. No one in the family found more success than Ashton McKell, an entrepreneur who counts his wealth in the hundreds of millions, who smokes twenty cigars a day, and whose only problem is his son Dane, an adventurous soul who shocks his father by giving up business for the disgraceful pursuit of writing. Despite their differences, Dane loves his father. He is shocked when he learns the old man is having an affair—and thunderstruck when Ashton is accused of murder.   When his father’s mistress is found dead, Dane will do anything to free Ashton. And no detective is more suited to this puzzling case of blackmail, lust, and greed than the singular Ellery Queen.

Other books that might interest you

  • In Winter's Grip - cover

    In Winter's Grip

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    After her mothers suicide, Maja Cleary turned her back on her family and Duved Cove, Minnesotauntil a desperate phone call reveals that her father has been murdered and her brother Jonas is the prime suspect. She flies home, knowing that she will have to confront shared memories of an abusive father. Even as she works to prove her brothers innocence, she cannot ignore the evidence that he had every reason to kill their father. The frigid, stormy Minnesota landscape sets the mood as she battles against time, the local police and the relentless snow.
    Show book
  • Toxic Gossip - Brief Case - cover

    Toxic Gossip - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Falconer short story in a more sombre mood.
    
    DI Falconer becomes involved in a gossip-fuelled hate crime, only to find himself questioning his own judgement when it comes to protecting Miriam Darling from her anonymous persecutors …
    Show book
  • Driven to it - Brief Case - cover

    Driven to it - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The fifth of a series of short stories covering the elapsed time between the books in the Falconer Files series.
    
     
     
    
     
    Abigail Wentworth is looking forward to her reunion lunch with Alison Fairweather. They are old schoolfriends who met twice a year, usually for Alison to dish the dirt on the others they had known when they were younger – and for Abigail to gloat over their ‘inferior’ circumstances, in comparison to her own respectable existence.
    
     
     
    
     
    During one such lunch, though, Abigail recognizes a face from the past – and from that moment onward, her life skids completely out of control …
    Show book
  • The Sleeping Man - cover

    The Sleeping Man

    Stephen Carignan

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    The last of the Dreamwalkers seeks answers in the long-lost Compendium, but the greatest mystery lies within his own past. With no memory, no family, and no allies—only the inherited ability to move from the physical realm into the collective unconscious called the Dreamscape—the Sleeping Man will fight against the conformity demanded by the Volto Empire's black and red standard.  
    The journey will be long and arduous as the Sleeping Man encounters a race of desert hunters guarding the Compendium, forest-dwelling Leshy who demand to count his rings, and the dreams of the dead.
    Show book
  • The Killing Habit - A Tom Thorne Novel - cover

    The Killing Habit - A Tom Thorne...

    Mark Billingham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mark Billingham is one of the UK’s top crime writers. His books have sold over 5 million copies worldwide and have been translated into twenty-five languages.
    
    With Love Like Blood, a #5 Sunday Times bestseller in the UK, Billingham brought back his hit series character DI Tom Thorne and paired him up for the first time with the straight-laced DI from Die of Shame. In the new novel, The Killing Habit, he brings the unlikely but compelling duo back together again.
    
    Billingham is beloved among the crime community. For Die of Shame he did events along the East Coast with Lee Child, Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, Michael Connelly, and Joseph Finder—most of whom have blurbed him, as have Gillian Flynn, George Pelecanos and others. He is also a Bouchercon regular, appearing at the 2017 convention in Toronto. 
    
    In the Dark, a 4-part BBC adaptation of Billingham’s novel of the same name combined with Time of Death, aired in the UK in summer 2017 to a flurry of publicity. Billingham was featured in the first episode of a new true crime documentary series in the UK called “Written in Blood” to talk about the inspiration for Love Like Blood. The episode aired in September 2017 on CBS Reality and has reached over 6.64 million viewers. A BBC adaptation of Rush of Blood is also under development.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book