Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Monticello - A Family Story - cover

Monticello - A Family Story

Elizabeth Langhorne

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thomas Jefferson, the public man, is a familiar and oft-chronicled figure. But the private Thomas Jefferson has been little studied. Now Elizabeth Langhorne, drawing upon public records and hitherto-unpublished documents, has produced an intimate and fascinating account of our third president and numerous members of his family, including some of his slaves, as they lived their private and sometimes tumultuous lives at Jefferson's beloved Monticello. Includes illustrations.

Who read this book also read:

  • Masquerade - The Incredible True Story of How George Soros' Father Outsmarted the Gestapo - cover

    Masquerade - The Incredible True...

    Tivadar Soros

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Nazis came late to Hungary because, until early 1944, Germany and Hungary were allies. But when they did arrive, their orders were to put the “Final Solution” into effect with deliberate speed. Soros, a Jewish lawyer in Budapest, secured fake Christian identities for himself, his wife, and his two sons following the German invasion of Hungary on March 19, 1944. In a narrative reminiscent of the great Primo Levi, Soros recounts his experiences with a beguiling humor, deep humanity, and a wisdom that is humbling. Superbly translated by Humphrey Tonkin, Masquerade is a unique account of how one man managed not only to survive but to retain his integrity, compassion, family unity, and humor by “dancing around death.” Like Klemperer’s Diary of the Nazi Years, this very personal, low-key testament of the Holocaust is a gripping depiction of “normal” daily life under the Nazis—told by a man who triumphed by leading an ordinary life under extraordinary and terrifying circumstances.Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade imprint, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in history--books about World War II, the Third Reich, Hitler and his henchmen, the JFK assassination, conspiracies, the American Civil War, the American Revolution, gladiators, Vikings, ancient Rome, medieval times, the old West, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book
  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book
  • Smells Like Dead Elephants - Dispatches from a Rotting Empire - cover

    Smells Like Dead Elephants -...

    Matt Taibbi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Smells Like Dead Elephants is a brilliant collection from Matt Taibbi, “a political reporter with the gonzo spirit that made Hunter S. Thompson and P. J. O’Rourke so much fun” (The Washington Post). Bringing together Taibbi’s most incisive and hilarious work from his “Road Work” column in Rolling Stone, Smells Like Dead Elephants shines an unflinching spotlight on the corruption, dishonesty, and sheer laziness of our leaders. Taibbi has plenty to say about George W. Bush, Jack Abramoff, Tom DeLay, and all the rest, but he doesn’t just hit inside the Beltway. He gets involved in the action, infiltrating Senator Conrad Burns’s birthday party under disguise as a lobbyist for a fictional oil firm that wants to drill in the Grand Canyon. He floats into apocalyptic post-Katrina New Orleans in a dinghy with Sean Penn. He goes to Iraq as an embedded reporter, where he witnesses the mind-boggling dysfunction of our occupation and spends three nights in Abu Ghraib prison. And he reports from two of the most bizarre and telling trials in recent memory: California v. Michael Jackson and the evolution-vs.-intelligent-design trial in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Equally funny and shocking, this is excellent work from one of our most entertaining writers.
    Show book
  • J R Booth: - Lumberman Railroad Builder Industrialist and Great Canadian - cover

    J R Booth: - Lumberman Railroad...

    Gaye I Clemson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    John Rudolphus Booth (1827-1925) had a significant influence on Algonquin Provincial Park, the Ottawa Valley, and the City of Ottawa. He was a businessman of note, who built an empire based on timber, lumber, grain, pulp and paper, and much more. At one time, he owned the largest lumber mills in the world, and he employed thousands of men in his bush camps. Booth was behind the construction of a railway from Georgian Bay to Ottawa, with parts of the roadbed now converted to Algonquin Park’s Old Railway Bike Trail.  Continued interest in knowing more about this great Canadian has prompted this book on his life and accomplishments. 
    
    Roderick (Rory) MacKay has previously written Algonquin, a general history of Algonquin Park featuring landscape photography by William Reynolds, Spirits of the Little Bonnechere: a History of Exploration, Logging and Settlement, 1800 to 1920, of Algonquin’s Bonnechere River. He is also author of A Chronology of Algonquin Park History, and More About… the Algonquin Logging Museum Blacksmith shop,all available from The Friends of Algonquin Park.
    Rory and fellow historian Gaye Clemson have combined efforts in developing a series of short books providing “MORE ABOUT” specific topics related to the history of Algonquin Park. Other titles include: 
    MORE ABOUT…The Ghosts of Canoe Lake by Gaye Clemson,
    MORE ABOUT…Algonquin Park’s Portage Store by Gaye Clemson,
    MORE ABOUT … Nominigan and Other Smoke Lake Jewels.
    
    
    Other publications from www.algonquinparkheritage.com include:
    Canoe Tripping in Algonquin Park: Then and Now
    Gertrude Baskerville: The Lady of Algonquin Park
    Algonquin Voices: Selected Stories of canoe Lake Women
    Rock Lake Station: Settlement Stories Since 1896
    Treasuring Algonquin: Sharing Stories from 100 years of Leaseholding
    Show book
  • The God Delusion: by Richard Dawkins | Key Takeaways Analysis & Review - cover

    The God Delusion: by Richard...

    Instaread Instaread

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inside this Instaread of The God Delusion:
     
    Overview of the book
     
    Important People
     
    Key Takeaways
     
    Analysis of Key Takeaways
    Show book
  • How to Create a Blueprint for Living - cover

    How to Create a Blueprint for...

    Wee Dilts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Create your own blueprint and live the live you always dreamed of living. You’ll receive remarkably clear tools and techniques on how to create the life you want to live. The pathway to a new exciting you, the secrets of success and peace of mind revealed in this amazing E book. 
    Don’t take my word for it. Learn for yourself, how to live stress free and get more done. Here’s the truth about how to focus, attain clarity and success for yourself. It's Easy
    Show book