Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Don't Say a Word - A Daughter's Two Cents - cover

Don't Say a Word - A Daughter's Two Cents

Elizabeth Roper Marcus

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Edna and Leo, a perpetually warring, tyrannical pair in their 80s, begin wintering In Mexico, where they abandon their usual prudence to embrace adventure and a bevy of sketchy new friends. Soon, Edna adopts a pair of shyster builders whom she trusts over her own architect-daughter Elizabeth, and a farcical house results. Blithely indifferent to the calamities that result, the pair refuse all help from their too-compliant only child.

Later, following her mother’s sudden death, Elizabeth’s wise, principled father attempts to fill his late wife’s shoes with a string of loopy, live-in housekeepers—with privileges, he hopes. Before it is over the Mexican escapade will bring down the kind of disasters commonly found in pulp fiction. Why can’t Elizabeth stop any of this from happening? No matter the madness, she cannot confront her parents any more than she ever could. In the end, the surprising way in which they come undone reveals just what they spent their lives trying to hide, thereby setting her free.

Though unique in its loony details, Don’t Say A Word! will resonate with beleaguered adult-children everywhere who will recognize the special misery of watching, helpless, as stubborn, diminished parents careen precariously toward the end of life.

Other books that might interest you

  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book