Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Ghosts of Georgetown - cover

Ghosts of Georgetown

Elizabeth Huntsinger Wolf

Publisher: Blair

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Georgetown County, located between Myrtle Beach and Charleston, South Carolina, is steeped in tales of dynamic men and women who once lived and prospered here. Though these men and women have now passed away, many of their spirits still remain. There are rumored to be over a hundred ghosts in the area, making Georgetown County one of the nation's most haunted locations. Ghosts of Georgetown tells the stories of twenty of these apparitions. The ghosts in these tales range from the woman who died a horrible and tragic death on her wedding day, to the daughter of a former lighthouse keeper who warns sailors of impending storms, to the phantom choir whose voices can still be heard coming from the ruins of its former church. The stories tell of scorned lovers, innocent children, and wealthy plantation owners who have all returned to Georgetown long after their natural lives on earth were over. These tales weave the history of Georgetown's colorful past with the eerie spirits who roam the region in the present.
 
Elizabeth Huntsinger is a South Carolina native whose mother’s family came to the state in the 1600s and whose father immigrated there from Scotland. Her first home in Georgetown County was a 1948-vintage 40-foot mahogany Chris Craft boat anchored in the Waccamaw River. Now a landlubber, she lives in a neighborhood built on the site of one of the area’s many rice plantations. In addition to being a full-time storyteller/literacy instructor for Georgetown County preschoolers, she leads Ghosts of Georgetown Lantern Tours and is an avid Civil War reenactor.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1 - cover

    Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1

    L.D. Hall

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A powerful witch, a centuries-old vampire, and a passion that can't be denied… 
     
    Naomi Feldman has never understood the strange energy that hums beneath her senses. But when she comes across an ancient artifact that seems to beckon to her, she may finally find the answers she's been seeking. 
     
    Alaric, a centuries-old vampire, lives a solitary life by choice. When he's assigned to protect Naomi, long dormant emotions stir to life. 
     
    Pursued by a dangerous enemy and battling their growing attraction, Naomi and Alaric follow the mystery of the artifact from the museums of Athens, the streets of London, towards a confrontation that will decide the fate of two worlds… 
     
    Fans of Charlaine Harris, Deborah Harkness, and Karen Marie Moning will love Shadow Descendant, the first book of a mesmerizing new paranormal romance series. Scroll up and grab your copy today! 
    Show book
  • Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice - cover

    Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Six) 
    Jenna Skye, the new Duchess Tempus of House Lilith, is losing her mind. After spending eight months holed up in the duke's manor with her new sire, the slightly nutty and ever moody Ursula, all she wants to do is to get out of the house. She'll take any excuse she can to ditch the princess's etiquette lessons and do something worthwhile with her time—even if it means visiting a fancy blood finishing school where one of Dante's potential scions has gone missing. 
    Jenna's sudden jealousy forces her to take a closer look at the conflicted feelings she has for Dante, and the guilt she still harbors over Roman Knight's fateful farewell. Of course, a house full of new residents, preparations for the upcoming All Hallows' Eve ball, and unsolved murders don't leave much time for introspection.
    Show book
  • Dark Resurrections - The Brenna Strachan Series #3 - cover

    Dark Resurrections - The Brenna...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Someone has set about resurrecting the souls of the Four Horsemen. Each Horsemen is known for their hatred of Humanity and willingness to do anything to eradicate the breed. Their plan is to use infants as the vessels for the resurrected. With three pregnant women in her family due any day, Brenna Strachan must find out how they intend to use the infants for the resurrections. As well as discover exactly who is behind this heinous act. Her adversaries are doing what they can to keep her off their scent, even attacking cities using mythics to keep her busy. Can Brenna find out who it is and stop them before her own family becomes their prey?
    Show book
  • The Wanting - cover

    The Wanting

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A California vacation town holds a terrifying secret in this novel from the international bestselling author who “writes much better than King or Straub” (Village Voice).   When Max and Louise Untermeyer rent a house in the remote pine forests of Northern California, they figure it’ll be a perfect escape from the city, especially for their twelve-year-old son, Denny. Their neighbors, Dick and Charlotte Summer, are an elderly couple who certainly seem nice enough. And while they positively dote on the boy, plying him with sweets and gifts, it’s a shame there are no other children Denny’s age to play with. Louise is beginning to wonder why, but no one in town likes to talk about it.   But that’s not the only thing troubling Louise. A parent expects a boy of Denny’s age to go through changes—just not like this. Day by day, his innocence seems to be draining away, replaced by something unhealthy, even perverse. Now, the closer Denny gets to Mr. and Mrs. Summer, the closer he is to being lost forever in their dark secret. And anyone who comes looking for him hasn’t got a prayer.   The international bestselling author of the Glasgow novels and the Frank Pagan series, Campbell Armstrong has won a Scottish Arts Council Award and a nomination for the Prix du Polar. Any one of his novels “belongs in the permanent collection of horror/thriller fans” (Kirkus Reviews).  
    Show book
  • Assassins and Victims - cover

    Assassins and Victims

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Campbell Armstrong’s chilling novel of suburban horror, something evil lurks in the garden behind an English boardinghouse Eric Billings is not a violent man—not really. It’s just that his temper sometimes gets the best of him. Eric has had fourteen apartments in the last two years. He isn’t sure why he keeps moving, but something always seems to go wrong. Take his latest residence, for instance. It’s a quiet room with a big window and a friendly landlady downstairs. But there’s a dog in the backyard that won’t stop barking at night. Eric is beginning to lose sleep, to miss work, to get angry. And when that happens, he can’t be sure what he’s going to do next.   A winner of a Scottish Arts Council Award, this chilling novel of suburban horror shows that evil can hide beneath even the most benign exteriors.
    Show book
  • Blood Dolls - Blood Vice #4 - cover

    Blood Dolls - Blood Vice #4

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Four) 
    Jenna thought becoming a Blood Vice agent would solve all her problems, but now she's sworn to solve House Lilith's problems, too. And there's no shortage of trouble when dealing with the most regal vampire family in the United States. 
    The duke's first assignment for Jenna and company is to locate Ursula, the estranged Duchess of House Lilith suspected of murdering her sire. It's a tall order—a wild bat chase, some might say—and the long hours with half-sired agent Roman Knight soon drive Jenna to distraction, and possible destruction. Lusting after another vampire's pending scion is a dangerous game, one with legal ramifications in Jenna's brave new underworld.
    Show book